Eight Telecom discussion thread

tanchoo1

lets not get started on gomo and their premium infra ...... 🤦‍♂️ :ROFLMAO:
To be fair though, it's different for everyone.

Most people on ST, SH, and M1 have no major problems with their reception; else they would have long ago ported out (unless they're stuck in a contract). It's a case of "your mileage may vary" and every home / work place has different reception.

The good thing nowadays is that with so many MVNO options, it's easy to jump around if your reception sucks; obviously the caveat being one needs to beware of any lock-in periods for new lines, but they are usually not one or two years like the MNOs; most of them are one to two months at the most for MVNOs. So this sort of flexibility is really good for us consumers.

Or as they say, "not happy then port out lor!" :ROFLMAO:

(Notice I did not say anything about Simba's reception, that's because simply put, they are a joke.)

Jurong640

loganrunning

To be fair though, it's different for everyone.

Most people on ST, SH, and M1 have no major problems with their reception; else they would have long ago ported out (unless they're stuck in a contract). It's a case of "your mileage may vary" and every home / work place has different reception.

The good thing nowadays is that with so many MVNO options, it's easy to jump around if your reception sucks; obviously the caveat being one needs to beware of any lock-in periods for new lines, but they are usually not one or two years like the MNOs; most of them are one to two months at the most for MVNOs. So this sort of flexibility is really good for us consumers.

Or as they say, "not happy then port out lor!" :ROFLMAO:

(Notice I did not say anything about Simba's reception, that's because simply put, they are a joke.)

I got no problems with the varying reception and performance, afterall, there is no perfect MNO/MVNO. it ultimately depends on where you are and where you frequent. E.g. for me, m1 coverage is bad, but it works for many others. So, yes, YMMV. That's why i never say, telco "x" bestest, telco "y" worstest

what i objected to when on gomo, was them telling me how premium their infra was, and them "targetting" me by not sending me promotions ie punishment for loyalty.

to rub salt in, their counteroffer to entice me to stay was laughable. Even though i started the port out process 10 days before renewal, they kept delaying the process so had to retry. Fortunately managed to get out without renewing into another month.

i go where i am treated best. and ported out to eight. no regrets (for now). if they improve, i'll stay, if not, as one minister has told us, "if you don't like here, you can leave" :ROFLMAO:

(on simba, i was on the TPG trial. I didn't stay, and not just because of coverage and speed. My perception based on casual chat is, for local use, it's a backup line as in not having all lines under 1 MNO's infra, but the main use is for overseas/roaming)

edit: most will stay with their current provider due to inertia. its only when the problems reach a tipping point, that they leave.

Habrosus

3 - 5 working days for Singpost delivery.

After that you may wish to go down to the Ubi service center and bang table. :ROFLMAO:
Bang his table for what? Your own fault for not choosing to pick up from him in the first place.

Bang table gently?
Take mop help him clean the shop better! :s13:

~sabaisabai~

Welcome OG. Let me introduce you some Harry Porters here. We have our very own Harry Porter
@kelvinti
He is the most experienced porter here

but I lazy to port leh
reason I port to eight firstly under starhub network. 8gb data roaming. 288 idd calls and only $8 🤣

otherwise I still staying with starhub despite no more contract :s22:

I'm comfortable with it.😀

NovelLobster

I don’t know if anyone mentioned before already, but after 29 Aug if you top up $8, eight will match with free $8

~sabaisabai~

Like the rest of us at work, it must not be easy being him, having to deals with morons day in day out. So dun bang table ah. Buy him coffee instead
laugh.gif

ubi boss actually nice. but very busy. all flock there due to bad service in lucky plaza

tanchoo1

ubi boss actually nice. but very busy. all flock there due to bad service in lucky plaza
Also because most people are goondus, want cheap and want 24-hour service hotline, don't read the FAQ, don't know how to Google, then when they sign up and screw up something on their end, they go down to Lucky Plaza and the ah beng there told them to f*** off. Then they panic and go down to Ubi and expect the poor uncle there to perform miracles.

loganrunning

Also because most people are goondus, want cheap and want 24-hour service hotline, don't read the FAQ, don't know how to Google, then when they sign up and screw up something on their end, they go down to Lucky Plaza and the ah beng there told them to f*** off. Then they panic and go down to Ubi and expect the poor uncle there to perform miracles.

for these people, MNOs should offer concierge service, at a appropriate fee of course. :ROFLMAO:

SPEED

just done the porting of 2 x ZYM lines to eight on their website
tomorrow go collect sim card physical.
anyone knows how fast is the porting? my zym lines will bill on 10th Sept.
hope can port b4 that so no kenna bill $10.10 X 2

Thx!

tanchoo1

just done the porting of 2 x ZYM lines to eight on their website
tomorrow go collect sim card physical.
anyone knows how fast is the porting? my zym lines will bill on 10th Sept.
hope can port b4 that so no kenna bill $10.10 X 2

Thx!
Should be on time, but the donor Telco has the right to reject your port out request if they deem it to be too near to the renewal date.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.