Eczema

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

jd_ler

hi all, thanks for the concern. yeah. i'm trying to keep myself positive abt my condition. my parents also said it hurts them to see me like that.

i'm trying out TCM for now. hope it works on me (although it does takes a longer time to see its effects).

btw, i'm seeing this skin specialist from CGH. i still go back to him for reviews once in a while. he gave me oral steroids. besides that, he also prescribed me this medicine call cyclosporin. it's suppose to help suppress my immune system or something. but there's side effects too. overtime, it may cause liver/kidney damage. that's why i need to do blood test for liver function when i go and see him. after a few months of taking, the improvement wasn't drastic. my eczema still came back but not as severe la. they dun come cheap lor, that's why i stopped.

and thanks for all the advices too. i'm using cetaphil as my moisturizer. are there any other better ones ard? there's quite abit of weeping ard my neck area now. any remedies for that? it makes me very uncomfy!

totalpet_2

Do Eczema run in family? will it pass down to my next generation?

i was planted with Eczema(whole body type) was born with it. But no one in my family tree root have it.. even my older brother which is two years old don have it too..

y nobody ans my ques wan?

j0lie26

actually is cos ur blood dirty..u take sprirulina....it helps for me...i used to have eczema since i was a kid..and worst part is only me..i can't take seafood, etc cos will aggravate

evilerniex

hi all, thanks for the concern. yeah. i'm trying to keep myself positive abt my condition. my parents also said it hurts them to see me like that.

i'm trying out TCM for now. hope it works on me (although it does takes a longer time to see its effects).

btw, i'm seeing this skin specialist from CGH. i still go back to him for reviews once in a while. he gave me oral steroids. besides that, he also prescribed me this medicine call cyclosporin. it's suppose to help suppress my immune system or something. but there's side effects too. overtime, it may cause liver/kidney damage. that's why i need to do blood test for liver function when i go and see him. after a few months of taking, the improvement wasn't drastic. my eczema still came back but not as severe la. they dun come cheap lor, that's why i stopped.

and thanks for all the advices too. i'm using cetaphil as my moisturizer. are there any other better ones ard? there's quite abit of weeping ard my neck area now. any remedies for that? it makes me very uncomfy!

moisturizer shld be more or less the same ba. just make sure it is those that are suitable for ppl with eczema and doesnt irritates ur skin.

for ur weeping neck, try not to scratch it anymore (easier said than done :o). air the area and let it dry out, and apply more moisturizer if u feel uncomfortable.

breitling81

Bro, i empathize your situation and understand how you feel. This thread was started for those suffering from this skin condition. I would like to suggest you not to continue on anymore oral med as those have side effects probably you will wont feel it now but in future perhaps, those will kick in.

I cant recommend what will work for you but as i have shared here that i avoid chicken, peanuts, bean products all together because of their high protein content. I have also mentioned that eczema flare up is partly because our liver cannot break down the protein we consume thus expel it off through our skin dermatitis. However different ppl got different immunity system so my statement is based on my own personal experience.

Cetaphil is not bad and not sure if you want to try another brand called Sebamed (more expensive though). For shower, i would also recommend you to use bath oil (legolas bro can vouch for this method) after you shower so that when water evaporates from your skin, the bath oil will prevent that and keep your skin subtle.

More importantly, drink lots of water (chinese barley water works for me without sugar) and plenty of sleep. I cant stress more on rest as recently evern since my baby boy comes into my life i have not been having more than 6hrs sleep everyday. Still got to work and i noticed my skin condition got hit as well.

If all else fails, please do pm me, i may recommend you something else (ps i am not selling any snake oil product hor).

:)

Ps: i hope your condition is not considered as psoriasis.

jd_ler

i'm facing my worst flare ever! my neck's weeping like mad.. it's almost rotting.. skin is peeling all over my body... i seriously at my wit's end... i dunno wad to do!! =(

maywong

i'm facing my worst flare ever! my neck's weeping like mad.. it's almost rotting.. skin is peeling all over my body... i seriously at my wit's end... i dunno wad to do!! =(

issit vvvv bad? temporarily, i would suggest u apply moisturizer. hav u seen the doc abt it yet? cos my neck also will peel. it still peels once in a while. i always moisturizes it to reduce the peeling...

Imprison

used to have it when i was little, now the part behind by knees are badly scarred, like black black de :(:(

f0rfun

i have a cream from germany. its quite effective. 1 for stronger effect the other just norm day to day application. its really really good for all sorts of eczema. sometimes i see pple with eczema i really wan to go up to them and tell them abt this cream im using. unfortunately, i only have 1 tube n its not sold in singapore. my relative in germany brought it over for me on her last year. im still thinking of getting more the next time she visits to pass on to some of my frens with eczema too. will see how the results turn out b4 MO. keep u guys updated.

l3golas82

if weather ish bad try to stay indoors. ytd went vivo, sho hot. weather is really really bad. try to bring a small towel with you to wipe ur sweat ahz.

to buttie jd_ler, quicky go see doctor ahz, and try not to rub or scratch ur skin, it will only make it worse. Get well soon.

to buttie f0rfun, chiu ish gotch the name of the cream?

invisible.hippo

is eczema common online seem to have many people facig the same situiation but im the only one in my familu having it, how does eczema started

jd_ler

is eczema common online seem to have many people facig the same situiation but im the only one in my familu having it, how does eczema started

my doctor told me about 20% of teenagers in singapore suffers from it and most will probably grow out of it as they grow older. for people like me (i'm 24 btw), the problem seem to persist and to a certain extend, becomes more severe as times goes.

my neck's finally not weeping that badly anymore and i can finally move my head. i really really hope the condition will be better over the next few days. i'm stuck at home for more than a week already. =(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.