Eight Telecom discussion thread

hereiam7788

previously malaysia only got DNB which provide 5g coverage to all the telco. UM now is building the second 5G network in Malaysia under 5G SA protocol. that mean less congested and double 5g network to cover for DNB blindspot.

dun be too optimistic on this.

bolehland is having much much larger geographical area than lion city.
even lion city until today u cannot get super fast speed and good coverage indoor. not to mention about bolehland.

while it looks good on paper for what they offer, in real life, if u cannot enjoy it, it is also an empty promise.

even 4G has been aroud for so long in bolehland, again there are blind spots.

xiaofan

8 no more $8 for 4g??
Now $11.80 ?

Slow down 4g speed and increase the price. Good move. Eight.

Not really hidden but under the other plans.

https://www.eight.com.sg/

At the top, you have Eight Home Internet, S$18 5G plan, S$14.8 5G plan and S$11.8 4G plan.

At the bottom there are four more options.

Looking for our $8 Double Eight plan?​

BUY NOW

Senior Plan available​

BUY NOW

Data only SIM available​

buy now

Prefer to buy in stores?​

FIND US

A7997A

Not really hidden but under the other plans.

https://www.eight.com.sg/

At the top, you have Eight Home Internet, S$18 5G plan, S$14.8 5G plan and S$11.8 4G plan.

At the bottom there are four more options.

Looking for our $8 Double Eight plan?​

BUY NOW

Senior Plan available​

BUY NOW

Data only SIM available​

buy now

Prefer to buy in stores?​

FIND US
Yup, but you cannot find any details on those plans on the links, only option to sign up.

xiaofan

Yup, but you cannot find any details on those plans on the links, only option to sign up.

Indeed no details from the homepage.
IgrKbUw.png

Once you click the link, the left side is the info of the plan and the right side is the sign-up process. You can also toggle auto-rechage option (this is better than Maxx).

oUrdg2E.png

Synnexo

One main advantage for Eight and SIMBA over CMLink and CUniq is free voice roaming which can be useful.

BTW, CUniq S$14.9 4G plan seems to offer more China data than CMLink S$21 5G plan.

https://www.cuniq.sg/en/plans/listing
  • 35GB Roaming Data in Mainland China
  • 20GB APAC*Roaming Data
This is the exact reason that I went with Eight. The free roaming voice call is ICE as I still have old folks at home.

The 4G network 18GB allowance is good enough for a three weeks trip. I feel the 5G network is consuming much more data when using it.

xiaofan

This is the exact reason that I went with Eight. The free roaming voice call is ICE as I still have old folks at home.

The 4G network 18GB allowance is good enough for a three weeks trip. I feel the 5G network is consuming much more data when using it.

Yes, roaming voice is good to have.

I only see 12 GB roaming data for S$8 4G plan. Do you have 18GB as part of promotion?
10GB APAC Roaming​
2GB Intl Roaming​

The S$11.9 4G plan has more roaming bundle.
26GB APAC Roaming​
8GB Intl Roaming​

For roaming, it may not depend on your Eight plan is 4G plan or 5G plan, but rather depends on the roaming partner of Eight.

On the other hand, you can always set your phone to use 4G instead of 5G if 4G speed is good enough. And in many countries 5G coverage may not be good as 4G so it may be a good idea to use 4G anyway.

yujin86

dun be too optimistic on this.

bolehland is having much much larger geographical area than lion city.
even lion city until today u cannot get super fast speed and good coverage indoor. not to mention about bolehland.

while it looks good on paper for what they offer, in real life, if u cannot enjoy it, it is also an empty promise.

even 4G has been aroud for so long in bolehland, again there are blind spots.
3 big telco for you to choose also got blind spot a? then must be a ulu place liao. :ROFLMAO:

Synnexo

Yes, roaming voice is good to have.

I only see 12 GB roaming data for S$8 4G plan. Do you have 18GB as part of promotion?
10GB APAC Roaming​
2GB Intl Roaming​

The S$11.9 4G plan has more roaming bundle.
26GB APAC Roaming​
8GB Intl Roaming​

For roaming, it may not depend on your Eight plan is 4G plan or 5G plan, but rather depends on the roaming partner of Eight.

On the other hand, you can always set your phone to use 4G instead of 5G if 4G speed is good enough. And in many countries 5G coverage may not be good as 4G so it may be a good idea to use 4G anyway.
Ah, from $8 plan, I upgraded to the $18 plan. The 2GB allowance finished in 3 days, mainly using navigation. After I upgraded to the $18 plan, the 5G appeared, and it burned 1GB in a day with similar usage. While at $8 plan, I’m unable to connect to 5G network.

xiaofan

Ah, from $8 plan, I upgraded to the $18 plan. The 2GB allowance finished in 3 days, mainly using navigation. After I upgraded to the $18 plan, the 5G appeared, and it burned 1GB in a day with similar usage. While at $8 plan, I’m unable to connect to 5G network.

I see. Thanks.

This seems to be in line with some reports here --> Eight 4G plan may not be able to connnect to 5G netweok when roaming whereas Eight 5G has higher changces to connect to 5G network when roaming.

hereiam7788

3 big telco for you to choose also got blind spot a? then must be a ulu place liao. :ROFLMAO:
if u hardly in bolehland and just once in a while roam there u could never know.

and many time it is not no coverage but it is with coverage NO data moving.
this is very common in bolehland.
manually select of course could potentially solve this issue but hassle is there as well.

hereiam7788

JAYSCS

You may like to download the map in advance before proceeding to the locations, it will use much less data.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.