harky

Cat can play like dog a not..??
i always play with my dog.. e.g like kiss him :p

kampong boi

imo, dogs and cats are pets but what made me like dogs is they are faithful to their owner, cats will just like the owner to care for it.

last time my dog lick my lips and nose to wake me up and bring him for a walk... my virgin kiss lost to a dog :s22:

Spiderpig_Hippo

imo, dogs and cats are pets but what made me like dogs is they are faithful to their owner, cats will just like the owner to care for it.

last time my dog lick my lips and nose to wake me up and bring him for a walk... my virgin kiss lost to a dog :s22:

mine too hahah when i brought her home 1st week everyday 6am gib me kiss on my lips.. lucky not bergin kiss :s34:

commie_rick

saw this sad news on petchannel forum :(

Oh no.. i didn't realized there is a specific thread for spaying. i made a thread just now...have asked the moderator to remove it.
Can i ask you some guys for some advice regarding spaying?

Me and boyfriend had a female shetland sheepdog named Abby. She died of spaying last Thursday...she was going to be 7 months in 2 weeks time. What we can't accept is that she was so young haven't even reach adulthood yet she passed on just like that..how is this fair for her..

We went went to Heart2Heart Veterinary Hospital at 14 Jalan Lokam, Tai Keng Court. Previously we went there for vaccination too and they advised us on spaying as well. So we especially called and requested for the director vet to do the operation for us. Since it was a minor operation from what we heard, we did not worry about it and was waiting for her to come home in 1- 2 hours time. Before we left her, she was all well and healthy. After a few hours, one of the staffs called and told us she was in a serious condition and have breathing difficulties. During the last moments of her life, another vet in the evening shift did an CPR on her but failed.

When she died, the reason the vet gave us is that, there is water in her lungs. In the first place, how did the water get into the lungs when this is a spaying operation? I really don't get it. She was all well and healthy before the operation. She only started having breathing difficulties when she woke up. Does this lies with the operation? And during the last moments of her life, the director vet that we requested was not present at all. We assumed she was the one that did the operation and during the last moments of Abby's life, where was she? She was not even there. She was the one that operated on her and yet she was not the one present at the last moments of her life to save her. It was the evening shift vet that offer apologies and explanation.

Despite a failed operation, we still have pay for the full operation fee. Should we have paid for the full sum of operation? At that point of time, we were really sad and just paid for the full fee. They didn't offer to subsidize the payment. Now thinking of it, we feel that Abby died an innocent death and we want to seek redress for her. Up till now, it had been days and they have not given us the death certificate when they told us they will give us. They also have not given us a death report on how she died. Should they have written a report for us?

It was really devastating to have lost our first pet..she died so innocently..
can anyone tell us what we should do now?

:sad:

so sad. both my dogs are neutered cos i gotten them from spca.

lycans

saw this sad news on petchannel forum :(

Oh no.. i didn't realized there is a specific thread for spaying. i made a thread just now...have asked the moderator to remove it.
Can i ask you some guys for some advice regarding spaying?

Me and boyfriend had a female shetland sheepdog named Abby. She died of spaying last Thursday...she was going to be 7 months in 2 weeks time. What we can't accept is that she was so young haven't even reach adulthood yet she passed on just like that..how is this fair for her..

We went went to Heart2Heart Veterinary Hospital at 14 Jalan Lokam, Tai Keng Court. Previously we went there for vaccination too and they advised us on spaying as well. So we especially called and requested for the director vet to do the operation for us. Since it was a minor operation from what we heard, we did not worry about it and was waiting for her to come home in 1- 2 hours time. Before we left her, she was all well and healthy. After a few hours, one of the staffs called and told us she was in a serious condition and have breathing difficulties. During the last moments of her life, another vet in the evening shift did an CPR on her but failed.

When she died, the reason the vet gave us is that, there is water in her lungs. In the first place, how did the water get into the lungs when this is a spaying operation? I really don't get it. She was all well and healthy before the operation. She only started having breathing difficulties when she woke up. Does this lies with the operation? And during the last moments of her life, the director vet that we requested was not present at all. We assumed she was the one that did the operation and during the last moments of Abby's life, where was she? She was not even there. She was the one that operated on her and yet she was not the one present at the last moments of her life to save her. It was the evening shift vet that offer apologies and explanation.

Despite a failed operation, we still have pay for the full operation fee. Should we have paid for the full sum of operation? At that point of time, we were really sad and just paid for the full fee. They didn't offer to subsidize the payment. Now thinking of it, we feel that Abby died an innocent death and we want to seek redress for her. Up till now, it had been days and they have not given us the death certificate when they told us they will give us. They also have not given us a death report on how she died. Should they have written a report for us?

It was really devastating to have lost our first pet..she died so innocently..
can anyone tell us what we should do now?

:sad:

General anesthesia is not without risks, while modern veterinary medicine can migitate those risk and lower it but the presence of danger is always there.

Maybe the dog is sensitive to the drugs used for the GA? Was the ET tube cuff done up properly? Alot of possibilities....

PS: I am sure even in human medicine even if your loved ones die, you still have to pay for it. Any human doctors want to correct me if I'm wrong? People have this mindset that they are only going to pay for a "positive" outcome when it comes to medicine when in reality no doctors, no vets can predict the outcome.

lycans

nowadays a lot of this type of problems :(

My friend's cat went for ster, also died.
Reason given by clinic is fell from the table :s22:
still have to pay for the operation.

am going to ster my 2 dragonball dogs, wondering where is the "safest" clinic to do so.
Went many clinics, saw many young vets and seems like the norm that they are only interested in making money. Introducing and pushing things and tests so can charge more :s22:

will update the 1st post soon. sorry :o
I have no idea why people think that vets are pushing for those tests to make more money. In human medicine, those test costs are offset by medical insurance, in vet medicine you just have to suck it up and pay. Perhaps from an owner's perspective that maybe so, but from my perspective I will be ordering those tests to ensure that the patient is fit for whatever procedure that will be done. Those test reagents, materials, tubes, machine wear and tear cost is going to come from somewhere, I sure as hell aint going to do a test and pay for it out of my own pocket.

A standard physical exam doesnt tell the clinicians much about the patient's internal functions. At the end of the day, I offer those tests to assess the patient, if owner declined it will be recorded as AMA - against medical advice and if the patient dies, the fault lies with the owner

Spiderpig_Hippo

saw this on petchannel forum one of the dogs owner there posted this
thought it might be useful. :o
1. All Pets & Aqualife Vet Clinic
219 Jalan Kayu Singapore 799442
Tel: 6481 3700. Fax: 6481 6900
Dr Frederic Chua, BVSc (Melb.), MRCVS, MSc(Aquatic Vet Studies, Stirling).
Daily: 9.30am- 1pm, 3pm-7.30pm.
Closed on Public Holidays.
E-mail: aqualife@pacific.net.sg

2. AAVC - Animal & Avian Veterinary Clinic
Blk 716 Yishun St 71, #01-254, Singapore 760716.
Tel: 6853 9397. Fax: 6853 3949.
E-mail: aavcsingapore@yahoo.com
Web Address: http://www.geocities.com/aavcsingapore

3. AMK Veterinary Surgery
31 Sembawang Road Singapore 779077
Tel: 6451 5242. Fax: 6451 4001.
Emergency: 9210 1961 (pager).
Dr S. Thiruchelvam, BVSc (Bristol), MRCVS.
Mon, Tue, Wed, Fri: 10am -1pm, 2pm-4pm, 6pm-8pm.
Sat: 9am-1pm, 2pm-4pm.
Thu, Sun, Public Holidays: 9am-1pm
E-mail: amkvs@pacific.net.sg
Web Address: http://www.geocities.com/amkvets

4. Animal Recovery Centre (East)
3 Simei St 6 Eastpoint Mall
Pet Safari #01-06, Singapore 528833
Tel: 6587 1798. Fax: 6587 1796.
Mon-Sun: 10am-12noon, 2pm-8pm.

5. Animal Recovery Veterinary Centre
288 Balestier Road, #01-01
Tel: 6252-2623

6. Animal Practice Pte Ltd
1015 Upper Serangoon Road #01-00 Singapore 534753
Tel: 62883929 Fax: 62881823

7. Clinic for Pets
Blk 1015 Geylang East Avenue 3 #01-141 Singapore 389730.
Tel: 6745 1337, 6748 7105.
Dr Lim Ai Cheng, BVSc (Hons) (Qld).
Mon-Fri: 9.30am-1pm, 5pm-8pm.
Sat:10am-1pm, 2.30pm - 4pm.
Sun: 9.30am-12.30pm.
Public Holiday: 9.30am - 11.30am.

8. Companion Animal Surgery
10 Shaw Corner
Boon Teck Road Singapore 329584.
Tel: 6255 7950 Fax: 6251 1910.
6532 4865 (Emergency)
Dr Shane Ryan
BVSc (Hons) (Qld), MRCVS & Associates.
Consultation by appointment.
Mon-Fri: 9am-8.30pm.
Sat: 9am-3pm. Sun:10am-2pm.
Public Holidays: 9am-12noon.
http://web.singnet.com.sg/~comvet/

9. Clinic for Pets
Blk 1015 Geylang East Ave 3 #01-141 Singapore 389730
Tel: 67451337
Fax: 67449257

10. Defu Veterinary Surgery
Blk 37 Defu Lane 10 #01-79 Singapore 539214
Tel: 62848411 Fax: 62507168

11. Edmond Tan Veterinary Surgery
Blk 151 Serangoon North Avenue 2 #01-65 Singapore 550151.
Tel: 6282 1581
6535 8833 (Emergency).
Dr Edmond Tan, BSc, BVMS (Murdoch).
Mon, Thu: 10am-1pm, 2pm-4pm, 6pm-8pm.
Tue, Fri, Sat: 10am-1pm, 2pm-4pm.
Sun, Public Holidays: 10am-1pm.
Closed on Wed.

12. Four Paws Centre Pte Ltd
Blk 158 Bedok South Ave 3 #01-577 Singapore 460158.
Tel: 6444 3561. Fax: 6448 1644.

13. Jireh Veterinary Clinic Pte Ltd
15 Venus Road Windsor Park Estate
Singapore 574302
Tel: 65560268 Fax: 65560269
Web Address: ~^..^~ Jireh Veterinary Clinic Pte Ltd ~^..^~

14. Heart2Heart Veterinary Hospital Pte Ltd
14, 24 & 26 Jalan Lokam
Tai Keng Court Singapore 537870
Tel: 68585885 Fax: 68585884

15. Holland Village Veterinary Centre
Blk 44 Jalan Merah Saga
# 01-44 Singapore 278116.
Tel: 6472 1003

16. James Tan Veterinary Centre
230 Whitley Road Singapore 297823.
Tel: 6253 1122 (5 lines), 6533 0088 (Emergency). Fax: 6250 7168.
Dr James Tan, BVSc (Qld).
Mon, Tue, Thu, Fri: 9am-1pm, 2pm-5pm, 7pm-9pm. Sat: 9am-12 noon, 2pm-5pm.
Wed: 2pm-5pm, 7pm-9pm.
Sun & Public Holidays: 9am-12 noon.
Web Address: ~^..^~ Jireh Veterinary Clinic Pte Ltd ~^..^~

17. Mount Pleasant Animal Hospital
232 Whitley Road Singapore 297824.
Tel: 6 250 8333.
Dr Tan Hwa Luck, BVMS,
(Glasgow), MRCVS & Associates.
Mon-Fri: 9.30am-12.30pm, 2pm-4.30pm, 6pm-8pm.
Sat, Sun: 9.30am-12.30pm, 2pm-4.30pm.
Public Holidays: 9.30am-12.30pm.

18. Mount Pleasant Animal Clinic (East) Pte Ltd
152 East Coast Road Singapore 428855.
Tel: 6448 8153. Fax: 6348 7161.

19. Mount Pleasant Animal Clinic (North) Pte Ltd
Blk 151 Serangoon North Avenue 2
#01-59, Singapore 550151.
Tel: 6287 1190. Fax: 6487 4106

20. Mount Pleasant Animal Clinic (Springside)
23 Sembawang Road Singapore 779077.
Tel: 6452 5770.
Emergencies: 6250 8333
Mon-Sun: 9.30am-12.30pm, 2pm-4pm.
Mon-Fri: 6pm-8.30pm.

21. Mount Pleasant Animal Medical Centre (West)
Blk 105 Clementi St 12 #01-18 Singapore 120105.
Tel: 6776 8858 Fax: 6776 1678
Emergency services & after office hours: 6250 8333.

22. Namly Animal Clinic
74 Namly Place Singapore 267223.
Tel: 6469 4744. Fax: 6469 4844
Dr Ling Khoon Hsing.
Consultation by appointment.
Mon-Sat: 9am-12 noon, 2pm-5pm.
Sun: 9am-12 noon.
Mon, Wed, Fri: 6.30pm - 8.30 pm.
Closed on Thu & Public Holidays.

23. P.A.W (People Animal Wellness) Veterinary Centre Pte Ltd
112 Bukit Purmei, #01-207 Singapore 090112
Tel: 62737573 Fax: 62787576

24. Pet Care Centre & Clinic Pte Ltd
4 Waringin Park Singapore 416318.
Tel: 6448 5835. Fax: 6444 4735.
Dr Ng Siew Weng, BSc, BVSc (Hons) (Qld), Dip.Vet. Clinic Studies (Syd).
Mon-Fri: 11am-12noon, 2pm-4pm, 6.30pm-8.30pm.
Sat: 11am-12noon, 2pm-4pm
Sun & Public Holidays: 11am-12oon.

25. Pet Clinic
79 Brighton Crescent Serangoon Garden Way Singapore 559218
Tel: 62885565 Fax: 62807717

26. The Animal Clinic Pte Ltd
Blk 109 Clementi St 11 #01-31 Singapore 120109.
Tel: 6776 3450, 6777 0273
6535 8833 (Emergency), 6532 4865 (Emergency).
Dr Lennie Lee Koon Ann, BSc (Vet) (Sydney), BVSc (Sydney).
Dr Hsu Li Chieh, DVM (Guelph) and Associates.
Mon-Sat: 9.30am-12 noon, (Sat: 9.30am-1pm). 2pm-5 pm. 6pm-9pm.
Closed on Sun & Public Holidays.

27. The Animal Clinic Pte Ltd (Katong)
55 Lorong L Telok Kurau (Bright Centre) #01-63, Singapore 425500.
Tel: 6440 4767, 6440 2336, 6535 8833
6532 4865 (Emergency).
Dr Lennie Lee Koon Ann, BSc (Vet) (Sydney), BVSc (Sydney).
Dr Hsu Li Chieh, DVM (Guelph) and Associates.
Mon-Fri: 9.30am-12 noon, 2pm-5pm. 6pm-9pm.
Sat: 9.30am-1pm, 2pm-5pm.
Sun & Public Holidays: Closed.

28. The Animal Recovery Centre
3 Greendale Avenue Singapore 289498.
Tel: 6463 7100. Fax: 64637144.
Ambulance: 9501 0077.
E-mail: arc.animal@pacific.net.sg

29. The Animal Recovery Centre (Tampines) Pte Ltd
Blk 139 Tampines Street 11 #01-62 Singapore 521139
Tel: 65871797 Fax: 62608315

30. The Animal Doctors
Blk 108 Ang Mo Kio Ave. 4 #01-96 Singapore 560108
Tel: 64514531 Fax: 64517531
E-mail: theanimaldoctors@singnet.com.sg

31. The Veterinary Clinic Pte Ltd (Harbour Front Walk)
1 HarbourFront Walk #03-05 (Vivo City) Singapore 098585
Tel: 63768083 Fax: 63768084
E-mail: tvc.vivo.city@gmail.com
Web Address: The Veterinary Clinic Singapore

32. The Joyous Vet Pte Ltd
Blk 475 Choa Chu Kang Ave 3
#01-30A, Sunshine Place Singapore 680475
Tel: 67690304 Fax: 67697353
Monday, Wednesday to Saturday - 12pm to 3pm , 7pm to 10pm
Sunday - 2 pm to 7 pm
TUESDAY and public holidays Closed.

33. The Veterinary Clinic Pte Ltd (Holland Village)
31A & 33A Lorong Liput Singapore 277742
Tel: 64686312 Fax: 64686257
E-mail: tvc.holland.village@gmail.com

34. Toa Payoh Vets (Toa Payoh Veterinary Surgery)
Blk 1002 Toa Payoh Lorong 8 #01-1477 Singapore 319074.
Tel: 6254 3326 Fax: 6256 0501
Tel: 9668 6469 (James Ang to make an appointment)
Emergency: 9668-6469 judy@toapayohvets.com.
Dr Sing Kong Yuen, BVMS (Glasgow), MRCVS
Mon-Sun & Public Holidays except Saturdays:10am-5pm
By appointment only.
Dr Jason Teo, Mon - Fri. 6pm - 10pm, Sat 10am-5pm.
Housecalls available.
Please phone 6254 3326 if you wish to cancel the appointments made.
E-mail: drsing@pacific.net.sg
Web Address: 20070406About Toa Payoh Vets Singapore Toa Payoh Veterinary Surgery, animal doctor, horse, dog, cat, rabbit, hamster, clinic info

35. Vet Practice Pte Ltd
106 Jalan Jurong Kechil Singapore 598604.
Tel: 6462 1757, 6462 1541, 9290 5456 (emergency).
Dr Daphne Ang, BSc, BVMS (Murdoch),
Dr Phua Siew Sian, BSc, BVMS (Murdoch)
Mon-Sat: 9am - 12 noon, 2pm - 5pm, 6pm -8.30pm.
Sun: 9am - 1pm.
Public Holidays closed.

NewRules

When is a good age to bring the puppy out for walks? She's about 3 months old now.

NewRules

after vaccination should be ok i tink

Alright! Gonna go get a leash and collar =)
Are all puppies super excited when they see food or treats? Mine goes all crazy when I'm bout to feed or give treats. Hard to teach her tricks when she's so hyper

Spiderpig_Hippo

Are all puppies super excited when they see food or treats? Mine goes all crazy when I'm bout to feed or give treats. Hard to teach her tricks when she's so hyper

must train ur puppy not to pull the leash cause very bad for the throat and can cause her/him to vomit. since urs is 3months only should be easier to train ! :)

yeah they do. my bearbear always stop what she is doing whenever she hears the treats or smell it and run to me and camp till i give her treats.

tricks teaching takes time must be firm and patient with her.

this might be useful for u
Dog Training Course - Train a Dog in Six Weeks
was shared by a fellow edmwer to me when i first got bearbear.

Krabs.

at first use food to train

then move onto praising or rub head as reward
professional and amateur trainers use the clicker (can buy it cheap online from ebay)

my dog only know 3 tricks and she can do it without reward or verbal command ... just hand gesture

Krabs.

anybody know what can I do for my dog's knee problem ???

my dog had this problem years ago ...vet say patella luxation .... dunno if injury or inherited
it will heal itself ... then years later damage again ....

this week the problem come back again.... also partly because my dog getting quite old liao .... walking will pain, sit become restless will pant because pain ... refuse to eat or drink

NewRules

anybody know what can I do for my dog's knee problem ???

my dog had this problem years ago ... dunno if injury or inherited
it will heal itself ... then years later damage again ....

this week the problem come back again.... also partly because my dog getting quite old liao .... walking will pain, sit become restless will pant because pain

Best thing is to see the vet? Wait for lycans to come in. Some dogs do have certain problems.
What breed is yours?

YouYongku

I have no idea why people think that vets are pushing for those tests to make more money. In human medicine, those test costs are offset by medical insurance, in vet medicine you just have to suck it up and pay. Perhaps from an owner's perspective that maybe so, but from my perspective I will be ordering those tests to ensure that the patient is fit for whatever procedure that will be done. Those test reagents, materials, tubes, machine wear and tear cost is going to come from somewhere, I sure as hell aint going to do a test and pay for it out of my own pocket.

A standard physical exam doesnt tell the clinicians much about the patient's internal functions. At the end of the day, I offer those tests to assess the patient, if owner declined it will be recorded as AMA - against medical advice and if the patient dies, the fault lies with the owner

You need me to reply you on this? :)
You know when I said related to vets, I'm not saying without thinking.

You have to understand that not everybody is alike you, passion over money.

Krabs.

Best thing is to see the vet? Wait for lycans to come in. Some dogs do have certain problems.
What breed is yours?
JRT

vet already diagnose 7 years ago is patella luxation which is misaligned kneecap bone
vet tell us to do operation for $500 but we just bring home to recover

in the last 5 years or so my dog had slight relapse twice, need to rest for a few days it will naturally get better

now my dog getting old liao I think she cannot tahan much more suffering ... jin kelian see her in pain until cannot rest or eat properly ...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.