Eight Telecom discussion thread

NovelLobster

Fourteen freaking months ahead :sad: :s13:
I also leh… so far my only issue is that when I’m behind two rounds of metal doors in the MRT station where I work, the signal keeps dropping to 3G. Then when I make calls to my mother, I will hear the ringing for a while then no more ringing, but line is not connected. That’s also the same time I discovered that the signal dropped to 3G. But I’m not planning to work at this job for long lah, so see how loh

Anyway if eight is bad then @TyL3r_DuRd3n you don’t need to work so hard for eight liao loh since will have fewer people asking. :grin:

NovelLobster

no leh. not stuck for me
moi still happy with eight lah. I can call Thailand using idd mins
$6 nia leh. cannot cover my cai png with fish

what works for me may not works for others. please dyodd
But telco this kind of thing cannot do due diligence one mah, since it’s a try then you know thing.

I also need IDD lah, since my overseas bank issue haven’t resolved yet. So I don’t mind my 14 months contract :spin:

TyL3r_DuRd3n

But telco this kind of thing cannot do due diligence one mah, since it’s a try then you know thing.

I also need IDD lah, since my overseas bank issue haven’t resolved yet. So I don’t mind my 14 months contract :spin:
Overseas bank issue? Sms otp from malaysia bro?

loganrunning

I also leh… so far my only issue is that when I’m behind two rounds of metal doors in the MRT station where I work, the signal keeps dropping to 3G. Then when I make calls to my mother, I will hear the ringing for a while then no more ringing, but line is not connected. That’s also the same time I discovered that the signal dropped to 3G. But I’m not planning to work at this job for long lah, so see how loh

Sounds like a very secure location, must have lots of $$$ :ROFLMAO:. I assume that the metal doors are thick metal, and the walls are thick concrete, these strongly reduce the signal.

Is there Wifi? if so, see if can use VoWiFi/VoWLAN. or use whatsapp to make calls.

NovelLobster

Overseas bank issue? Sms otp from malaysia bro?
No, I’m trying to set up overseas internet banking account. Their website don’t allow me to register online, so have to call in

Last Wed called them, then they tried to help me set up access code PIN, but don’t know why their system cannot pick up the input I keyed in on my iPhone. Tried many times but still cannot.

Their system very mafan one… they told me before they transfer my call to the access code system, I have to turn off my Bluetooth and airdrop and phone cannot be on speaker mode. They say if the system detect I have these things turned on, their system will reject my access code. Then turned out, I turn off everything liao, their system still didn’t receive what I keyed in on the number pad of my iPhone :spin:

so the guy said he will call me back the next day during the timing I gave him, but he didn’t call me back… so this Wednesday have to call them again. I call them on Wednesday coz Wed is my only day off, and the call usually takes quite long

and I hope it’s that guy forgot to call me, and not that he tried to call then cannot reach me, coz if it’s the latter, I will have to bang table with eight

NovelLobster

Sounds like a very secure location, must have lots of $$$ :ROFLMAO:. I assume that the metal doors are thick metal, and the walls are thick concrete, these strongly reduce the signal.

Is there Wifi? if so, see if can use VoWiFi/VoWLAN. or use whatsapp to make calls.
No, the place I sit in for my breaks and before start of work shift is the pantry… no WiFi one. The location that drops to 3G at least sometimes will have signal.

the other MRT station I go to, the pantry is totally cannot receive any signal one.

yes, it’s thick metal doors and thick concrete, that’s why

loganrunning

No, the place I sit in for my breaks and before start of work shift is the pantry… no WiFi one. The location that drops to 3G at least sometimes will have signal.

the other MRT station I go to, the pantry is totally cannot receive any signal one.

yes, it’s thick metal doors and thick concrete, that’s why

sounds like underground - tunnel/station under construction, or maintenance. i work in the tunnel construction, so wifi is dependent on the charity of others. Am also gonna quit, job and physical environment not good for health. It's an interesting gig but definitely not for long term.

NovelLobster

sounds like underground - tunnel/station under construction, or maintenance. i work in the tunnel construction, so wifi is dependent on the charity of others. Am also gonna quit, job and physical environment not good for health. It's an interesting gig but definitely not for long term.
Yes my pantry locations are underground.

Your job sounds very macho… you’re the macho type?

Habrosus

No, I’m trying to set up overseas internet banking account. Their website don’t allow me to register online, so have to call in

Last Wed called them, then they tried to help me set up access code PIN, but don’t know why their system cannot pick up the input I keyed in on my iPhone. Tried many times but still cannot.

Their system very mafan one… they told me before they transfer my call to the access code system, I have to turn off my Bluetooth and airdrop and phone cannot be on speaker mode. They say if the system detect I have these things turned on, their system will reject my access code. Then turned out, I turn off everything liao, their system still didn’t receive what I keyed in on the number pad of my iPhone :spin:

so the guy said he will call me back the next day during the timing I gave him, but he didn’t call me back… so this Wednesday have to call them again. I call them on Wednesday coz Wed is my only day off, and the call usually takes quite long

and I hope it’s that guy forgot to call me, and not that he tried to call then cannot reach me, coz if it’s the latter, I will have to bang table with eight
If it's Malaysia, and even JB, I'd suggest you just hop over. Much faster, and you've the backup of 8 free roaming too! :grin:

TyL3r_DuRd3n

Wah piang eh wtf i never heard such a complicated procedures before.

i set up a Cambodian bank account before, the incoming international sms OTP must be captured by the keyboard of the phone and cannot manually key-in. If there is any attempt to key-in the sms, it will abort the procedure and have to start over again. So this type of internet banking set-up can only be set-up on the phone where the sim card is, at the point of set-up.

NovelLobster

yah, then pretty much dependant on wifi.

you are in maintenance/engineering?

No, I work on the platform as customer service assistant. Just doing crowd control and help passengers find the best route only.

lol i'll pass on this question :ROFLMAO:
(do not pass Go, do not collect $200)

Girls like all the macho type mah... means you will spend a lot of money so have to use cheap cheap mobile plan loh ;)

NovelLobster

If it's Malaysia, and even JB, I'd suggest you just hop over. Much faster, and you've the backup of 8 free roaming too! :grin:
No lah, the bank account is in Australia. Coz last time I studied there.

Anyway the bank guy I spoke to last Wed finally called me back! (So also means my line can receive overseas call...) Their system finally accepted my access code, so can log into internet banking already. The sad thing is that inside the account got very very little money. :confused:

Oh but btw, I just checked my eight account page after the call ended... according to the eight account page, IDD is "IDD outgoing mins" leh. So just now my call, there was no deduction of minutes from my IDD. So means incoming overseas call is free??

Boringchap

Anyway the bank guy I spoke to last Wed finally called me back! (So also means my line can receive overseas call...) Their system finally accepted my access code, so can log into internet banking already. The sad thing is that inside the account got very very little money. :confused:

Oh but btw, I just checked my eight account page after the call ended... according to the eight account page, IDD is "IDD outgoing mins" leh. So just now my call, there was no deduction of minutes from my IDD. So means incoming overseas call is free??
Not just eight, most of our sim cards free incoming calls, including overseas ones.

Same goes with land lines

NovelLobster

Wah piang eh wtf i never heard such a complicated procedures before.

i set up a Cambodian bank account before, the incoming international sms OTP must be captured by the keyboard of the phone and cannot manually key-in. If there is any attempt to key-in the sms, it will abort the procedure and have to start over again. So this type of internet banking set-up can only be set-up on the phone where the sim card is, at the point of set-up.
Coz AU mah. AU identity verification and security stuff always very mafan one.

wah… you have Cambodian bank account?? What big business you in? Or is it you launder stuff? :grin:

TyL3r_DuRd3n

So means incoming overseas call is free??
Incoming calls is still incoming calls. Irregardless (okok calm down, it is regardless) overseas or local calls, it is still free. Not fair to be charged for answering an incoming call, from overseas.

Coz AU mah. AU identity verification and security stuff always very mafan one.

wah… you have Cambodian bank account?? What big business you in? Or is it you launder stuff? :grin:
i knew u gg to say i launder money when u hear kampuchea :s13: :s13:
I am in a losing business :grin:

a lot of rich people here :s13:
glad everything worked out. 💪

NovelLobster

So u can receive overseas sms???
The sms comes from a +61? Or the sender displays as ANZ?
Can receive SMS from the AU bank, but I don’t know where the SMS facility is based because the SMS sender ID only shows bank name. When I click on the bank name, it has no info on what number it is.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.