Eczema

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

l3golas82

For those of you all still using steroids for long term, I suggest you all get rid of it and switch to using moisturisers instead. Make it a religious habit to just drink water and more water. Believe me, it's the best thing you'll ever did for your condition.

Or you can go on a water and apple diet but I think long term wise its not healthy because it's going to affect your health sooner or later. If any of you all struggling with the condition or need someone to talk to, you can drop me a mail at drum.solo86@hotmail.com

drink how much water is enough ne (any gauge in terms of cups)?
I think I better start drink many many water too, after seeing all these useful thread, think is good.

water and apple diet solely ahz? Buey sai lahz. confirm sick one for me. I need meat =(

But I will stick to green apple as fruits ahz.

l3golas82

I use a combi of both steroids and moisturisers...after apply steroids apply moisturisers immediately...instruction from doctor :o

cannot apply immediately, must wait for 15-20 mins, as advised by nurse and doctor from nsc.

coolninja02

Someone posted something about that a few pages back, maybe you can try searching this thread ;)~ his username is breitling81

thank you, i try searching for it :)

now my face have abit liao. mum ask me to avoid peanuts

drumsolo86

The idea of steroids or prednisolone is to stem down the inflammation and the redness you're suffering. It will relieve immediate redness or swelling but let me warn you, it does not solve the root of the problem. Prednisolone will work for milder eczema but if your case is serious and has been lingering for quite awhile, prednisolone is not going to be helpful in the long run and can lead to skin thinning like many have attested to here.

As for how much water is enough, I make it a point to drink at least up to 3 litres. I know I would have met my 'own' requirements if I hit the 3 litres mark. You need to remember our body is made up 70% of water and by giving it plenty of water, it's like giving it plenty of oxygen that our body needs. Our bodies dry up more easily than others and it is definitely necessary that we increase our body water intake as compared to others. Please please try this out if you havent, it's going to make your life change.

Another thing is the issue about meat. I have tried eating just meat like chicken rice and stuff for days and gone without vegetables for days. I realise that my condition tend to worsen in that period too where meat has become my main diet. So as a rule of thumb, I try to include vegetable in my nxt meal if I happen to only eat meat in a particular meal.

l3golas82

hmmm den maybe you want to try wait for 10-15 mins and see how.

Cos you apply mosturizer right after steriod cream, isnt it like overwriting it?

I dunch noe ahz, but the nurses and doc from NSC always tell me that de.

Yunnnn

hmmm den maybe you want to try wait for 10-15 mins and see how.

Cos you apply mosturizer right after steriod cream, isnt it like overwriting it?

I dunch noe ahz, but the nurses and doc from NSC always tell me that de.
hehehe :s22:...i dunno leh...nowadays i just apply both. but since my steroid layer is very thin i'm still able to apply the mois layer on it.

l3golas82

I will take note on your golden advice to drink plenty plenty of water. cos i also realise when i got flare up, my urine is a bit yellowish de.

As for meat, hmmm. I think have to have everything moderately bah. not too much of everything. the so-called well balance diet. I have been eatting like 2 vege + 1 meat kinda meals everyday.

I think thats alright right? Maybe nxt time combo with a green apple :look:

estella85

Dead sea products can help for eczema.. I have slight eczema on my hands and I m using the Canaan dead sea mud bar( for bathing). The spots have dried up and reduced and lessen too.

breitling81

Went there this morning. 3rd person, and i am lucky for being there early, as the crowd start to come in after 930am.

the receptionist was very helpful and asked you many questions in advance. So for those who have already been taking medicine, share with them what you are taking.

Waited like 45mins for my turn.

Then after that, Dr Loke shared with me that I could have a combination of eczema and etopic demantitis. He told me to try out neotigason as the other 2 medicine skin clinic recommended may have harmful side effect.

I decided to try it out lor, $$$ fly away ne. $200++ inclusive of their own formulated cream and also Dermaveen shower and bath oil (as my skin is super dry)

Some feedback is that during the consultation time spent, he is very patient and listens. No rush unlike other clincs. You guys may wanna try.

As this is my first time I am on neutigason, I will monitor my condition for 2 weeks and update you guys. Need to go back again 2 weeks later too.

Bro, use this to shower:

http://www.nsc.gov.sg/showpage.asp?id=40

Can get off Guardian pharmacy and its very cheap.. scoop some when are you ready to dry your body after shower and lather it, rub across all over your body (whichever area is dry). Quick rinse and pat dry.. After that you will feel your skin super moisturized.

I use this Emulsifying ointment whenever my skin gets too dry as its very itchy..

Here's how the emulsifying ointment looks like:

https://www.mypharmacy.com.sg/ShopFront/ProductPage.aspx?CatID=277&ProdSKU=0005-84-109-I

breitling81

thank you, i try searching for it :)

now my face have abit liao. mum ask me to avoid peanuts

Hey bro, i am allergic to peanuts (whatever nuts also) and chicken.. I got slight psoriasis when my eczema advanced to serious stage.. Very uncomfortable and itchy like hell.. Whole body inflamed and hot to touch but you feel cold (irony).

Do watch out for food that triggers your flare up or worsening of your skin condition as those are the main triggers..

During shower, please do heed my advise to get the Emulsifying ointment and rub all over prior to pat dry as psoriasis after shower, your skin feels even drier and tight.. I been through this stage thus i know.. The shower cream is equally important as well. Cant use those strong, perfumed shower cream. Use already you will know what happen next..

Hope this helps.

:)

l3golas82

Bro, use this to shower:

http://www.nsc.gov.sg/showpage.asp?id=40

Can get off Guardian pharmacy and its very cheap.. scoop some when are you ready to dry your body after shower and lather it, rub across all over your body (whichever area is dry). Quick rinse and pat dry.. After that you will feel your skin super moisturized.

I use this Emulsifying ointment whenever my skin gets too dry as its very itchy..

Here's how the emulsifying ointment looks like:

https://www.mypharmacy.com.sg/ShopFront/ProductPage.aspx?CatID=277&ProdSKU=0005-84-109-I

the emulsifying ointment ish very oily one right. I used that before.

But now i was told to use to bath oil thingy. I try that first ba.

i recall myself using this also last time in NS, and i was told to do the pyjamas therapy.

ever heard of that before? the two layer pyjamas thing...

breitling81

the emulsifying ointment ish very oily one right. I have some similar one when i went to NSC. Its the white soft paraffin and liquid parrafin 60/40 ointment.

But you cant have the oily ointment covering ur skin when go to work, or else everywhere all oily oily de. I apply that usually at night.

But after my visit to Loke Skin Clinic, they told me to use their cream and stop using the ones given by nsc as it will nullify their cream :s11:

Bro, not those.. Mine is meant for usage during shower not application when you go out or work.

you see, eczema sufferers skin are very ironic at times.. Too oily, it itch, too dry, it itch, too hot it itch.. Thus need to balance the amount of moisturizer applied on skin.. Sebamed moisturizer by far is one of the best i used which causing irritation no matter how much i apply. The cooling effect of the cream and smell relaxes me as well.

Use the paraffin wax for shower.. Use it in our Singapore climate its way too oily and covers up your skin pores.. even worse and sets in bacteria infection that causes your skin to inflamed.

I kana alot of times liao till my doc say dont use too oily based moisturizer.

l3golas82

Bro, not those.. Mine is meant for usage during shower not application when you go out or work.

you see, eczema sufferers skin are very ironic at times.. Too oily, it itch, too dry, it itch, too hot it itch.. Thus need to balance the amount of moisturizer applied on skin.. Sebamed moisturizer by far is one of the best i used which causing irritation no matter how much i apply. The cooling effect of the cream and smell relaxes me as well.

Use the paraffin wax for shower.. Use it in our Singapore climate its way too oily and covers up your skin pores.. even worse and sets in bacteria infection that causes your skin to inflamed.

I kana alot of times liao till my doc say dont use too oily based moisturizer.

my mistake, i see sala.
the one you recommended is indeed for body wash, while the parrafin i said is for applying.

Hmm, i will take note on the sebamed moisturizer.

Just curious, if you apply steroid cream, how long will it set in.. As in when can we apply something else in cases when the skin is dry? The receiptionist told me not to apply moisturizer and stuff, but i will find it uncomfortable when skin is dry.

I think I will try out the Sebamed moistruizer. Thx =)

evilerniex

the emulsifying ointment ish very oily one right. I used that before.

But now i was told to use to bath oil thingy. I try that first ba.

i recall myself using this also last time in NS, and i was told to do the pyjamas therapy.

ever heard of that before? the two layer pyjamas thing...

i was given the emulsifying ointment for bathing by NSC last time also... but didnt find it useful.
they also got ask me to try the 2 layer of pyjamas, but i didnt try. coz tt time still in NS, not possible to walk around camp all day in pyjamas :p

breitling81

my mistake, i see sala.
the one you recommended is indeed for body wash, while the parrafin i said is for applying.

Hmm, i will take note on the sebamed moisturizer.

Just curious, if you apply steroid cream, how long will it set in.. As in when can we apply something else in cases when the skin is dry? The receiptionist told me not to apply moisturizer and stuff, but i will find it uncomfortable when skin is dry.

I think I will try out the Sebamed moistruizer. Thx =)

No problem. The emulsifying ointment is dirt cheap and it does helps to cover your skin after shower a layer of thin ointment and keeps your skin subtle and soft.. This is the end result that you want after shower.. Try it, no steriod base so its ok man.. :)

For steriod creams application ah? Good question, if i apply the cream i normally dont apply moisturizer immediately after application. Till i noticed the area is dry again, that is where i apply moisturizer as the cream has limit to how many times you can apply so dun anyhow suka suka itch apply again and again.. Last time i use to do that until i noticed my skin thinning that is when my balls drop and keep to the tab.

I hope sebamed moisturizer helps you as i have also personally tried so many donkey types of moisturizer buay jalan eh..

By the way, if you ever go to a cold country and want to apply moisturizer, please dont use QV cream or lotion, it sting the skin so much that you cry in pain.. I tried that before and dump QV cream/lotion away for good.. Use the ointment for shower and apply sebamed..

l3golas82

Ok bro, so its boleh to do the following ahz:
1. bath with ointment / oil bath / etc
2. tap the skin dry after bath
3. apply the steroid cream on affected area only
4. once skin appears to be dry, apply moisturizer.

You mentioned cannot suka suka apply, you mean the steriod right?

Moisturizer, should be ok to apply whenever its dry. Am I right to say that bro?

Dieting is important, but keeping the skin in its good and hygenic state is also very critical.

So many things to take care of.

I will be trying out using tonight ba after i finish work at 8pm:
1. Dermaveen shower and bath oil for bath
2. Sebamed moisturzing body lotion

**** no pharmacy near my place. Must go amk hub...

No problem. The emulsifying ointment is dirt cheap and it does helps to cover your skin after shower a layer of thin ointment and keeps your skin subtle and soft.. This is the end result that you want after shower.. Try it, no steriod base so its ok man.. :)

For steriod creams application ah? Good question, if i apply the cream i normally dont apply moisturizer immediately after application. Till i noticed the area is dry again, that is where i apply moisturizer as the cream has limit to how many times you can apply so dun anyhow suka suka itch apply again and again.. Last time i use to do that until i noticed my skin thinning that is when my balls drop and keep to the tab.

I hope sebamed moisturizer helps you as i have also personally tried so many donkey types of moisturizer buay jalan eh..

By the way, if you ever go to a cold country and want to apply moisturizer, please dont use QV cream or lotion, it sting the skin so much that you cry in pain.. I tried that before and dump QV cream/lotion away for good.. Use the ointment for shower and apply sebamed..

l3golas82

i was given the emulsifying ointment for bathing by NSC last time also... but didnt find it useful.
they also got ask me to try the 2 layer of pyjamas, but i didnt try. coz tt time still in NS, not possible to walk around camp all day in pyjamas :p

when i go nsc during my army daze, they actually give me a month mc and stay at home to do the treatment.

At first my RSM dunch believe, den he come visit me.. with fruit basket. -_-'

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.