Eight Telecom discussion thread

Habrosus

the first day, first hour, businesses around the shop at Tiong Bahru were flabbergasted by the long queue.
The fruit-seller auntie talked to the Eig8t staff nicely, after talking to them "if they do not want to manage the queue, i just call the Town Council lor".
then the beauty parlor tiongbus kept asking people "what is this ar? where did u hear it from ar? may i know the website?"
Actually the queue brings in business to some of those shops too, as well as blocking them from other passerby. :grin:

While I was queuing, a friend with me got bored and went to buy a chicken pie from the bakery. :s13:

Ya, many people stopped to see and like typical curiosity, asked what's going on. Then some would join the queue. :crazy:

gapboy

Actually the queue brings in business to some of those shops too, as well as blocking them from other passerby. :grin:

While I was queuing, a friend with me got bored and went to buy a chicken pie from the bakery. :s13:

Ya, many people stopped to see and like typical curiosity, asked what's going on. Then some would join the queue. :crazy:
it is common at hawker center stall those with long queues when blocking other people stalls with no queue will get to ask to move away and not block other stalls... oh well ..

erwinrommel

The speed is very similar to giga speed as both are using starhub network.

No complains from me. Just hope their app is ready and I want to upgrade from $0 to $8 per month due to the attractive roaming data.

gapboy

The speed is very similar to giga speed as both are using starhub network.

No complains from me. Just hope their app is ready and I want to upgrade from $0 to $8 per month due to the attractive roaming data.
i wont be surprise if they have an app at all like Vivifi to save cost .. just a bookmark dashboard

superhero41

my patience paid off, finally a collection point very near to my doorstep, collected 2sims in 10mins :o

TPG also very clever to stalk eight collection points, saw 2 poor xmm hired to wear placards & roaming nearby to give out phamplets :s22:

Sent from Poco F5 using EDMWER app!
edmwers will go down to bio the 2 xmm after u said this lol. anyway are u given the option to choose the number for 2 sims? i quite curious if they allow anyone to start subscribing for the paid plans already or not.

superhero41

the first day, first hour, businesses around the shop at Tiong Bahru were flabbergasted by the long queue.
The fruit-seller auntie talked to the Eig8t staff nicely, after talking to them "if they do not want to manage the queue, i just call the Town Council lor".
then the beauty parlor tiongbus kept asking people "what is this ar? where did u hear it from ar? may i know the website?"
lol do biz one so stingy and small hearted meh, cannot see ppl good. u tell the auntie with this mindset ur biz wont bloom one :o

gapboy

edmwers will go down to bio the 2 xmm after u said this lol. anyway are u given the option to choose the number for 2 sims? i quite curious if they allow anyone to start subscribing for the paid plans already or not.
i heard some people paid but no feed back on those paid plans

Devilsire

the one i visited nope, they just pick any random shown (probably to move the queue faster)
but actually when registering, i guess no harm to select a particular one shown on the screen quickly

paid plans available, but currently no app / online to process topup / payment
was told can topup at the hp shop retailers

JAYSCS

i wont be surprise if they have an app at all like Vivifi to save cost .. just a bookmark dashboard
Actually app is never a good idea as it will restrict older phone models to download them. MacDonald app update render 2 of my phones no longer can use the app. Web browser is still a better option, i think ActiveSG+ makes a good decision to transit from app to web.

twosix

Actually app is never a good idea as it will restrict older phone models to download them. MacDonald app update render 2 of my phones no longer can use the app. Web browser is still a better option, i think ActiveSG+ makes a good decision to transit from app to web.
Your old phones lack the security features thats why. Dun complain if your acct got into trouble because of the web based app.

Jurong640

No trust in the edmw taste of xmm. Npnt trust in eight or simbarella better

JAYSCS

Your old phones lack the security features thats why. Dun complain if your acct got into trouble because of the web based app.
Indeed, just have to b careful of the url address. But i still prefer web based apps, i see all the no. of apps in the phone i also headache. Web based only need a browser app, clean and neat, even non-smartphone or laptop can access it. Anyway, any Android/iOS phones are still prone to scam or hijacked, so nothing is safe actually. 😊

gapboy

Indeed, just have to b careful of the url address. But i still prefer web based apps, i see all the no. of apps in the phone i also headache. Web based only need a browser app, clean and neat, even non-smartphone or laptop can access it. Anyway, any Android/iOS phones are still prone to scam or hijacked, so nothing is safe actually. 😊
so it is not an app issue more on user's device outdated

JAYSCS

so it is not an app issue more on user's device outdated
This is an issue for OS smartphone, most other devices do not need replacement for a long time. It seems like a conspiracy for users to have to keep replacing devices. Old devices do have sentimental value.

gapboy

This is an issue for OS smartphone, most other devices do not need replacement for a long time. It seems like a conspiracy for users to have to keep replacing devices. Old devices do have sentimental value.
lolz no manufacturer wants people to keep a mobile phone > 3 years .. how to earn money?

JAYSCS

lolz no manufacturer wants people to keep a mobile phone > 3 years .. how to earn money?
I get you. Isnt all products too from manufacturers' point of view but we dont see replacement for TV, fridge, laptop, hifi, aircon as often. Ironically they are even cheaper than some high-end smartphones somemore.

gapboy

I get you. Isnt all products too from manufacturers' point of view but we dont see replacement for TV, fridge, laptop, hifi, aircon as often. Ironically they are even cheaper than some high-end smartphones somemore.
I am talking about handheld devices ie. mobile .. not home appliances.. anyway no point debating. We got what we need to say ..

twosix

There are reasons why smart devices need to be updated, cos they can be hacked. Even smart fridge or washer can be hacked nowadays. If the device is too old, the hw cannot support the new codes, therefore cannot be updated.

Eg old iphones r no longer updated with new fw after 5 or 6 yrs, but if there is a critical security patch, apple will still try to create one for the old phones if they can.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.