Eight Telecom discussion thread

sadboy

Hi all,

Just wondering if anyone here has recently requested to port over to Eight using an eSIM.

I submitted my request online and received an email with my order number and the temporary number assigned. However, I haven’t received the QR code to activate the eSIM.

I checked the FAQ, but it didn’t provide much information about the eSIM process. I’m not sure if I missed something, or if the QR code will only be sent after the porting is starting.

From what I remember, when I signed up with GOMO and M1 previously, the QR code was sent immediately after placing the order online.

Appreciate any insights—thanks!

kitkat2

Have so far not had problem getting the Eight line to latch either on Maxis (most times) or UMobile (sometimes), but whether it can properly load a page fast enough before I give up, is the question.

strange. i could load speedtest and it ran to completion :LOL:

Since you're in CS, can try shouting "Eight users fall in!"... and see most shoppers coming to you. :s13:

that place is teeming with sinkies. it will be suicidal. better stay low profile :ROFLMAO:

The phone I've my TnG app for payment, has Simba and Hotlink Prepaid. It gives me the option to use either Maxis or Celcom (and oh, sometimes though rarely UMobile). :o

can bid farewell to hotlink liao la. keeping it alive is a hassle. SG roaming cards are cheaper and more convenient. ;)

Airplane mode should work. But if you want to force Malaysia network then have to scan and choose manually.

SG network can go all the way to JB Sentral.

for singtel, it became unusable even before you reach the midpoint of bridge. i think they intentionally tune the power of their towers accurately so as not to extend over the midpoint!

A7997A

Just wondering if anyone here has recently requested to port over to Eight using an eSIM.

I submitted my request online and received an email with my order number and the temporary number assigned. However, I haven’t received the QR code to activate the eSIM.

I checked the FAQ, but it didn’t provide much information about the eSIM process. I’m not sure if I missed something, or if the QR code will only be sent after the porting is starting.

From what I remember, when I signed up with GOMO and M1 previously, the QR code was sent immediately after placing the order online.
IIRC For eight you should receive the esim QR almost immediately.

Elon Jobs

I doubt so, for context, I have been on RedOne for more than a year before I ported to eight. Redone when in Johor Bahru uses a different network, MAXIS HOMESTAY, and the connection was pretty decent, but the transition over at the checkpoint is a bit problematic occasionally, maybe because my iPhone is sticky? Meaning stick to Singapore Redone network, but usually I turn on airplane mode, wait for the custom officer to stamp and return my passport, and turn off airplane mode, my iPhone will be connected before I exit the custom check area.

For eight, before my trip yesterday, no such issues, everything was working fine the past two times in March. So I’m pretty sure eight and/or their partners in Malaysia changed something on their end. I’m still using the same phone and driving the same usual route, so yesterday when I was on EDL and I noticed my Google maps was grey in colour instead of the usual blue and Spotify playlist greyed out. I saw that my phone was connected to MAXIS but no 4G. Then I turned on airplane mode and waited 30 seconds and turned it off and MAXIS 4G came back on.
Just to update on this, went in yesterday and same thing happened on EDL a couple of minutes after exiting custom. iPhone shows connected to MAXIS but no 4G, everything went offline. Turned on airplane mode and then off and it connected to MAXIS 4G. When I’m coming back via ELD same thing, the stretch after Mid valley exit and before reaching custom, went offline again. The rest of the trip in Johor Bahru (Tebrau, Austin, Setia Indah, Johor Jaya area), all working well, no complaints.

gapboy

Hi all,

Appreciate any insights—thanks!
go to the service center and check ... there are a few locations

Habrosus

can bid farewell to hotlink liao la. keeping it alive is a hassle. SG roaming cards are cheaper and more convenient. ;)

for singtel, it became unusable even before you reach the midpoint of bridge. i think they intentionally tune the power of their towers accurately so as not to extend over the midpoint!
Hotlink Pantas is easy, just year-long validity and year-long data pack. :grin:

My old ST line went all the way to the escalators of JB Sentral, simply refused to roam on any of the Malaysia networks. Luckily my data usage has already been set to the Hotlink SIM. Simba gives me a completely refreshing change these days. (y)

BlueRiver

Hotlink Pantas is easy, just year-long validity and year-long data pack. :grin:

My old ST line went all the way to the escalators of JB Sentral, simply refused to roam on any of the Malaysia networks. Luckily my data usage has already been set to the Hotlink SIM. Simba gives me a completely refreshing change these days. (y)

I don't have good roaming experience with ST either. Since it was my main line, all 2FA are linked to that ST number so I need it to receive SMS when needed.

The first time in Malaysia and have difficulties when I need to receive SMS OTP. It could not connect to the networks there even after doing manual network selection. The second time happen in Indonesia where it couldn't connect to any of their roaming partners.

Have checked in My Singtel app and auto roam service is enabled. The only thing that I disabled is for the data roaming as I don't want to accidently use data roaming with ST since I use other SIM card for data. Not sure if that is what causing it to refuse to connect. On the other hand, Simba roaming is flawless in both countries.

Habrosus

I don't have good roaming experience with ST either. Since it was my main line, all 2FA are linked to that ST number so I need it to receive SMS when needed.

The first time in Malaysia and have difficulties when I need to receive SMS OTP. It could not connect to the networks there even after doing manual network selection. The second time happen in Indonesia where it couldn't connect to any of their roaming partners.

Have checked in My Singtel app and auto roam service is enabled. The only thing that I disabled is for the data roaming as I don't want to accidently use data roaming with ST since I use other SIM card for data. Not sure if that is what causing it to refuse to connect. On the other hand, Simba roaming is flawless in both countries.
So I'm not the only one with the problem!

It's nothing to do with a 2nd SIM card in the phone, as I've tried auto-roaming before I got the other SIM card up. For me, it's my main line important for family needing to contact me. Problem persisted a while after they offered to change a new SIM card, so I'd to give up eventually.

By the way, would you believe a ST CSO couldn't tell the difference between auto-roaming and data-roaming? It's a weekday so no excuse about having foreign-based CSO or whatnot, and wasted my whole lunch hour liaising with them, after not connecting despite a few hours of getting into JB. And it's nothing to do with poor Malaysia network that day too, coz I was at a place where the MVOs have their main JB premises.

Then Simba came to the rescue, once again.

Hope Eight Telecom, being an MVNO can match up even close to such good services.

hkchew03

Just to update on this, went in yesterday and same thing happened on EDL a couple of minutes after exiting custom. iPhone shows connected to MAXIS but no 4G, everything went offline. Turned on airplane mode and then off and it connected to MAXIS 4G. When I’m coming back via ELD same thing, the stretch after Mid valley exit and before reaching custom, went offline again. The rest of the trip in Johor Bahru (Tebrau, Austin, Setia Indah, Johor Jaya area), all working well, no complaints.
Was there from 9-14, seems like the fixed the sticky 2G connection earlier. Only had it once when I reached custom on late night of 9th.

subprimelive

Is there any penalty if sign up for a new line under eight for 1 month only and after that terminate the line?

Anyone cancel the line after 1 month?

robertchan

Going for a trip to Germany, Austria and Switzerland. Would like to know how's eight roaming there. Thinking of changing to $11.80 plan which includes 8G international roaming before the trip. Anyone has roaming experience in Europe to share? Reliable? TIA.

loganrunning

Going for a trip to Germany, Austria and Switzerland. Would like to know how's eight roaming there. Thinking of changing to $11.80 plan which includes 8G international roaming before the trip. Anyone has roaming experience in Europe to share? Reliable? TIA.

i posted a few weeks back

HellHunter

I experienced the same issue as you, really is sibei sian....

Before anyone asks me to port out again, I am stuck with the credits inside. So please stop mentioning thing like "port out if you are unhappy/dissatisfied".

Edit: I was already using eight for a period of time before deciding to top up. Unfortunately, the internet latency and speed worsen as the days pass by.
Exactly the same as you..I used Eight for a few months and in JB then all ok so I decided to go all in on the credits promo after that only this happened and I'm stuck with around 7 months worth of credits.

Just to update you, I kept pestering Eight support by email. First they checked my usage and told me my usage in Malaysia was 'healthy' 😅 but I kept pushing telling them it's ok sometimes then a lot of other times becomes totally unusable. In the end they reissued my eSIM and it seems to be ok now. I'm posting from JB, haven't had any periods of unusability... yet.. if you're using eSIM also maybe you can try to get them to reissue and see if it helps you. Good luck 🤞

darkmilk

Exactly the same as you..I used Eight for a few months and in JB then all ok so I decided to go all in on the credits promo after that only this happened and I'm stuck with around 7 months worth of credits.

Just to update you, I kept pestering Eight support by email. First they checked my usage and told me my usage in Malaysia was 'healthy' 😅 but I kept pushing telling them it's ok sometimes then a lot of other times becomes totally unusable. In the end they reissued my eSIM and it seems to be ok now. I'm posting from JB, haven't had any periods of unusability... yet.. if you're using eSIM also maybe you can try to get them to reissue and see if it helps you. Good luck 🤞
you went down to service centre for the re-issuance of eSIM right? :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.