using betamethasone ointment 0.1%, not working
and it is supposed to be stronger than cream..
Guess different body diff effects
If i use betamethasone cream my itching is almost non-existant, skin becomes smoother in less than a weeek
using betamethasone ointment 0.1%, not working
and it is supposed to be stronger than cream..
eh ~ i got one skin problem idk what type of skin problem it is ~ leh. .
i think 8-9 months ago. . . my whole body itch, den i scratch and scratch den start to develop into rashes and red spots. . it was all over my body. . went to see doc took medication still didnt solve the itch/red spots. . i even ask doc to do injection to stop the itch, but it didn't help at all. .
after 1month plus, everything healed up alr. . . but after some time i realised my groin area and balls on and off will itch very badly. . den if i scratch n scratch until pain. . den will stop. . after which the ball will develop alot of flaky skin and drop off. . . den will stop itching again, . but the itching its like a cycle. .
healed alr itchy - scratch - pain stop - dry flaky skin - drop off - heal
cycle repeats. . sigh i dun wanna see doc later kena those weird diseases cfm sad ttm. . .
mine is on the face.. started when i was in taiwan about 3 - 4years ago, always thought it was due to the dry weather there that caused my skin to tear so ignore it.
Went on for few more months n i only used moisturizer on affected areas. After coming back to singapore about 2years ago, finally approach NSC n got to know its eczema, doctor told me most probably won't heal completely, will come n go, come n go.
Recently it has been spreading. At first it was around the eyebrows area, slowly to sides of the nose and now below the lips.
Now it is always 'on' for 8-9days n will go away only 2 -3days n come back, like a cycle.
Its always red and flakes like dandruff. Cream that NSC gave didn't help much.
The thread seems to be quiet over the past one month. Anyway, December seems to be pretty bad month for eczema patients due to the weather and humidity. My eczema acted quite badly which I have to pay my derm a visit. Apart eczema, I am also suffering from morning flu which goes away by noon.
Even though I changed my bedsheets weekly, i always feel my skin itching when i climb into my bed (my mattress was changed just a month ago). Anyway, I bought a reputable UV-light bed vacuum in December having read on the advantages which may be helpful for my conditions. What is impressive is the amount of dirt this little thing can vacuum from my bed. I'm not sure if it is psychological or if it really helps but I do feel better these days when i get into my bed. Nonetheless, I'm still suffering from my daily bout of morning flu. These days, I try to vacuum my bed once every other day but still change my bedsheets weekly.
My skin has very low tolerance for fragrance soap or shower bathe (even baby bathe). These days, I'm using "QV Gentle Wash" and "QV Bath Oil" for shower. I'm using just water for facial wash as the skin on my facial itches easily when facial wash is used.
Apart from moisturizer, I'm also using the 100% Pure Olive Manon virgin oil (not the standard cosmetic olive oil found in supermarket). Compared to moisturizer, oil does not dry out as fast and last longer. I did some reading and that olive oil helps to repair the skin and blemish out the scar as well.
Unfortunately, extra care and attention has to be made for us who are suffering from eczema. All this also comes at a cost which can be a financial burden to some. Anyway, hope my contribution helps in some way or another.
Cheers!
About bedsheet, other than washing regularly, my doc had recommended me a type of spray to be sprayed onto the mattress to 'seal off' the access of dust mites on the surface. It is to be applied once every 6 months. I got it from the pharmacy at TTSH. But had not used it for a couple of years liao, so can't recall its name. Then the pillows, blankets should to be sunned regularly.