Eight Telecom discussion thread

TyL3r_DuRd3n

Okay. Back to 8.

My last mobile on StarHub for a long period of time was about some 5 or 6 years ago before MVNOs started or at its begening years.

Let's hope it is much better now.

I was with StarHub telco itself for almost 15 years before that. She was my "mummy" so to speak!
When I first used smartphone, it is already with Singtel. Experience sucks at the start (circa Y2010, 3G network, 12GB allowance). Ex-GF forced me to use Singtel coz she could me help sign CIS which is cheaper.
Then 4G time, the service gradually gets better but data allowance only 3GB? :s13:
Singtel (11 years) -> MR (2years?) -> GOMO (1yr+) -> Zym (1 week) ->GOMO (few months) -> Eight (next 14 months :s13:)

Pre-smartphone was with starhub. I remembered they were the first telco to give free incoming call and loads of SMS (can confirm for the sms?)

VTEC3100

that should be the way
keep this thread for 8 discussion:p

yes, same here, i was with starhub for many years before i port to eight..and i got ppl commented "orang kaya spotted" 🤭

that was why when i saw eight launched and with this price plan, i faster port, mai tu liao :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

@loganrunning

how is 8, in term of mobile coverage? is it stable?

MrRayded

These are latest email reply I received from them

Dear Customer,
Our technical team is contacting international routing with Telkomsel Indonesia on this one. We will get back to you. Sincere apologies for the delay.
Regards,
Team eight - V

a few days after i lodged the complaint via Ubi boss, they sent me an iMessage, thinking they were sending via SMS. 🤭

Okay. We’ll try to SMS test by SIGOS. Please wait
wow! i didnt receive any sms when i was in China too, not sure whether its just an indonesia issue?

eddy0505

Zym is far more responsive

Eight i feel is just slightly better than M1 . Network feels laggy at times . Gaming also not seamless. Keep having occasional network signal.

Paid $8 for eight so my 2nd month is free. Haven't tried the 8gb roaming .

slightly better compared with M1 4G or 5G?

eddy0505

i think eight really got some OTP sms issue- was calling UOB hotline, the OTP only came in after my call ended (like 3 mins delay). Hope they can sort out their OTP backend

kelvinti

i think eight really got some OTP sms issue- was calling UOB hotline, the OTP only came in after my call ended (like 3 mins delay). Hope they can sort out their OTP backend
Could it be an UOB sms application/server issue instead?

My company does sent out sms and OTP and sometimes the sms application / server can be in slow-mo mood.. 🤭

eddy0505

Could it be an UOB sms application issue instead?
not sure this is the 1st time I'm having OTP delays (previously M1, Starhub, Vivifi, GOMO), dunno if got linkage with some of the users here overseas SMS cannot receive.

TyL3r_DuRd3n

not sure this is the 1st time I'm having OTP delays (previously M1, Starhub, Vivifi, GOMO), dunno if got linkage with some of the users here overseas SMS cannot receive.
Local sms OTP and normal sms i can receive, no problem.
Non +65 jitao cannot receive.

Habrosus

Maybe cos I’m on the $0 trial plan, I never got the option to opt-in or out
Have lah, I opted not to receive.

Otherwise log in to your account, the options are under Settings.

#eightpleasenoticeme

kelvinti

I only opted to block international calls upon signing up and not blocking the international sms.

AmIUpz

Thanks for sharing. Means can collect and wait till near current billing cycle ends. I'm planning to do that as well. Good to know it's possible! :)
In case no one shared, according to their faq:

"The activation code is valid for 14 business days from the date of order submission. Please activate your SIM card before that. We look forward to having you on our network!"

For me I activated it abit earlier than 14 business days since I used up my fast data already. Also scared if I change just 2-3 days before it might clash with payment

amazingone

qTfZiYV.png

Eight 5G now at Yishun :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.