Eight Telecom discussion thread

loganrunning

is ok, thanks. i am okay to pay. no worries lah, $8 only, not $80
no no no, not for me, too troublesome.. thus i am ok to pay $8 for trouble free
is one of my family number to port in, cannot change number

port in means can anyhow choose the temp number :ROFLMAO:

i remember having my dinner around the corner at ubi, same time applying for new super eight to port in. just choose any number, that was easy :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

at least can choose number before proceeding, not like maxx, pay first, then choose number later

~sabaisabai~

not defending eight, but for m1, they already have a call centre operation, so the marginal cost of adding maxx phone support is lower than for eight.

hopefully eight can scale up quickly and meet the expectations they set
but eight belongs to starhub, its their subsidiary. starhub does have a call centre too
i was with starhub before i ported to eight, they have 24hrs call support, i ever called them at 1am cos i paid for mno service.. lols, also got support there to attend to my queries:ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

~sabaisabai~

port in means can anyhow choose the temp number :ROFLMAO:

i remember having my dinner around the corner at ubi, same time applying for new super eight to port in. just choose any number, that was easy :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

at least can choose number before proceeding, not like maxx, pay first, then choose number later
wah, i did not even bother with the number, just port and use back our numbers why bother to pick leh? waste time lah :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

loganrunning

but eight belongs to starhub, its their subsidiary. starhub does have a call centre too
i was with starhub before i ported to eight, they have 24hrs call support, i ever called them at 1am.. lols, also got support there to attend to my queries:ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

it depends on how the corp structure is setup.

maxx appears to be setup as a dept within m1 (hence the "maxx" option at the top of the m1 page).

I am guessing, based on perception, that eight appears to be setup as a subsidiary leasing starhub infra. so they may be run as a "start up" and hence leaner budget (ie shallower pockets). Also, "eight" is not advertised on starhub website, so there appears to be some "arms length" operation.

The thing to watch, is that eight may be an experiment, and if it fails, it is easier to cut (less reputational risk, than if it were a dept. on the other hand, if it were a dept, there would be more corporate pressure to make it work).

lets see how it all pans out. in the meantime, enjoy the ride, the competition, and the goodies :ROFLMAO:

~sabaisabai~

it depends on how the corp structure is setup.

maxx appears to be setup as a dept within m1 (hence the "maxx" option at the top of the m1 page).

I am guessing, based on perception, that eight appears to be setup as a subsidiary leasing starhub infra. so they may be run as a "start up" and hence leaner budget (ie shallower pockets). Also, "eight" is not advertised on starhub website, so there appears to be some "arms length" operation.

The thing to watch, is that eight may be an experiment, and if it fails, it is easier to cut (less reputational risk, than if it were a dept. on the other hand, if it were a dept, there would be more corporate pressure to make it work).

lets see how it all pans out. in the meantime, enjoy the ride, the competition, and the goodies :ROFLMAO:
Oh, when i called up starhub 1633 to ask about my bill before i port over to eight, they also told me that giga and eight belongs to starhub. and my bill will be pro rated

is the same giga also does not advertise in starhub website

perhaps m1 maxx set up is different from starhub subsidiaries

loganrunning

wah, i did not even bother with the number, just port and use back our numbers why bother to pick leh? waste time lah :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

exactly. my comment was in regards to cancelling and re-try (for port in).

new line, worry about lack of "nice numbers"
port in, worry if any problems porting in

we all suffering from first world problems :ROFLMAO:

~sabaisabai~

yeah totally agree! enjoy the ride while it last

i am pretty sure mvno will follow eight with the kind of similar plan.. as currently i believe many have jumpship to eight for now in view of their attractive price and package. lost of market share liao.. lol as such m1 maxx is the first one started to match quite the same with eight.

lets see, meanwhile jiak popcorn now:ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

loganrunning

yeah totally agree! enjoy the ride while it last

i am pretty sure mvno will follow eight with the kind of similar plan.. as currently i believe many have jumpship to eight for now in view of their attractive price and package. lost of market share liao.. lol as such m1 maxx is the first one started to match quite the same with eight.

talk about other telcos..... i was on gomo until recently. when i left, they specifically if i was porting out to eight

suddenly what was denied to existing subscribers ($18 5G plan), is now available. co-incidence? maybe, maybe not

lets see, meanwhile jiak popcorn now:ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

(y)

hoho85

An update to my horrible experience after porting over from Zym to Eight.

For the first few weeks after the porto er was supposedly "successfully", I was not able to receive any OTP via SMS (except from Eight).

On 19 Aug, Went down to Ubi to seek for resolution. The hp shop staff was helpful, but really he could only whatsapp the Eight representative to escalate the issue. I was told someone from Eight will contact me on the issue. But no one did.

I sent multiple emails to portin@eight.com.sg. No one replied. Even though i knew they are offering cheap plans, I don't think this was the level of service I would get. They obviously weren't ready to provide service, if any at all.

Apparently, after i performed a few tests, it seemed like i could not receive anything from Singtel lines, be it call or sms. And the fact that Zym is riding on Singtel infrastructure. I am wondering if anyone knows this is an indication of a failed/incomplete port in? Who can i get to help with this problem? I am not even sure now if Eight or Zym was the responsible party for this failure to happen.

Anyone with more insights could advise on this? I would greatly appreciate. Or has anyone ported over from Zym and had same or no issues?

a4973

you ported in successfully? can you see 2 cycles of plan in eight apps?
I signed up a new line , didn't port in my giga as renewal of giga is on 4 September too close for comfort. Waiting for sim delivery. When 88 free days up if the 8 service no big issues then I will port in.

~sabaisabai~

I signed up a new line , didn't port in my giga as renewal of giga is on 4 September too close for comfort. Waiting for sim delivery. When 88 free days up if the 8 service no big issues then I will port in.
good idea. can try first before you decide to port over
if giga you are comfortable with and no problem in paying the price, then stay with them

~sabaisabai~

I gian the 8 GB APAC roaming in 8
but free line don't have 8gb roaming, only 1gb international roaming

m1 maxx got 9gb leh.. and they got phone support:LOL:

well actually i was attracted to 8gb roaming, that is why i port from starhub to eight
although very comfortable with starhub and paying mno price

Habrosus

For the first few weeks after the porto er was supposedly "successfully", I was not able to receive any OTP via SMS (except from Eight).

On 19 Aug, Went down to Ubi to seek for resolution. The hp shop staff was helpful, but really he could only whatsapp the Eight representative to escalate the issue. I was told someone from Eight will contact me on the issue. But no one did.

I sent multiple emails to portin@eight.com.sg. No one replied. Even though i knew they are offering cheap plans, I don't think this was the level of service I would get. They obviously weren't ready to provide service, if any at all.

Apparently, after i performed a few tests, it seemed like i could not receive anything from Singtel lines, be it call or sms. And the fact that Zym is riding on Singtel infrastructure. I am wondering if anyone knows this is an indication of a failed/incomplete port in? Who can i get to help with this problem? I am not even sure now if Eight or Zym was the responsible party for this failure to happen.

Anyone with more insights could advise on this? I would greatly appreciate. Or has anyone ported over from Zym and had same or no issues?
Since you said it's already few weeks after port-in, send your email to helpme@eight.com.sg instead.

Title your email something like Ubi Service Center Visit On ddmmyyyy For Help, Still Waiting for Eight's Update. Then write exactly what happened with all required info. Don't assume they'll know this or that, and leave out any relevant information.

Just my advice, not sure if will work.

Apex

Sorry if this is a repeated question.

Based on the FAQ, it seems that the 288 minutes of idd calls allow me to call back to Singapore when I’m roaming.

Does that mean the 288 minutes cover both calls back to Singapore and calls within the destination where I’m roaming?”

redhouse

lols.. its logic mah, is my fault that i forgot to enter, i myself to blame leh
so just go with it lor, like you said, port in and port out again to sign with the code but to me, is not worth the trouble. if give 30 days free, it is good enough for me liao, means i need not to pay for one month

this line is for my family one, simba to eight. not my own line. for me i chose $8 cos i need the 8gb roaming data. pretty smooth port in from simba although i did it via online.. heng ah:ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:
I'm thinking the same, at least have 1 month free not bad already la. Plus their $8 plan considered very good value, have roaming, more data and cheaper compared to my previous plan. Not forgetting also got their $8 top-up get $8 promo, and top-up using Shopee also got discount. At first was sucking thumb, but really missing $16 for the 2 months is not that big an amount, consider as supporting them, porting in and signing up all very smooth and quick.

a4973

but free line don't have 8gb roaming, only 1gb international roaming

m1 maxx got 9gb leh.. and they got phone support:LOL:

well actually i was attracted to 8gb roaming, that is why i port from starhub to eight
although very comfortable with starhub and paying mno price
Yes I know free line is 1 gb roaming however am anticipating porting over when near ending of the 88 days free period.

dredd

I sent multiple emails to
. No one replied. Even though i knew they are offering cheap plans, I don't think this was the level of service I would get. They obviously weren't ready to provide service, if any at all.

me

unable to receive any OTPs

sending sms out shows the temporary number

port over was done 2 weeks ago

i have also made a trip down to ubi last Saturday to explain the situation to the boss there

he sent Whatsapp to them but no one has contacted me so far....

sian

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.