Eight Telecom discussion thread

Habrosus

If I register by today, can port in by Monday for physical sim? How long did it take for you guys?
Do you plan to buy from retailer or online?

Physical SIM or eSIM?

If physical SIM and register online, you still got to wait for the SIM card to arrive before you can activate for port-in process.

JivBunny

Friend is using 8 and stuck in Vietnam due to typhoon. Tried calling SQ using the IDD call but cannot call out.

think there’s some issue with the IDD calling

Habrosus

Friend went online to register for port-in yesterday.

Going to collect SIM card at retailer today.

So is this in or out of the promo period?

Asking for friend. :grin:

(Ya, I might get killed today coz I rushed him into it.) :s13:
Friend went to collect SIM card from the retailer in Tiong Bahru (outside MRT station).

Very fast, very efficient and friendly lady. Said should be able to get the $8 credit since activation done today. (Fingers crossed since it's a Maxx line that's left with Base Plan.)

Now to let the port -in process to take its course. 🤞🤞

dexboi

Signed up online via SingPass Saturday morning.
Went down Ubi to collect physical SIM card in the same afternoon.
Just show email can liao. The ah beng don't bother to check NRIC.

Now waiting for Port-in to start...... To be updated.

Habrosus

Friend went online to register for port-in yesterday.

Going to collect SIM card at retailer today.

So is this in or out of the promo period?

Asking for friend. :grin:

(Ya, I might get killed today coz I rushed him into it.) :s13:

Friend went to collect SIM card from the retailer in Tiong Bahru (outside MRT station).

Very fast, very efficient and friendly lady. Said should be able to get the $8 credit since activation done today. (Fingers crossed since it's a Maxx line that's left with Base Plan.)

Now to let the port -in process to take its course. 🤞🤞
Registered online with SingPass on Friday.

Collected SIM card from friendly Tiong Bahru retailer on Saturday afternoon.

Port-in completed. 👍

Logged in to account using new number. 👍

Swee Swee! Heng Ah Huat! :grin:

toopidpaka

I’m going to die…. 😭 my father feels very enticed by the prospect of paying only $8 per month for internet and wants to terminate the home broadband to use the $8 plan..!!
This is my experience:
Local Data 297.63 GB of 588 GB
Malaysia Roaming Data 33.55 GB of 58 GB
APAC Roaming Data 12 GB of 12 GB
Intl Roaming Data 6 GB of 6 GB
Current Cycle Expiry: 08/11/2024

Started on 9th Oct. time now is 4am 27 Oct.
Router is Deco x50 5G
1. Streaming YouTube videos using Smartube on Android TV box at 720p 30fps 1-2 Mbps (at least 9 hours daily) or mixed with movie apps which consumes around 1 GB per hour and football on weekends (unable to select video resolution, mostly HD)
2. Another smarttube stream on another TV at 720p 30fps 1-2Mbps (at least 3 hours daily)
3. 2 laptops did large windows 11 updates
4. 12 things linked to Google (TV, lights, aircon etc) uses minimal data
2 nights in JB, so no local data used

In short, 17days 290GB.
720p might not be good enough on larger TVs without upscaling.
Have to sacrifice 4K resolution movies
Some movie apps pre-buffers, so if I rewind, it pre-buffers again and consume extra data.

sango65

Friend is using 8 and stuck in Vietnam due to typhoon. Tried calling SQ using the IDD call but cannot call out.

think there’s some issue with the IDD calling
https://www.eight.com.sg/faq-network-roaming-and-idd

eight-IDD-call.jpg

IDD call is when you are in Spore and call overseas.

When in Vietnam and call back to Spore SQ hotline, is considered "roaming call back to Spore". Currently eight does not support roaming call from Vietnam to Spore.

eight-VOLTE-call.jpg

Heard other users able to use eight for roaming call from Thailand and Malaysia back to Spore.

Think need to have a spare Simba line so that in overseas, you can use the Simba app to call back to Spore for any emergencies etc

twosix

https://www.eight.com.sg/faq-network-roaming-and-idd

eight-IDD-call.jpg

IDD call is when you are in Spore and call overseas.

When in Vietnam and call back to Spore SQ hotline, is considered "roaming call back to Spore". Currently eight does not support roaming call from Vietnam to Spore.

eight-VOLTE-call.jpg

Heard other users able to use eight for roaming call from Thailand and Malaysia back to Spore.

Think need to have a spare Simba line so that in overseas, you can use the Simba app to call back to Spore for any emergencies etc
how about in-ctry calling, eg. in vietnam call vietnam #?

sango65

how about in-ctry calling, eg. in vietnam call vietnam #?
dont think is possible, cos in vietnam - the line is already roaming and not under eight network in Spore, so IDD call not possible

if really want to call vietnam #, have to use whatsapp call

sallybee

My eight sim card is also in old phone, but i use normal router, the connection with USB tethering. (router must support) because phone hotspot range is super short only
what does it mean by "connection with usb tethering"? means you bought a usb sim card stick to house the sim card and plug it into the back of a router capable of reading the sim card usb is it?

then the router basically provides internet via the sim card?

twosix

dont think is possible, cos in vietnam - the line is already roaming and not under eight network in Spore, so IDD call not possible

if really want to call vietnam #, have to use whatsapp call
Looks like simba is more reasonable with in-ctry calls.

https://support.simba.sg/hc/en-us/articles/15792995970585-What-is-SIMBA-IDD

What is SIMBA IDD?​

SIMBA IDD offers seamless connectivity in and out of Singapore. If you are traveling out of Singapore, you can continue to make calls to the local number or other destination without incurring additional roaming charges. Don’t forget to download the SIMBA Voice App before leaving Singapore.

1. If your SIMBA plan has IDD minutes or you have SIMBA Super IDD Pack
  • When you are calling phone numbers in the 21 countries, the outgoing minutes will be deducted from the IDD entitlement in your plan.
  • If you have used up your IDD minutes, you can either purchase a Super IDD Pack or simply recharge your SIMBA wallet to call.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.