Eight Telecom discussion thread

sgreview

https://www.eight.com.sg/faq-renew-recharge-and-billing

• What happens if I do not renew my plan?
    • If you miss the date to renew your plan, you can renew it the next day. Simply do it on eight account or visit our retailers/ service centre.
    • At your plan expiry, the plan will go into a grace period of 60 days. During which you can receive SMS and notification to recharge. After 60 days, you will continue to receive SMS, however all unused wallet credit will be forfeited.
IIRC the one manual renewal I did was via deduction from wallet.

I've a eight account that had expired from the 88 days free plan. I'd actually topped up via Shopee prior to the expiration, but the plan was not auto-renewed, nevertheless, I read the FAQ that there's a grace period of 60 days, but when I log in to that account, it showed a message "To continue using your service and keep your number please recharge."

My credit inside were also missing! 😵 Anyone faced similar issues before?

Monstruo^

Yes. Insert the 8 SIM first. Then you can check via My Account.
Also check if auto-recharge is already enabled. 🙂
Just got home and tried only.

Inserted the Eight SIM card and then went to the above link to enter my Eight account.

In my account, under Plan Summary, it says “Porting in progress for 12345678 (my number)”.

SMS says “You have successfully activated your line with us. Your plan is good to go until 06/12/24”.

Above message makes me wonder about a noob question below. First time port in number :o :s13:

Does the activation only start once I insert the Eight SIM card ah? If I delay and insert on Monday, does it mean the activation and bill only starts rolling on Monday? :o Because afterall, my sinktel line only ends around 14 or 15 or 16 November.

Hakuna Matata

Just got home and tried only.

Inserted the Eight SIM card and then went to the above link to enter my Eight account.

In my account, under Plan Summary, it says “Porting in progress for 12345678 (my number)”.

SMS says “You have successfully activated your line with us. Your plan is good to go until 06/12/24”.

Above message makes me wonder about a noob question below. First time port in number :o :s13:

Does the activation only start once I insert the Eight SIM card ah? If I delay and insert on Monday, does it mean the activation and bill only starts rolling on Monday? :o Because afterall, my sinktel line only ends around 14 or 15 or 16 November.
The uncle at the retail shop already activated the SIM for you. That's why you can see the SMS. Now you just need to wait for port in to be completed. 🙂

Habrosus

I've a eight account that had expired from the 88 days free plan. I'd actually topped up via Shopee prior to the expiration, but the plan was not auto-renewed, nevertheless, I read the FAQ that there's a grace period of 60 days, but when I log in to that account, it showed a message "To continue using your service and keep your number please recharge."

Does this apply to you?

Can contact helpme@eight.com.sg for clarification if need to.

• If you miss the date to renew your plan, you can renew it the next day. Simply do it on eight account or visit our retailers/ service centre.
    • At your plan expiry, the plan will go into a grace period of 60 days. During which you can receive SMS and notification to recharge. After 60 days, you will continue to receive SMS, however all unused wallet credit will be forfeited.

Habrosus

From $0 plan, Eight wouldn't have known which plan you wanted to continue with, thus there's no auto recharge. You'd have to manually choose a plan $8 or $18.

sibeiTrolled

Because afterall, my sinktel line only ends around 14 or 15 or 16 November.
Unrelated to Eight but my opinon is, why wait to port? Want port just port.
No need to try min max your existing plan already since already intend to break up ;)

Monstruo^

The uncle at the retail shop already activated the SIM for you. That's why you can see the SMS. Now you just need to wait for port in to be completed. 🙂
Oh… I didn’t know sia :o :s13:

Yesterday he told me to wait for current provider to stop working first then ask me to put in Eight SIM card to activate.

Then just now 6+pm I returned home to put the Eight SIM card in, that was when I received the activated SMS at 6+pm. That’s why I thought Activation = means the moment we insert the SIM card :o

Monstruo^

Unrelated to Eight but my opinon is, why wait to port? Want port just port.
No need to try min max your existing plan already since already intend to break up ;)
Actually I don’t mind the 7-9 days of existing plan lah, just wondering how it works lol since this is my first time. :o :s13:

Lol breakup. Over 15 years :o

sibeiTrolled

hat was when I received the activated SMS at 6+pm. That’s why I thought Activation = means the moment we insert the SIM card
Typical port in process
1) Request port over number with new telco
2) Wait for physical sim or scan esim
3) Provide proof that you have recieved the sim card / esim. This is typically the action of activating the sim card by putting into phone and you will be provided with a temporary number after or before hand
4) Porting job typically starts the day after next, though sometimes it can happen the very same night you provide proof of activation.
5) Pray to whatever god you belive in and hope no wierd issues.
6) Wake up next morning to see your fate

NovelLobster

For past 7 days since 30 Oct 2024, my family and I used 155.7GB (up till now, this time) on the $18 data only plan.. (testing SIM card for home internet)

but it’s not representative of normal usage lah, coz my new laptop came then I had to update the OS and download new software.

have to see what happens next week. Hopefully will be less

sgreview

Does this apply to you?

Can contact helpme@eight.com.sg for clarification if need to.

Ya, I emailed them on Mon, no reply till now

lwswilson1988

vsvs24

Actually I don’t mind the 7-9 days of existing plan lah, just wondering how it works lol since this is my first time. :o :s13:

Lol breakup. Over 15 years :o
Can trying calling Singtel to ask if they refund unused days. They used to. Not sure if still do it now.

Hakuna Matata

Oh… I didn’t know sia :o :s13:

Yesterday he told me to wait for current provider to stop working first then ask me to put in Eight SIM card to activate.

Then just now 6+pm I returned home to put the Eight SIM card in, that was when I received the activated SMS at 6+pm. That’s why I thought Activation = means the moment we insert the SIM card :o
Different telco, different SIM activation process. I liked 8 as there is no need to download any app; we could activate the SIM via the website. 🙂

Monstruo^

Typical port in process
1) Request port over number with new telco
2) Wait for physical sim or scan esim
3) Provide proof that you have recieved the sim card / esim. This is typically the action of activating the sim card by putting into phone and you will be provided with a temporary number after or before hand
4) Porting job typically starts the day after next, though sometimes it can happen the very same night you provide proof of activation.
5) Pray to whatever god you belive in and hope no wierd issues.
6) Wake up next morning to see your fate
Wah.. thanks for the detailed explanation. I think the above (1-3) apply to those not going down to retailers? In a way, the retailer uncle helped to do those actions (1-3). And it was fast.

My port in and my mom’s completed when I woke up :) I checked my mom’s Eight account, our billing cycle date is still the same leh :s13: although I slot in mine yesterday, she slot in hers today. :o (doesn’t matter, because I’m just curious about this part)

So I think like what Hakuna said, the moment the retailer uncle did whatever on his end, the card will be activated, and not the moment I slot the SIM card in :o

Haha to number 5, got weird issue de meh.. :o

Monstruo^

Different telco, different SIM activation process. I liked 8 as there is no need to download any app; we could activate the SIM via the website. 🙂
Haha mine ported over riaos!! :) How about yours ah?

Oh I’d prefer an app. But it is ok also lah if I log in through the website. It is just that the OTP part I don’t like lmao.

Monstruo^

6 Nov, 12+pm: Went to retailer uncle to do the necessary stuff. Quite fast.

7 Nov, around 11+pm: I noticed the 4G sign was gone, but sinktel logo still there.

8 Nov, 8+am: Woke up and noticed port over completed :) Got the $8 credits.

Got the Eight Telecom logo on my iPhone, but my mom’s phone ish showing Volte nia, no Eight logo? :o

Rxgn

Haha mine ported over riaos!! :) How about yours ah?

Oh I’d prefer an app. But it is ok also lah if I log in through the website. It is just that the OTP part I don’t like lmao.
there is app on play store, but the interface is 100% same.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.