Eight Telecom discussion thread

xiaofan

$8 i really will not feel pain at all seriously speaking. :p

You rich lor :ROFLMAO:

Haha, so many discussions about "small" money recently.

We have long discussions about Singtel S$15.28 per month vs Singtel MVNO S$7.50 per month (with the current promotions, 6 months free for port-in if you finish 12 months, 3 month free for new sign-up if you finish 6 months).
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/official-singtel-sim-only-plans.6588991/page-107 (more pages earlier).

Yeah agree

Paying double at $15 seems to get 3 tangible benefits
1. real human cso / faster or not depends
2. esim for watch option
3. Vowifi (I'm pretty sure no one desperately needs this to pay double the price, lmao)

The difference is S$7.78 per month or S$93.36 per year.

The economy outlook is for sure not good...

But then we certainly live in parallel world.

1) COE price for smaller cars is at S$122,000, and larger car COE is at S$131,889 in the latest tender.
https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...r-three-successive-highs-cat-b-rate-falls-6-5

2) 2 condo projects in Queenstown and Clementi see strong sales over launch weekend
https://www.straitstimes.com/busine...clementi-see-strong-sales-over-launch-weekend

JAYSCS

We have long discussions about Singtel S$15.28 per month vs Singtel MVNO S$7.50 per month (with the current promotions, 6 months free for port-in if you finish 12 months, 3 month free for new sign-up if you finish 6 months).
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/official-singtel-sim-only-plans.6588991/page-107 (more pages earlier).

1) COE price for smaller cars is at S$122,000, and larger car COE is at S$131,889 in the latest tender.
https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...r-three-successive-highs-cat-b-rate-falls-6-5

2) 2 condo projects in Queenstown and Clementi see strong sales over launch weekend
https://www.straitstimes.com/busine...clementi-see-strong-sales-over-launch-weekend
Indeed, these big items cost are the most scary things nowsdays. Even HDB BTOs are so costly yet still over-applied. What will happen in future? Not to mention VERS replacing SERS. Spending so much on HDB which will only fall in value. Thankfully, presently we have cheaper mobile plans to play and comfort with. 😅

hereiam7788

Indeed, these big items cost are the most scary things nowsdays. Even HDB BTOs are so costly yet still over-applied. What will happen in future? Not to mention VERS replacing SERVS. Spending so much on HDB which will only fall in value. Thankfully, presently we have cheaper mobile plans to play and comfort with. 😅

yeah. while everything including food/housing etc... are sky rocket priced due to inflation over the years.

only services like mobile, home bb can go so much cheaper than before, this is something really amazing already. and it is cheap unlike to a standard that is insane seriously, imaging a telco last time average a person maybe pay sgd30 to 40 monthly not including the excess usage of calltime, sms and data etc. while ppl nowadays paying merely $7++ lowest not including the port-in discount by MVNOs to attract new customers and again so calculate over the $7 to $8 monthly until so detailed, i find it is rather ridiculous.

in fact, i wonder how telco makes money nowadays given that mobile bill per person is below sg10 nett and home broadband is below sgd30 nett or lower, but inflation should have caused the rest of costs like labour, materials etc. to be sky high now while still remain profitable. :ROFLMAO:

even enterprise broadband price is also a lot cheaper than before.

JAYSCS

yeah. while everything including food/housing etc... are sky rocket priced due to inflation over the years.

only services like mobile, home bb can go so much cheaper than before, this is something really amazing already. and it is cheap unlike to a standard that is insane seriously, imaging a telco last time average a person maybe pay sgd30 to 40 monthly not including the excess usage of calltime, sms and data etc. while ppl nowadays paying merely $7++ lowest not including the port-in discount by MVNOs to attract new customers and again so calculate over the $7 to $8 monthly until so detailed, i find it is rather ridiculous.

in fact, i wonder how telco makes money nowadays given that mobile bill per person is below sg10 nett and home broadband is below sgd30 nett or lower, but inflation should have caused the rest of costs like labour, materials etc. to be sky high now while still remain profitable. :ROFLMAO:

even enterprise broadband price is also a lot cheaper than before.
Actually, any ongoing service has very little cost incurred as the infrastructure had already completed years ago especially BB and 4G network. What telcos will need to consider is fine tuning 5G network and purchasing 6G network in future. As a consumers, i am not complaing for the existing competition though, hope it will slash further. 🤗

hereiam7788

Actually, any ongoing service has very little cost incurred as the infrastructure had already completed years ago especially BB and 4G network. What telcos will need to consider is fine tuning 5G network and purchasing 6G network in future. As a consumers, i am not complaing for the existing competition though, hope it will slash further. 🤗
that's for existing, but u forget the fact 5G network costs 4 x more cost than 4G network as 5G is using higher frequency radio wave and penetration is weaker, so to cover the same area like 4G, it needs 4 x more cell towers.

while when 4G first started the price is significantly more than the current price of 5G.
if u remember correctly last time when we transit from 3G to 4G time, the telcos charges consumer sgd10.70 for 4G as VAS. I remembered that that time a lot of ppl are making noise and ultimately IDA(IMDA now) intervened and then this VAS charge was removed.

so capital spent on the infra vs how much they can recover from the consumer subscriptions are totally not at the same levels.

same situation will go for 6G, 7G etc. later.

https://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/mobile/telco/tech-news-m1-removes-1070-charge-4g-value-added-service

if u check the list, that time without MVNO, the cheapest 4G plan is at least sgd39, while ppl are paying sgd7 to 8 the max for 4G plan now.

JAYSCS

that's for existing, but u forget the fact 5G network costs 4 x more cost than 4G network as 5G is using higher frequency radio wave and penetration is weaker, so to cover the same area like 4G, it needs 4 x more cell towers.

while when 4G first started the price is significantly more than the current price of 5G.
if u remember correctly last time when we transit from 3G to 4G time, the telcos charges consumer sgd10.70 for 4G as VAS. I remembered that that time a lot of ppl are making noise and ultimately IDA(IMDA now) intervened and then this VAS charge was removed.

so capital spent on the infra vs how much they can recover from the consumer subscriptions are totally not at the same levels.

same situation will go for 6G, 7G etc. later.

https://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/mobile/telco/tech-news-m1-removes-1070-charge-4g-value-added-service

if u check the list, that time without MVNO, the cheapest 4G plan is at least sgd39, while ppl are paying sgd7 to 8 the max for 4G plan now.
I believe all the cost should have been recovered and definitely profitable now. Just enjoy the present situation while it last, especially prior Simba and M1 merger. 😀

hereiam7788

I believe all the cost should have been recovered and definitely profitable now. Just enjoy the present situation while it last, especially prior Simba and M1 merger. 😀

indeed. i cannot imagine that i only spent sgd8 per month can this can be used in bolehland which i do not need bolehland sim card plan anymore.

A7997A

Dont recall ever paying that high for 4G plans in those days, think is around $15-25. If you look hard enough there is usually more affordable plans available.

But what is available now is definitely way better, thanks to simba & mvnos

shawniiex

$93 per year x how ever many family members worh

xiaofan

GPGT. :p

that's the price for m1 plans for sure at that time.

Indeed GPGT.

Somv5IK.png

I was using Singtel Combo 2 for quite some time, merely 2GB and need to add Called ID. Extra data was also pretty expensive.

No luxury to carry out OOkla Speedtest at that time with 2GB Data. I would usually use SingTel WiFi or Wireless@SG to save data. And mostly not really using the data during daily commute on the bus.

News in 2014.
https://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/pc/...high-speed-wi-fi-connectivity-its-subscribers
zBDmA28.png

xiaofan

Jurong640

Indeed GPGT.

Somv5IK.png

I was using Singtel Combo 2 for quite some time, merely 2GB and need to add Called ID. Extra data was also pretty expensive.

No luxury to carry out OOkla Speedtest at that time with 2GB Data. I would usually use SingTel WiFi or Wireless@SG to save data. And mostly not really using the data during daily commute on the bus.

News in 2014.
https://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/pc/...high-speed-wi-fi-connectivity-its-subscribers
zBDmA28.png
those were the days of 4G VAS and premium 4G 2GB data

amazingone

Indeed GPGT.

Somv5IK.png

News in 2014.
zBDmA28.png
Those Flexi plans with the super limited data bundle is a real throwback, when iPhone 5 launched with 4G and they revamped their 12GB data bundle plans with these limited data bundle plans.

The solution to these limited data plans are data add-ons called like DataX2 which gives your 2x more of your data bundle. Basically taking off your usual entitlement and sell you a solution. :o

froztheart

Indeed GPGT.

Somv5IK.png

News in 2014.
zBDmA28.png
Those Flexi plans with the super limited data bundle is a real throwback, when iPhone 5 launched with 4G and they revamped their 12GB data bundle plans with these limited data bundle plans.

The solution to these limited data plans are data add-ons called like DataX2 which gives your 2x more of your data bundle. Basically taking off your usual entitlement and sell you a solution. :o
Those were the days....
Like I mentioned if it wasn't for competition and advancement in tech with high data usage pattern, we'll be charged minimally $50/mth with 2GB data, and having no choice but to llst.

xiaofan

Refer to post #1

1) I also do not know about the Zero Dollar Eight trial. :LOL:

Anyway, it was only for a short durations (88 days).
https://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/mobile/telco/tech-news-eight-88gb-local-and-1gb-roaming-free-88-days

2) Circles.Life Flexi Zero dollar plan was the best last time. I got one on 28-Dec-2018 and it was used by my mother-in-law to replace Starhub Prepaid Card. Really useful for low data usage users. The service ended in 2023.
https://www.circles.life/sg/press/w...ircles-life-opens-up-smart-nation-to-everyone

One user mentions that he is still able to use it now.
my $0 plan, if I use the circlesAI is it will kena the $0.30 platform charge? so far still $0

Only CL knows what boobi traps are installed. You are 1 of very few lucky one who still get away with free $0 plan with CL, congrats! The rest of us got bombarded and headed elsewhere, no turning back. 🤣

Believe there's still some that still hold $0/mth plans, but time is running out. :s22:

3) Then TPG (now SIMBA) free trial was also very popular. I got one pretty late in the game on 19-Jan-2020 (one year later than others) and cancelled it on 13-Nov-2020.
https://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/mob...e-service-year-first-20000-customers-register
https://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/mob...expanding-its-free-service-trial-200000-users

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.