Eight Telecom discussion thread

sallybee

Hi I have 2 questions

1) once the free plan ended, can I use the shopee method to topup for the first time? If not, what must be done ?

2) I currently have a main line under heya. Im planning to retain my heya number hence choosing to port number. If I do porting from heya to eight, say either on a Tuesday, Wednesday ,Thursday, may I know how long or how many days does porting requires?

thank you

therat

I have something to report.

I wanted to sign up at an eight retailer, but after trying to do the sign up, the retailer told me that each customer can have only up to 2 lines, including the 2 free lines I have.

I will have to either cancel one of the free lines or just do direct port in to one of these lines.
need to cancel the free line , then can port in.
Cannot port in to the free line that you have collect early.

~sabaisabai~

But I did not know that this even applies to the paid plans.

I thought the limit was for having 2 free lines at most.
each can have two lines per NRIC

if you are holding two free lines, you can use one of them to port in but need to do it online
retailer or service centre can only port in for you with $8 plan, means you need to cancel one free line and port in with the $8 plan since you are already holding two lines

Kiwi8

Thanks, I have sent email requesting cancellation of one of my free lines. Their trial expiry is a few days away anyway. :o

Kiwi8

each can have two lines per NRIC

if you are holding two free lines, you can use one of them to port in but need to do it online
retailer or service centre can only port in for you with $8 plan, means you need to cancel one free line and port in with the $8 plan
How to do the porting online?

Habrosus

Thanks, I have sent email requesting cancellation of one of my free lines. Their trial expiry is a few days away anyway. :o
https://www.eight.com.sg/faq-manage-my-account

There are a few ways for termination:

• You can let the mobile plan run its current cycle and not reload
  • Head over to our service centre for termination, please bring along your NRIC that was used for the registration of the number
  • You can write in to helpme@eight.com.sgwith the below details as part of user verification. Do note that this action will be irreversible.
    • Name as per NRIC:
    • Last 4 digits of NRIC:
    • Your eight number:
    • Your date of birth:
    • Photo of the back of your SIM card/Screenshot of your “myAccount” login

~sabaisabai~

service centre from ubi told me can port in using free line but only can do it online
and each person allowed to keep two lines only

means if one holding two free lines and going to service centre at ubi to port, then need to cancel one line and do the porting with $8 plan

TyL3r_DuRd3n

you may want to go to their service centre to rectify it. that's the only way out.

cos got someone here tested and can receive it
I emailed them and they are looking into it.
Not sure if it helps going down to the service centre but I can try later after work.

For now, I have updated my number with the overseas bank to my Simba number and I can receive SMS OTPs as expected.

Kiwi8

service centre from ubi told me can port in using free line but only can do it online
and each person allowed to keep two lines only

means if one holding two free lines and going to service centre at ubi to port, then need to cancel one line and do the porting with $8 plan
How to do it online?

~sabaisabai~

I emailed them and they are looking into it.
Not sure if it helps going down to the service centre but I can try later after work.

For now, I have updated my number with the overseas bank to my Simba number and I can receive SMS OTPs as expected.
at least you have other alternative for overseas sms.
hope the guy at ubi service centre can help to rectify the issue

loganrunning

I'm quite disappointed with Eight's lousy service. Ordered online port-in, and the SIM hasn't been delivered after more than a week. Emailed them last Friday, and still, there's no response with email follow up.

better to stick to singtel, and avoid all the cheap MVNOs. I had recent bad experience even with gomo, wait 3-4 hours before agent comes on line. replies every 10-15min. all this at off-peak hours between 0200 to 0500. took 4 days, each 4-6 hours each, to settle a simple issue.

at least singtel got premium infra, premium support. premium service. best of all, you can go down to physical outlet and get.things.done.NOW

NovelLobster

better to stick to singtel, and avoid all the cheap MVNOs. I had recent bad experience even with gomo, wait 3-4 hours before agent comes on line. replies every 10-15min. all this at off-peak hours between 0200 to 0500. took 4 days, each 4-6 hours each, to settle a simple issue.

at least singtel got premium infra, premium support. premium service. best of all, you can go down to physical outlet and get.things.done.NOW
But I’m poor so cannot afford Singtel… no choice

TyL3r_DuRd3n

But I’m poor so cannot afford Singtel… no choice
afro-american-teen-boy-bruised-face-hugging-brother-sitting-alone-stairs-afro-american-teen-boy-bruised-face-hugging-159251851.jpg

NovelLobster

How to do the porting online?
I think should be same as you signing up for another line on their website (after you have successfully terminated one of your free lines). Then during the registration process just indicate you want to port in.

~sabaisabai~

so ppl must know, if want cheap, cannot expect alot, will be very disappointed, cos they are just mnvo and not earning alot.. operating with lean manpower, how to be like singtel and starhub got phone support? they need to pay for the call centre service running 24hrs leh.... starhub has apps online support, i recently used their service when i was overseas, that was the price that paid for.. :p

if want good signal, good service, everything also have from A to Z, then go for premium cost, cfm will have it... cos paying for it:p

mvno basically not much support.. i text simba via messenger takes few days to reply.. i cannot imagine if urgent case, die liao lor.. lolsss

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.