Eight Telecom discussion thread

firesong

I've shared in earlier post few pages ago.

It's the 2 retailers at Boon Lay Shopping Centre.

Avoid them at all cost! I asked them why $10, 1 of the ah lian shop refuse to answer. The other bengz shop say is port in fee admin fee. Thrash. They want to earn $2 kopi money. I wonder how many aunties and uncles has gave in the temptation and paid $10.

I have already reported this 2 retailers to eight.
Let's be fair - businesses also have to earn to stay in business. They have overheads to pay - rental, utilities, staff salaries.

Customers can choose not to pay those and walk away. Just sign up online. But understanding the businessmen's position is also helpful. ;)

Yes, $2 is 25% of $8 and it sounds like a lot when we put it that way, but $2 can barely pay for a cup of iced coffee these days at many coffeeshops. :(

Jurong640

Let's be fair - businesses also have to earn to stay in business. They have overheads to pay - rental, utilities, staff salaries.

Customers can choose not to pay those and walk away. Just sign up online. But understanding the businessmen's position is also helpful. ;)

Yes, $2 is 25% of $8 and it sounds like a lot when we put it that way, but $2 can barely pay for a cup of iced coffee these days at many coffeeshops. :(
It's okay for them to be upfront and say what's the $2.

One of the ah lianz retailer there just do not want to disclose why, she just its $10.

The other bengz shop at least upfront said $2 is "port in fee"

On business pov, yes I know, I also want earn, but at least let people know what's that for. Like m1 or singtel, they can charge it and say convenience or admin fee.

Gian_Png

the shopee top up for main balance kena neffed liao? cannot use the lunchtime cashback voucher?

Byfrost

No need to be fair to unethical business practices. Should be reported.

Byfrost

One of the ah lianz retailer there just do not want to disclose why, she just its $10.

On business pov, yes I know, I also want earn, but at least let people know what's that for. Like m1 or singtel, they can charge it and say convenience or admin fee.

There's a difference. M1 and Singtel actually has disclosures, that fees will be charged for whatever services customers asked for, and the money goes to Singtel or M1. These fees are added into your monthly bill.

These $2 charges are from individual shops, money goes to individual pockets. Not to eight. I am unable to see the $2 port in fee in eight's website.

Habrosus

Eight has already replied to a similar post in FB. User was asked to write in with relevant information so they can look into it. Apparently these Eight retailers shouldn't be charging extra.

What relevant information? Of course your full registered name, the Eight number, the retailer's shop name, the date it happened, maybe the time would be useful, the mode of payment (eg. PayNow), and whatever else you can think of.

the shopee top up for main balance kena neffed liao? cannot use the lunchtime cashback voucher?
I. Just. Used. Earlier. :razz:

Maybe you're too late for today's slot... 🤷‍♂️

Gian_Png

Eight has already replied to a similar post in FB. User was asked to write in with relevant information so they can look into it. Apparently these Eight retailers shouldn't be charging extra.

What relevant information? Of course your full registered name, the Eight number, the retailer's shop name, the date it happened, maybe the time would be useful, the mode of payment (eg. PayNow), and whatever else you can think of.

ok i try tml then. but the voucher was like 91% used only

kashix

If I sign up today, how's the billing cycle like? Abit confused, or sign on 1st Nov better?

loganrunning

There're actually 6 in the list including the 2 service centres.

One retailer I went to, to get an M1 Maxx plan... I notice a little hesitation and also asked for confirmation if it's not Simba I wanted to port to. I guess they've their own "preferences"...

my guess is the commission they are paid, which influences their recommendations.
same thing for various service providers like doctors, insurance agents etc.

i must be lucky, the shop i ported to simba $10 plan, had no hesitation, then gave me a "huh?" look when i asked to confirm that there were no other charges, replied with "only the $10 wat".

s330063

I went to a retailer to port over recently.

He said that because I was on Vivifi, I cannot port over directly. Had to port over to Maxx first. Going back in about 3 weeks to port over to Eight from Maxx

I just ported over from vivifi 2 days back. Vivifi is singtel, Eight is starhub, don't see why cannot

Byfrost

my guess is the commission they are paid, which influences their recommendations.
same thing for various service providers like doctors, insurance agents etc.

i must be lucky, the shop i ported to simba $10 plan, had no hesitation, then gave me a "huh?" look when i asked to confirm that there were no other charges, replied with "only the $10 wat".

Good to support such ethical business.

Habrosus

So I won't lugi even if I sign now right? I'm abit confused on the billing cycle stuff. Paiseh.
Lugi what? :s11:

I don't normally keep track of such details, so port or sign up whenever I feel like. You might get a better idea from here:

https://www.eight.com.sg/faq-renew-recharge-and-billing

• When will I be billed for my mobile plan?
    Just login to your eight account to see your receipt and cycle. Of course you can! Just log in to eight account and enter your card details; the auto-recurring will start. No more worries, your plan will continue!
    The billing cycle is 30 days. If you sign up and the SIM card is activated on 1st July , the first plan will be billed directly on 1st July. Subsequently, the payment will kick in after 30 days.

sango65

So I won't lugi even if I sign now right? I'm abit confused on the billing cycle stuff. Paiseh.
what's the context? or you want the bill cycle to renew every 1st day of each mth?

take note that some mths have 31 days, so if you really want the cycle to renew every 1st day of the mth, for those mth with 31 days, dont renew on 31st and only renew on 1st. Then that 31st day no data and call.

firesong

No need to be fair to unethical business practices. Should be reported.
You could also vote with your wallet.

So if the shop doesn't survive because of its own practices, its the proprietor's fault.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.