Eczema

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

saha-med

using betamethasone ointment 0.1%, not working
and it is supposed to be stronger than cream..

Guess different body diff effects

If i use betamethasone cream my itching is almost non-existant, skin becomes smoother in less than a weeek

drumsolo86

I've got more strangers PM-ing me about eczema condition. Do check out my previous posts esp. if your eczema just started early. If you treat it early and have not used steroid creams/injections/oral steroids, you can be free of it.

Steroid creams do not heal it naturally, it only suppresses the toxins (or whatever wrong stuff you're eating or condoning in your unhealthy lifestyle). Over the many years, your skin will thin out and one day, no steroid creams can contain that inflammation/rashes that's spilling out.

Lately, just to share with you bros, I've had a female who's a childcare teacher PM me about her condition. She's very exasperated for a cure and has been using steroid creams for many years. She took my advice and went to look up the TCM doctor I recommended. Apparently, things got ugly - its simple, the body purges itself of toxins first before you can see healing. Eczema is a problem that takes patience and time to get well, and even longer if you've used unnatural means.

Moisturisers are good and recommended but if you want to be free of creams and eczema bondage, please avoid using the DAMN steroid creams. You will suffer for years if you keep using it. Believe me, cos I suffered major withdrawal symptoms and went through hell on earth after on prednisolone (oral steroids) for 6 months alone.

I'm only here to share because it worries to keep getting texts from people who think that eczema's a piece of cake WHEN WESTERN MEDICINE USED TO TREAT ECZEMA IS LAUGHABLE. It's not a ****ing cure, it only hides it and comes back with a vengeance. It's like heroine, you're bloody dependent on it.

That having said, I want to clarify I'm no doctor and not affliated with any of the medical organisations but trying my best to get word out there to those who are suffering from this problem. You can sms me to 81003255 if you got any queries or stuff. It pays a lot to be educational about your health and what you're suffering from, do not shrug it aside because eczema will make you pay the longer you neglect it.

DeElement

sorry i know i'm bring up an old thread , but one thing I wanna share with all my fellow sway jiao that got this abnormal skin issue .

when you are skin , fever , flu , cold all this , u won't feel itch at all , no trigger no nothing . because your body is too busy fighting the infection instead of playing masa masa with the skin inflammation. This was confirmed by my doctor. and it's not a good thing. but i damn happy la back then when i had high fever , no itch no nothing , i want to scartch also no chance to.

Harukatana

eh ~ i got one skin problem idk what type of skin problem it is ~ leh. .

i think 8-9 months ago. . . my whole body itch, den i scratch and scratch den start to develop into rashes and red spots. . it was all over my body. . went to see doc took medication still didnt solve the itch/red spots. . i even ask doc to do injection to stop the itch, but it didn't help at all. .

after 1month plus, everything healed up alr. . . but after some time i realised my groin area and balls on and off will itch very badly. . den if i scratch n scratch until pain. . den will stop. . after which the ball will develop alot of flaky skin and drop off. . . den will stop itching again, . but the itching its like a cycle. .

healed alr itchy - scratch - pain stop - dry flaky skin - drop off - heal

cycle repeats. . sigh i dun wanna see doc later kena those weird diseases cfm sad ttm. . .

tellim

my scrotum started itch since NSF days and scrotum skin thickened over time.

now already controlled, not much itch thru daily moisturising and applying steriod once a while. swimming seems to help also..suprising...probably due to chlorine. anyone suffer same fate as me? otchy n dry scrotum?

tellim

eh ~ i got one skin problem idk what type of skin problem it is ~ leh. .

i think 8-9 months ago. . . my whole body itch, den i scratch and scratch den start to develop into rashes and red spots. . it was all over my body. . went to see doc took medication still didnt solve the itch/red spots. . i even ask doc to do injection to stop the itch, but it didn't help at all. .

after 1month plus, everything healed up alr. . . but after some time i realised my groin area and balls on and off will itch very badly. . den if i scratch n scratch until pain. . den will stop. . after which the ball will develop alot of flaky skin and drop off. . . den will stop itching again, . but the itching its like a cycle. .

healed alr itchy - scratch - pain stop - dry flaky skin - drop off - heal

cycle repeats. . sigh i dun wanna see doc later kena those weird diseases cfm sad ttm. . .

i think u suffer same fate as me. u need to apply moisturiser every shower, apply steroid. once controlled, reduce steriod frequently and moisturiser is a must. the itch scratch cycle will worsen. just need to bear w it.

the medical term is lichen simplex chronicus, go google.

GottaFilling

I think some may confuse eczema with Ichthyosis. Seems like both will get dry skin and itchiness.

saha-med

lichen simplex chronicus is what i have too. Some places have completely healed (no scar marks even) by controlling scratching.

However others are still there. Resisting the scratching is simply unbearable

benathlon76

Long time never come HWZ, didn't realise this thread existed until i googled it.

My Eczema story:

I'm 36 now, i never had eczema when i'm young.

Few years back i was working onsite, install some IT equipment. There was a table that i was supposed to set up one PC. The table was dusty, i don't know what i was thinking but i blow the dust, the dust flew everywhere and some ended up on my face.

I did not wash it off though, after work done i went to other sites. End of day i went home took shower, noticed my face itched, red patches and dry.

The next day got worse, i went doctor. He gave me some pills. After few days itch went away..

Since then i keep getting eczema, especially on my 2 right fingers, my ears, neck, back and shoulders.

Notice it gets worse during 7th month when the air very smokey. I also smoke, i notice when i smoke too much eczema also flare out.

Doc gave me Beprosalic oitment, i apply only when my eczema comes out. but normally i use only 3 days max then stop. Cos i notice it does thin the skin.

Normally i just use normal shower foam. But this month, it seems like i can't use soap anymore. So bought Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser. Now looking for Cetaphil RESTORADERM.

One funny thing though, i know doc advise not to do activities that make u sweaty. But i notice between 2009-2010, i was exercising a lot, 6 times a week, weights, cardio, etc..

And my cardio (run) sometimes 60-90min, and i took a lot of supplements, multi vitamins, proteins, etc.. Eat healthy, no junk food, no fast food, minimal fried food, lots of fruits and veggie.

During that period the eczema went away!

I also notice if i sleep late (ie. 12mn-4am) and wake up late (ie. 10am-2pm) next day eczema will pop up. Too little sleep or too much sleep also aggravate my eczema.

For me best is sleep before midnight and wake up 6-8am.

I miss life before eczema!!

Waffles86

what facial wash to sue for eczema skin...?

mine is on the face.. started when i was in taiwan about 3 - 4years ago, always thought it was due to the dry weather there that caused my skin to tear so ignore it.

Went on for few more months n i only used moisturizer on affected areas. After coming back to singapore about 2years ago, finally approach NSC n got to know its eczema, doctor told me most probably won't heal completely, will come n go, come n go.

Recently it has been spreading. At first it was around the eyebrows area, slowly to sides of the nose and now below the lips.

Now it is always 'on' for 8-9days n will go away only 2 -3days n come back, like a cycle.
Its always red and flakes like dandruff. Cream that NSC gave didn't help much.

Laneige

mine is on the face.. started when i was in taiwan about 3 - 4years ago, always thought it was due to the dry weather there that caused my skin to tear so ignore it.

Went on for few more months n i only used moisturizer on affected areas. After coming back to singapore about 2years ago, finally approach NSC n got to know its eczema, doctor told me most probably won't heal completely, will come n go, come n go.

Recently it has been spreading. At first it was around the eyebrows area, slowly to sides of the nose and now below the lips.

Now it is always 'on' for 8-9days n will go away only 2 -3days n come back, like a cycle.
Its always red and flakes like dandruff. Cream that NSC gave didn't help much.

got anything u eat that triggers it
i find some parts of body got also. n smallportion n on n off. avoid mango n trying v hard to avoid durian coz my body is dampness inside.
went to see chinese doc elsewhere n while eating, great improvement. stop liao then hmm coming back coz never watch diet

lucas324

i have eczema...

Read one of the post saying swimming is good... Damn that's not... Swimming pool contains chlorine. which may be able to make ur skin super dry after swimming....
U will be required to spam moisturiser on urself after the swim..

yea it's good to soak in water but.. swimming pool has those substance.. No no... not good. :D

for Eczema, i have also something we call fungus.. but not those fungus green stuff, but dry skin.. portions and patches around the body... there are medicine to cure this but if the environment is dirty, it'll be back after sometime... so keep clean.. dust free :D

apply moisturiser very often. daily.. after bath...
Also, take note. After bathing dun rub ur skin with the towel tooo hard... maybe just tap tap tap.. to get ur body dry else u'll bruise ur skin.

Some would say if ur body is usually dry, do not use and soap to bath. Why? cause ur body has problems generating oil by itself, and if u use soap ah.. ur body will get super duper dry.. trust me... maybe alternate days lorh~ and make sure u use moisturiser.. :D

bernardoh

The thread seems to be quiet over the past one month. Anyway, December seems to be pretty bad month for eczema patients due to the weather and humidity. My eczema acted quite badly which I have to pay my derm a visit. Apart eczema, I am also suffering from morning flu which goes away by noon.

Even though I changed my bedsheets weekly, i always feel my skin itching when i climb into my bed (my mattress was changed just a month ago). Anyway, I bought a reputable UV-light bed vacuum in December having read on the advantages which may be helpful for my conditions. What is impressive is the amount of dirt this little thing can vacuum from my bed. I'm not sure if it is psychological or if it really helps but I do feel better these days when i get into my bed. Nonetheless, I'm still suffering from my daily bout of morning flu. These days, I try to vacuum my bed once every other day but still change my bedsheets weekly.

My skin has very low tolerance for fragrance soap or shower bathe (even baby bathe). These days, I'm using "QV Gentle Wash" and "QV Bath Oil" for shower. I'm using just water for facial wash as the skin on my facial itches easily when facial wash is used.

Apart from moisturizer, I'm also using the 100% Pure Olive Manon virgin oil (not the standard cosmetic olive oil found in supermarket). Compared to moisturizer, oil does not dry out as fast and last longer. I did some reading and that olive oil helps to repair the skin and blemish out the scar as well.

Unfortunately, extra care and attention has to be made for us who are suffering from eczema. All this also comes at a cost which can be a financial burden to some. Anyway, hope my contribution helps in some way or another.

Cheers!

patcheon

The thread seems to be quiet over the past one month. Anyway, December seems to be pretty bad month for eczema patients due to the weather and humidity. My eczema acted quite badly which I have to pay my derm a visit. Apart eczema, I am also suffering from morning flu which goes away by noon.

Even though I changed my bedsheets weekly, i always feel my skin itching when i climb into my bed (my mattress was changed just a month ago). Anyway, I bought a reputable UV-light bed vacuum in December having read on the advantages which may be helpful for my conditions. What is impressive is the amount of dirt this little thing can vacuum from my bed. I'm not sure if it is psychological or if it really helps but I do feel better these days when i get into my bed. Nonetheless, I'm still suffering from my daily bout of morning flu. These days, I try to vacuum my bed once every other day but still change my bedsheets weekly.

My skin has very low tolerance for fragrance soap or shower bathe (even baby bathe). These days, I'm using "QV Gentle Wash" and "QV Bath Oil" for shower. I'm using just water for facial wash as the skin on my facial itches easily when facial wash is used.

Apart from moisturizer, I'm also using the 100% Pure Olive Manon virgin oil (not the standard cosmetic olive oil found in supermarket). Compared to moisturizer, oil does not dry out as fast and last longer. I did some reading and that olive oil helps to repair the skin and blemish out the scar as well.

Unfortunately, extra care and attention has to be made for us who are suffering from eczema. All this also comes at a cost which can be a financial burden to some. Anyway, hope my contribution helps in some way or another.

Cheers!

About bedsheet, other than washing regularly, my doc had recommended me a type of spray to be sprayed onto the mattress to 'seal off' the access of dust mites on the surface. It is to be applied once every 6 months. I got it from the pharmacy at TTSH. But had not used it for a couple of years liao, so can't recall its name. Then the pillows, blankets should to be sunned regularly.

bernardoh

About bedsheet, other than washing regularly, my doc had recommended me a type of spray to be sprayed onto the mattress to 'seal off' the access of dust mites on the surface. It is to be applied once every 6 months. I got it from the pharmacy at TTSH. But had not used it for a couple of years liao, so can't recall its name. Then the pillows, blankets should to be sunned regularly.

Indeed! I sunned my pillows, bolsters and blankets frequently too.

From the reading, the culprit is not the dust mites itself but their dried body parts or smaller waste particles (inhalant allergen). Therefore, the vacuum cleaner I bought actually serves the purpose of vacuuming these inhalant allergen, the dust, my dog's fur and my dead skin on my bed. The UV light also helps to eliminate bacteria. The only downside is the cost of the equipment but it can be used for the entire family since I have 4 mattresses at home.

Hoping

Hi all , I am a sufferer of both eczema and acne and so glad to see this forum i.e. a lot of useful info. Wanted to check with you guys if anyone try Natzema. I search online and found this so called "natural" remedy but not sure if it's real or not.

Been using desowen (steroid -> only sparingly) and elidel (non-steriod -> stopped because it is causing my acne outbreak). I have a big brown patch on my forehead. Moisturizer from Derm is not really helpful in reducing itch. Thus, hoping to switch to natural remedy so as to avoid the side effects from those prescriptive meds.

Any advices/comments greatly appreciated. Thanks.

tenthjuly

Has anyone here tried Natzema?
Natzema - Natural Eczema Treatment Cream Singapore

It claims to be a natural remedy. It's not out in the pharmacies and can only be purchase online. It's around $60/tube, so I dont want to buy on impulse in case it doesnt works. They have been advertising vigorously but I couldnt find any reviews.
I've been using Physiogel and QV, both their wash and lotion, I moisturize everyday with generous amount of lotion but still it doesnt works! :(
I was told that stress level contributes to a part of it but with itching every single hour and dark patch of scars alr taken a tool on me psychologically. So how not to be stress! :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.