Eight Telecom discussion thread

kelvinti

It's the year 2024, why are you still using 3G?
No. ZYM's 3G decommission process caused a lot of unintended 4G/5G line loas for many of its subscribers. Totally no network at all for many days up to 12 days in some cases.

I was one of those unlucky one.:(

That was the actual scenario.

tanchoo1

No. ZYM's 3G decommission process caused a lot of unintended 4G/5G line loas for many of its subscribers. Totally no network at all for many days up to 12 days in some cases.

I was one of those unlucky one.:(

That was the actual scenario.
One of the many reasons I never use such MVNOs. 🤣🤣🤣

Jurong640

4th day of porting over from Zym to eight

Zym is far more responsive

Eight i feel is just slightly better than M1 . Network feels laggy at times . Gaming also not seamless. Keep having occasional network signal.

Paid $8 for eight so my 2nd month is free. Haven't tried the 8gb roaming .
Agreed. Zym is far more responsive and much MUCH faster than eight.

But well for the price paid $8, I don't expect that much.

$8 can't even pay eight staff lunch nasi padang

sango65

Jiat liao bee technical team... 😒

They also refused to compensate slapping my face with its T&C.. 😒

Now, I take revenge. Port out... 🤭
you should email IMDA everyday about zym's lousiness, ask zym to wake up their idea

Jurong640

Jiat liao bee technical team... 😒

They also refused to compensate slapping my face with its T&C.. 😒

Now, I take revenge. Port out... 🤭
I think mvnos now doesn't care that much, port out lor, since everyone is doing that.

Unlike the main telco, they care about churn rate, reduce churn. Now no Contract, most telcos focus on new subscribers, good for their annual report.

~sabaisabai~

different priority of network too
and zym is $10? without all the add on right?

yeah, less expectation, will have less disappointment 🤭

~sabaisabai~

sounds like something is blocking Indonesia SMS from reaching Eight. I wonder if this is also seen on Starhub numbers too (since Eight is using Starhub infra).
not sure, although i was with starhub
i don't have international sms..
i got a feel that its blocking the indo sms, cos simba network able to receive the sms

loganrunning

not sure, although i was with starhub
i don't have international sms..
i got a feel that its blocking the indo sms, cos simba network able to receive the sms

yah, step by step tracing to determine where the blocking is occurring whether it is indo telco not sending out, or eight/sh somehow selectively blocking indo telco (or other telcos, which have not been tested yet). assume they know how to trace each step in the process

gapboy

wah u dun sabo @gapboy
wait his money trucks come lesser. :grin:

jk jk jk
peace peace peace
He is the famous Mr potter ... is ok i am already used to see him porting many places past 6mth -1 year ++:p Money ?I wish have money from hwz :cool:

So long the FB spies dont disturb me can already ..

gapboy

you cannot say that here.. you get whack by fanboys :LOL:
The staff eat economy rice la ... Malay food costs more 🤑

kidding ... peace ✌️

kelvinti

Okay. Back to 8.

My last mobile on StarHub for a long period of time was about some 5 or 6 years ago before MVNOs started or at its begening years.

Let's hope it is much better now.

I was with StarHub telco itself for almost 15 years before that. She was my "mummy" so to speak!

TyL3r_DuRd3n

you cannot say that here.. you get whack by fanboys :LOL:
The staff eat economy rice la ... Malay food costs more 🤑

kidding ... peace ✌️
No lah. Will kena whack if never drink Tea n Coffee. :grin:
other than that all will poke fun at each other

Jurong640

Okay. Back to 8.

My last mobile on StarHub for a long period of time was about some 5 or 6 years ago before MVNOs started or at its begening years.

I was with StarHub telco itself for almost 15 years before that. She was my "mummy" so to speak!
So you grew up with starhub, left home after your uni and go overseas to work and now go back to your old home.

~sabaisabai~

Okay. Back to 8.

that should be the way
keep this thread for 8 discussion:p

yes, same here, i was with starhub for many years before i port to eight..and i got ppl commented "orang kaya spotted" 🤭

that was why when i saw eight launched and with this price plan, i faster port, mai tu liao :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

@loganrunning

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.