Eight Telecom discussion thread

vsvs24

Thanks for your advice!

I went to buy Deco X20 mesh units coz I won’t be able to place the router in the middle of the house.

Curious.

How much savings is there given that you need to buy hardware to use $18 sim card plan ?

NovelLobster

Curious.

How much savings is there given that you need to buy hardware to use $18 sim card plan ?
Oh my father is very insistent about using eight to replace Singtel broadband… so he’s the one paying for all the hardware.

I tried to tell him just switch to Whizcomm but he keep telling me his friend already able to switch to using eight for broadband so… 🤷‍♂️

whizcomm 24 months: $24 x 24 + $212.85 WiFi 6 mesh 2 units + $54.50 installation fee + $61.04 Netlink trust = $904.39

eight $18: $18 x 24 + $411.86 WiFi 6 router + 2 mesh units hardware = $843.86

eight $8: $8 x24 + $411.86 WiFi 6 router + 2 mesh units hardware = $603.86

my father’s comparison is with the current Singtel broadband: $41 x 24 =$984.00

hardware: Deco X50-4G router + Deco X20 Mesh 2 units

The 4G router he chose one. I think his friend recommended him. Plus, someone in this thread also using Deco router successfully with eight SIM card, so I decided to stick with it. Anyway if the plan doesn’t work out, I will reuse the router for Whizcomm

currently with Singtel broadband router in HDB maisonette (3 bedrooms upstairs, 1 bedroom downstairs), my room (upstairs) is a dead zone

I plan to track data usage for 2-3 months on $18 plan then see if can downgrade to $8 plan

skazzz

Oh my father is very insistent about using eight to replace Singtel broadband… so he’s the one paying for all the hardware.

I tried to tell him just switch to Whizcomm but he keep telling me his friend already able to switch to using eight for broadband so… 🤷‍♂️

whizcomm 24 months: $24 x 24 + $35 wireless router + $54.50 installation fee + $61.04 Netlink trust = $726.54

eight $18: $18 x 24 + $411.86 hardware = $843.86

eight $8: $8 x24 + $411.86 hardware = $603.86

currently with Singtel router in HDB maisonette (4 bedrooms), my room is a dead zone

before costing
does sim card network able to achieve fibre speed or simply say normal internet?
example even with adsl versus 500mbps fibre, the difference might not even be present

but if with data sim, u cant even do basic internet
whats the point of any saving?

if that dosesnt work, his hardware cost already down the drain, otherwise always its the word, learn the hard way

bwaysaikryptonite

After you have activated your SIM card, pls proceed to Shopee to top up with coins voucher.

we are planning to meet here on Christmas 2025! Join us?

ever wondered why Shopee cheaper ah ?

Tat seller is basically using his cc to pay for other pple bill ? Then earn cc rebates or what ish the catch ? Since can also use Shopee coins to offset like 20-30 cents when u topup through seller on Shopee platform

NovelLobster

ever wondered why Shopee cheaper ah ?

Tat seller is basically using his cc to pay for other pple bill ? Then earn cc rebates or what ish the catch ? Since can also use Shopee coins to offset like 20-30 cents when u topup through seller on Shopee platform
Maybe money laundering loh… 😝

Last time one of my uni friends used to tell me The Coffee Conneissour is for money laundering.. 😝

I ever saw one seller’s screenshot after he topped up for me. It’s like a web portal on desktop and on that page it states how many dollars worth of credits he has left in his account.

I believe the offset from coins is paid by Shopee platform and not seller, because doesn’t make sense for seller

NovelLobster

before costing
does sim card network able to achieve fibre speed or simply say normal internet?
example even with adsl versus 500mbps fibre, the difference might not even be present

but if with data sim, u cant even do basic internet
whats the point of any saving?

if that dosesnt work, his hardware cost already down the drain, otherwise always its the word, learn the hard way
My real world test is whether my mother complains her stock market video live streaming classes are not able to load properly. 😝

and whether there is enough data for her to continue her video classes, since these run around 7 days a week, multiple times a day.

(my mother doesn’t know anything about tech. She just uses then will complain if it fails. 😔)

Other than that use case, both parents will use YouTube regularly at default settings.

then I will also use Udemy, do software updates on my laptop and backup my iCloud from time to time.

we don’t stream movies or cable TV stuff at home

I will reuse the hardware for normal broadband like Whizcomm if the experiment fails. Coz nowadays I see all the broadband plans don’t come with routers

kashix

whizcomm 24 months: $24 x 24 + $212.85 WiFi 6 mesh 2 units + $54.50 installation fee + $61.04 Netlink trust = $904.39

The 4G router he chose one. I think his friend recommended him. Plus, someone in this thread also using Deco router successfully with eight SIM card, so I decided to stick with it. Anyway if the plan doesn’t work out, I will reuse the router for Whizcomm

currently with Singtel broadband router in HDB maisonette (3 bedrooms upstairs, 1 bedroom downstairs), my room (upstairs) is a dead zone

I plan to track data usage for 2-3 months on $18 plan then see if can downgrade to $8 plan
Not worth the savings sia, imo. I wish you all the best, do report back on your results and findings.

skazzz

S
Same here. Fibre is very stable, can't say the same for 4G/5G which is erractic at best.

that the issue with fixed network versus coverage network
that why using 500mbps fibre with almost non existent downtime i dont change the isp nor the plan

twosix

that the issue with fixed network versus coverage network
that why using 500mbps fibre with almost non existent downtime i dont change the isp nor the plan
Yah, 500mbps is good enough for a family of 4 to stream uhd videos.

twosix

My real world test is whether my mother complains her stock market video live streaming classes are not able to load properly. 😝

and whether there is enough data for her to continue her video classes, since these run around 7 days a week, multiple times a day.

(my mother doesn’t know anything about tech. She just uses then will complain if it fails. 😔)

Other than that use case, both parents will use YouTube regularly at default settings.

then I will also use Udemy, do software updates on my laptop and backup my iCloud from time to time.

we don’t stream movies or cable TV stuff at home

I will reuse the hardware for normal broadband like Whizcomm if the experiment fails. Coz nowadays I see all the broadband plans don’t come with routers
My recent 2 asus routers all complementary from M1 too. The 1st one the ax88u was from 2019. The latest one the ax6000 is this year. Dun wanna spend the money as the routers r getting so expensive nowadays.

NovelLobster

I chose by post for delivery for my data only SIM card…

but if I want to collect earlier, can I go Ubi? Or is it manually collect SIM card won’t apply for data only sim?

Kingnoking123

Guys using mobile wifi hotspot speed is faster than sim wifi router
Sim insert mobile wifi router + router support wifi ap aka wifi repeater will work that's all cheap and fast

hkchew03

The saving isn't worth it, you ain't getting anywhere near the speed of a even a 1Gbps, most likely only 10% of that. Higher latency and less stability as well. You also lose redundancy if all your SIM are from the same carrier, at least fiber down still can use mobile.

If really want go all out, might as well just hotspot from his handphone to all other devices.

gapboy

The saving isn't worth it, you ain't getting anywhere near the speed of a even a 1Gbps, most likely only 10% of that. Higher latency and less stability as well. You also lose redundancy if all your SIM are from the same carrier, at least fiber down still can use mobile.

If really want go all out, might as well just hotspot from his handphone to all other devices.
I agree, sometimes it is not worth saving money for something required in daily life, unless people are less fortunate and cant afford broadband.
S
Same here. Fibre is very stable, can't say the same for 4G/5G which is erractic at best.
+1

hkchew03

I agree, sometimes it is not worth saving money for something required in daily life.

+1
Yes, Singapore broadband is already one of the cheapest in the world, under $30 for 1Gbps, in some part of the world, they might have to pay $500 for the same 1Gbps. Even in Malaysia, 1Gbps is about 250RM including a router.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.