Eczema

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

tsharon

I am kind of disappointed with the response from the doctor, telling me that food is not the cause and i can eat anything which is not entirely right. Fried food causes imflammation and should be avoided for all psoriasis patient.

Yes very true.. I am also very very disappointed with NSC, and hence since given up. I've spoken to the doctor twice to see if they can conduct a blood test so as to check on any food that might tigger off the allergy. The doctors said it's not a matter of food allergy, and they only recomended UV treatment.

I have been expermenting with different kinds of diet, and my eczema has since improved tremendously. Even friends and colleagues are amazed. But sad to say the thinning of the skin, as a result of too much steroid cream, is irreversible. So who can we blame?

cookiesNcream

moi hab a small patch of scaley, itchy,sheddin some skin rike tt on moi left hand..then use cetaphil cream ish moar of less under control...but no no to peelin prawns...

foofam77

hi all

read thru some of the pages here trying to find the difference between enzema and hives...

i initiall thought they are the same, but after reading some of the pages, i realised they are not.

question: Is Dr Loke good at treating hives too, on top of enzema?
Other than Dr Loke, any other good recommendations for hives?

Anyone to advise? Thanks

singaporesnake

not sure if mine isecezma, went to doc long ago but cant rmb what the doc said for my condition. doc said if take med, need to take for rest of the life and it also will no have much effect. so i never taken any med for this.

last time was worse during secondary days. i used to use dove but after changing to dethol, got better. somethings when i scratched my, after a while the area i scratched will be red and swollen. for my face is the worse, until now if i squeeze pimple or blackheads, it will become red and swollen :s22:

patpat853

they are two different skin conditions, both of which I have the misfortune of experiencing.

Hives is a name applied to red patches that are result of your immune system going into overdrive, basically meaning you're having an allergy.

eczema, it's not as dangerous or itchy as hives, but it is more difficult to treat because it's a chronic condition on which you have to stay on top of.

KiraGS

I agree, I take 80% veg and 20% meat and very little red meat.
Actually I had a turned ard previous year and reduced my psoriasis to only my 2 legs but unfortunately for 1 year I just can't eliminate my leg. :(

I tired NSC long back and it just used UV and steroid cream and it make my skin very very thin :( Anyway that's the past now only left the leg that I need a break thru' :p

Dieting was very difficult but now my dieting is not as strict as previous I guess I will hv to continue my diet.

Next is the stress, as long as I'm in my current job that's can't be help unless I quit :D

Yours are spot but my is patches so could be more serious than yours, what abt the supplement u refer?

Thx

Actually most jobs are just as stressful but it is just a choice. btw mine was not spots was patches and it cover over more than 20% of my body previously.

As for supplements, you might want to try to take omega 3 to reduce the inflamation and take lin zhi to regulate your immune system. As for the brand i am taking i am not posting it here if not i will be advertising haha

KiraGS

Yes very true.. I am also very very disappointed with NSC, and hence since given up. I've spoken to the doctor twice to see if they can conduct a blood test so as to check on any food that might tigger off the allergy. The doctors said it's not a matter of food allergy, and they only recomended UV treatment.

I have been expermenting with different kinds of diet, and my eczema has since improved tremendously. Even friends and colleagues are amazed. But sad to say the thinning of the skin, as a result of too much steroid cream, is irreversible. So who can we blame?

Thinning of skin is not irreversible, our body are more than capable enough to recover itself, all you need to do is give it the right supplement and give it enough of it. it can give you surprising results. Dun always rely on doctors as they are just as human and they cant know everything. ironically, immune system is just one portion that medical science has very little knowlege on.

KiraGS

Anyone to advise? Thanks

Any idea what is the causes or trigger to your hives?

After doing some research, skin related illness usually is cause by our immune system which directly involve with our liver as it is the only organ that deals with the toxicity in our bodies.

try to narrow down by watching what you eat. as there is a saying " you are what you eat"

TrollAndOgres

My doctor use to prescribe me with prednisolone when i have very serious flare up.
If not, taking too much prednisolone will have side effect and is not good for us.

prednisolone only control eczema from flaring up, once u stop it after a few weeks, it will still come back...this is my case but for the other, i not so sure lah...:o

i ish gotch this medicine before also..and another medicine..citrid(sth) de. oh and some cream

but i teen that time i didn have any problems with acne / pimple outbreak lei, duno why now lidat.. :(:spin:

sanguozhi

mind sharing which exercises eczema ppl are able to attempt?

used to gym in the past but body was overcome by eczema then stop liao cos my eczema happen to b on the chest n tummy :(

now i tink abit spread to my scalp also

evilerniex

mind sharing which exercises eczema ppl are able to attempt?

used to gym in the past but body was overcome by eczema then stop liao cos my eczema happen to b on the chest n tummy :(

now i tink abit spread to my scalp also

doctors usually recommend swimming. just make sure to apply lots of moisturisers after that coz the chlorine in the water dries the skin.

but for me, i dare not go swimming. coz my eczema is all over my body, will scare other ppl away. i go jogging regular instead. shower immediately after jog

KiraGS

i ish gotch this medicine before also..and another medicine..citrid(sth) de. oh and some cream

but i teen that time i didn have any problems with acne / pimple outbreak lei, duno why now lidat.. :(:spin:

Usually western treats the symptoms and not the cause. Maybe you may want to get another doctor's opinion or take some omega 3 supplements which will help to stop the imflamation.

Laneige

ECZEMA can cause by spreading lor... but within the person own skin only.

just to say sometimes v serious case (think its hives) after seeing doc, take jabs (that can make the person giddy, the very power jab), see many chinese n angmoh doc etc still cannot help, time to consider religion help if u are a taoist. not joking not anyhow hear-say.

glassdarkly

doctors usually recommend swimming. just make sure to apply lots of moisturisers after that coz the chlorine in the water dries the skin.

but for me, i dare not go swimming. coz my eczema is all over my body, will scare other ppl away. i go jogging regular instead. shower immediately after jog

Really? I was actually told by a skin doctor not to go swimming. I have very mild eczema that was gone until recently when I started swimming again. Moisturizers don't seem to be helping.

I think the type of soap used matters too. I've been using this handmade soap that's supposed to be gentler on the skin for almost a year and it's helped a lot.

beautifulsoul

i did not realize that there many others who are suffering from this depressing skin problem, until i found my way here. i always thought that i could not share my frustrations, no one around me cept my family knows how it feels because they dont have it! well fellow fighters of eczema/dermatitis, its a real tough battle, im sure we'd agree. the unsightly bruises and discomfort that affected my life has gradually brought my self esteem down.. i wonder how the few weeks would be in BMT with these bruises/wounds though im graded pes c9.

you can say that i've kinda lost hope in clearing my eczema..(though i've not been prescribed with oral steroids yet) for life has changed so much ever since my condition has gone from bad to worse.. but on the bright side i've learned so much on what's good for my skin condition and the human body, as well as good habits for a healthier lifestyle and etc..

things im guessing we should have in common:
sweeping the room and gathering a pile of dead skin
stained bedsheets and clothings (once i had the watery wound on my thigh)
painful showers
feels like im 'burning' under strong sun
spending at least 10 mins after showers applying creams after creams and moisturiser
interrupted sleep from the scratching
stares from people and then the questioning about your skin
missing out on activities we can't join our friends in doing and cursing the food we can't enjoy with our family

well thats all i can think of right now.. =]

xJeris

i did not realize that there many others who are suffering from this depressing skin problem, until i found my way here. i always thought that i could not share my frustrations, no one around me cept my family knows how it feels because they dont have it! well fellow fighters of eczema/dermatitis, its a real tough battle, im sure we'd agree. the unsightly bruises and discomfort that affected my life has gradually brought my self esteem down.. i wonder how the few weeks would be in BMT with these bruises/wounds though im graded pes c9.

you can say that i've kinda lost hope in clearing my eczema..(though i've not been prescribed with oral steroids yet) for life has changed so much ever since my condition has gone from bad to worse.. but on the bright side i've learned so much on what's good for my skin condition and the human body, as well as good habits for a healthy lifestyle and etc..

ok la PES C9 no need scared..

go there for chalet only :D

i went for PES B BMT.

den i know what is eczema..

It was so serious until ppl tot i kana HIV :(

no one dare to talk to me :(

my skin from baige become red den turn purple :eek:

Worse moment of my life ever

Spotty_Hippo

you can say that i've kinda lost hope in clearing my eczema..(though i've not been prescribed with oral steroids yet) for life has changed so much ever since my condition has gone from bad to worse.. but on the bright side i've learned so much on what's good for my skin condition and the human body, as well as good habits for a healthier lifestyle and etc..

things im guessing we should have in common:
sweeping the room and gathering a pile of dead skin
stained bedsheets and clothings (once i had the watery wound on my thigh)
painful showers
feels like im 'burning' under strong sun
spending at least 10 mins after showers applying creams after creams and moisturiser
interrupted sleep from the scratching
stares from people and then the questioning about your skin
missing out on activities we can't join our friends in doing and cursing the food we can't enjoy with our family

well thats all i can think of right now.. =]

go ask NSC if u are suitable for UV light treatment. If u are, go for it.

In this treatment, go see yr camp MO. Downgrade to PES E. Do away with reservist!

Newbie0001

Bros and sis, eczema is not a big deal disease. However, it took me for nearly 10 years to realize it is an eczema. :o So, sometimes some reading should be good, in a pubic forum like this. :D :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.