Eight Telecom discussion thread

xiaofan

1) Starhub Prepaid S 5G plan (Postpaid as per IMDA classification)
Poco X7 Pro, 5G SA connection
At home, Jurong West

eight 5G should have similar performance.

https://www.speedtest.net/result/a/11597098341
11597098341.png

2) Same location
SingTel S$15.28 plan, 5G SA connection
Another Poco X7 Pro phone

https://www.speedtest.net/result/a/11597106084
11597106084.png

Habrosus

Habrosus

Seems to be worse leh …
Who? Eight? If so, ya, if no 5G coverage then 4G is plain jialat. Thus I chose monthly so I can still look-see.

$10.80 not that bad for observation, since can still consider the free calls while traveling. $14.80 is no-no IMO coz they've been rather disappointing lately.

kashix

Who? Eight? If so, ya, if no 5G coverage then 4G is plain jialat. Thus I chose monthly so I can still look-see.

$10.80 not that bad for observation, since can still consider the free calls while traveling. $14.80 is no-no IMO coz they've been rather disappointing lately.
Thank you bro for your observation and dedication!

weng

Anyone compared eight 5g vs zym (or other singtel mvno) 5g along NEL (primarily upper half stretch… sengkang/hougang to Serangoon)? Able to have a sensing which one better?

Also, if any, circle line somewhere btwn serangoon and bishan, and red line somewhere between bishan and novena. 😊

BBCWatcher

Hi all 8 senpai, is this better than M1 Maxx now? Since now see Mr IMHO can hit 1Gbps liao
StarHub (and its subbrands and MVNOs) and M1 (and its subbrands and MVNOs) use the same shared physical 5G network in Singapore: Antina's. There shouldn't be any 5G coverage differences across StarHub and M1 in the same locations with the same devices. Throughput may vary depending on the operators' respective network management, prioritization, and demand patterns.

By the way, your network experience isn't really related to whether you post a higher Speedtest number or not. Your network experience chiefly depends on consistency and stability (with "good enough" throughput) for real-world applications. The anecdotal Speedtest numbers are amusing, I suppose, but they don't actually offer much guidance.

Relatedly, why are so many people satisfied with SIMBA's service even when it's quite clear their subscribers don't post "bragging" Speedtest numbers? Because SIMBA scores well on "Reliability Experience" (according to Opensignal) — second only to Singtel, which took a hit in March with their network outage.

keenklee

StarHub (and its subbrands and MVNOs) and M1 (and its subbrands and MVNOs) use the same shared physical 5G network in Singapore: Antina's. There shouldn't be any 5G coverage differences across StarHub and M1 in the same locations with the same devices. Throughput may vary depending on the operators' respective network management, prioritization, and demand patterns.

By the way, your network experience isn't really related to whether you post a higher Speedtest number or not. Your network experience chiefly depends on consistency and stability (with "good enough" throughput) for real-world applications. The anecdotal Speedtest numbers are amusing, I suppose, but they don't actually offer much guidance.

Relatedly, why are so many people satisfied with SIMBA's service even when it's quite clear their subscribers don't post "bragging" Speedtest numbers? Because SIMBA scores well on "Reliability Experience" (according to Opensignal) — second only to Singtel, which took a hit in March with their network outage.
IMHO.
It depends how one reads the speedtest results.
There are other parameters in the speedtest and those affect the applications.
Why speedtest is important - simply if many people wants to grab data, there is more to share.

If Simba charge at Singtel prices, will the many people be satisfied because of the reliability experience?
Simba at my location gives me good reliability - it's slow speed.

One need to experience speed - I've gotten 4G 491Mbps/93.3 Mbps.

gapboy

IMHO.
It depends how one reads the speedtest results.
There are other parameters in the speedtest and those affect the applications.
Why speedtest is important - simply if many people wants to grab data, there is more to share.

If Simba charge at Singtel prices, will the many people be satisfied because of the reliability experience?
Simba at my location gives me good reliability - it's slow speed.

One need to experience speed - I've gotten 4G 491Mbps/93.3 Mbps.
IMHO . While Speedtest is popular, there are plenty of other tools like NetMonitor or nPerf you can use. There's no harm in checking Speedtest occasionally not on every location, but it’s best not to rely on it as your only source for monitoring network performance.

keenklee

IMHO . While Speedtest is popular, there are plenty of other tools like NetMonitor or nPerf you can use. There's no harm in checking Speedtest occasionally not on every location, but it’s best not to rely on it as your only source for monitoring network performance.
IMHO.
Speedtest results are sufficient for me, I just need to look at the other parameters and speedtest pattern.

IIRC.
E.g.
Simba 4G, there are 2 bands - symmetrical and asymmetrical ( slower upload ). During congestion, it is very apparent in the asymmetrical almost like is using the the upload speed to manage traffic. I would say buffering helps. If the connectivity is poor, spotify will stutter.

Singtel Heya - I recall many occasions mentioning the fast speed. Heya upload speed seldom max out and for a point in time, they gradually upz the download speed.

P.S. Plan to explore net monitor. :ROFLMAO:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.