Eight Telecom discussion thread

amazingone

Yes, I now checked. Auto recharge is turned on. But maybe I haven’t keyed in credit card details, which I will do it.

By the way, if my main balance has $8, how to let them know that I want them to use the $8 in the main balance to deduct for the upcoming payment first? Like use that $8 first then next time deduct from my credit card.

(The $8 in main balance is given by them for free during signup promo in November.)
They will utilise the main balance credit first, then credit card if there is no balance remaining in the main balance wallet.

andriod

As long the auto recharge option is turned on, Eight will automatically renew your plan using your existing credits or from the linked credit card.
Actually I never understood this credit thing, it makes it feels like a prepaid card when they mentioned about credits top up.

tanchoo1

Yes, I now checked. Auto recharge is turned on. But maybe I haven’t keyed in credit card details, which I will do it.

By the way, if my main balance has $8, how to let them know that I want them to use the $8 in the main balance to deduct for the upcoming payment first? Like use that $8 first then next time deduct from my credit card.

(The $8 in main balance is given by them for free during signup promo in November.)
The answers are all in the FAQ, which are meant to be read. They are not just there for fun. Go read please.

https://www.eight.com.sg/faq-renew-recharge-and-billing

Monstruo^

They will utilise the main balance credit first, then credit card if there is no balance remaining in the main balance wallet.
Ohhhh I see. That makes more sense! Haha. I will just add my credit card details first bah just in case.

So am I right to say that this main balance thingy ish like a wallet? Like we can top up this wallet using debit card / credit card, and the company will deduct $$$ from the wallet first. Then if got free $$$ they will add to this wallet.

Something like Grab wallet? (Just that in Grab app, we can choose whether we want to use wallet or credit card.)

I don’t know how exactly Eight works. First month only. First time going to pay. Haha.

tanchoo1

Ohhhh I see. That makes more sense! Haha. I will just add my credit card details first bah just in case.

So am I right to say that this main balance thingy ish like a wallet? Like we can top up this wallet using debit card / credit card, and the company will deduct $$$ from the wallet first. Then if got free $$$ they will add to this wallet.

Something like Grab wallet? (Just that in Grab app, we can choose whether we want to use wallet or credit card.)

I don’t know how exactly Eight works. First month only. First time going to pay. Haha.
Correct, but I don't understand this sentence:

"Then if got free $$$ they will add to this wallet."

$$$ got free one? I also want. :ROFLMAO:

tanchoo1

Because when I received the SMS, it says expiring soon. I thought we need to do some extra steps for renewal when I already set it as auto renewal.
You're right, but all your other questions about whether the deduction is from your wallet or credit card are clearly answered in the FAQ.

Did you actually read the FAQ?

Monstruo^

You're right, but all your other questions about whether the deduction is from your wallet or credit card are clearly answered in the FAQ.

Did you actually read the FAQ?
Yeah, then? I probably missed out that part. But @amazingone korkor has assisted to answer my question. So all good.

Monstruo^

Actually I never understood this credit thing, it makes it feels like a prepaid card when they mentioned about credits top up.
Yeah I thought so too. Is like pay for your next one month first before you can use. That’s fine for me lah. :o

tanchoo1

Yeah I thought so too. Is like pay for your next one month first before you can use. That’s fine for me lah. :o
The advantage of this approach is that you will never get any bill shock.

You may get the shock of no data or minutes, but never any bill shock.

That's a big advantage as it really helps you to control your costs.

amazingone

They offer flexibility if you don't wish to use your credit card for payments, while offering postpaid mobile service.

It's good for those people without credit card as well, with Eight sending text message reminder around 3 days before the end of the current 30days cycle.

Monstruo^

The advantage of this approach is that you will never get any bill shock.

You may get the shock of no data or minutes, but never any bill shock.

That's a big advantage as it really helps you to control your costs.
Yeah it works perfectly for me. We can control it.

Speaking of bill shocks, I’m so happy I left sinktel. Sometimes bo dai bo ji charged me few hundreds of dollars whenever I go overseas even when I didn’t even activate or turn on or use anything. Then need to waste time to appeal back and forth for hours, when I didn’t use anything. I bought overseas SIM card to use still can charge me.

Their plan also charge so much, data only gives two digits. Bloody robbery.

Eight ish the best! :s13: I want to thank the forumer again who intro it to me in EDMW section. :) forgot his nick but thanks!

tanchoo1

Speaking of bill shocks, I’m so happy I left sinktel. Sometimes bo dai bo ji charged me few hundreds of dollars whenever I go overseas even when I didn’t even activate or turn on or use anything. Then need to waste time to appeal back and forth for hours, when I didn’t use anything. I bought overseas SIM card to use still can charge me.

Eight ish the best! :s13: I want to thank the forumer again who intro it to me in EDMW section. :) forgot his nick but thanks!
The MNOs are all con jobs. But many old fogies are still with them because they are so used to signing two year contracts that come with subsidized handsets, even though the actual overall two year cost is much higher.

amazingone

Helped my father to port from Singtel to Eight recently as well, now he won't complain of unnecessary charges incurred. :s13:

Monstruo^

The MNOs are all con jobs. But many old fogies are still with them because they are so used to signing two year contracts that come with subsidized handsets, even though the actual overall two year cost is much higher.
I’m guilty of that but not anymore. My dad still signing but I wanted to advise him to switch and hope don’t recontract sia.

He used to say sign contract cheaper when I was younger and studying. No lor. Got few hundreds dollars of difference (cheaper) + much much more data and call times and those roaming and IDD.

Helped my father to port from Singtel to Eight recently as well, now he won't complain of unnecessary charges incurred. :s13:
Yah sia I also wanted to help my dad to port. Lol. I bet your dad also won’t turn off the 4G/5G when home. Can also happy happy use and watch videos when outside. No need to save.

My dad last time always asked my mom to turn off data when she was outside, like forbid her to use wth, but that time I already helped her sign up GOMO liao. Turn off simi. Now even better lor 228GB, I think my mom go home never even turn off data. My mom told my dad: eh we $8 monthly only okay. 😂

amazingone

I’m guilty of that but not anymore. My dad still signing but I wanted to advise him to switch and hope don’t recontract sia.

He used to say sign contract cheaper when I was younger and studying. No lor. Got few hundreds dollars of difference (cheaper) + much much more data and call times and those roaming and IDD.

Yah sia I also wanted to help my dad to port. Lol. I bet your dad also won’t turn off the 4G/5G when home. Can also happy happy use and watch videos when outside. No need to save.

My dad last time always asked my mom to turn off data when she was outside, like forbid her to use wth, but that time I already helped her sign up GOMO liao. Turn off simi. Now even better lor 228GB, I think my mom go home never even turn off data. My mom told my dad: eh we $8 monthly only okay. 😂
I took some time to convince my dad to port as well, he was quite resistant to switch out from Singtel as he has been with them since the pager days.

The turning point happened when he experienced poor Singtel 4G at the locations he often visit and I told him to try Starhub 4G for just $8/mth. :s13:

Monstruo^

I took some time to convince my dad to port as well, he was quite resistant to switch out from Singtel as he has been with them since the pager days.

The turning point happened when he experienced poor Singtel 4G at the locations he often visit and I told him to try Starhub 4G for just $8/mth. :s13:
Wah hahah. Then after signed up liao and use eight, what did he say? His reaction ish like what?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.