Eight Telecom discussion thread

hostet

Those who port from eight telecom and have the porting request rejected, you can either

1. Faster means - visit their service center. Take note that eight telecom backend can take up to 2 working days to resolved the issue.
2. Slower means - email to helpme@eight.com.sg. It takes 2 to 3 working days for them to reply and up to 2 working days for the backend to resolve the issue.

habibali

Speed inside office.

$8 4G Plan

i get this as well but i just feel telcos are not throttling the page for speedtest.net.
Please try for me nperf, google fibre speed test, and other test.

I get consistent for two phones with Eight
15mbps (download)
30mbps (upload)

JAYSCS

i get this as well but i just feel telcos are not throttling the page for speedtest.net.

15mbps (download)
30mbps (upload)
15Mbps is quite sufficient though.

JAYSCS

Screenshot-2026-07-11-01-23-14-435-com-android-chrome.jpg

007Mi6

time to consider maxx. Their refreshed plans very good. 600GB data, can share with china, india and more.

I actually have 3 lines.

Eight Main on my iPhone
Eight Secondary on my Android
Maxx Third on my Android

Was waiting out for ZYM to port-in after 1 year, so port my 2nd line also to Eight. Topup $28 for both Eight. Regret big time.

Port out my Maxx to Vivifi for 3 months free and bring it to my iPhone instead to tank until later.

Now ZYM no need to wait 12 months. Both Eight and Maxx are portin and topup during the May period.

Now thinking if the 5G forever $10 plan will be available in end of the year or not.

Jurong640

I actually have 3 lines.

Eight Main on my iPhone
Eight Secondary on my Android
Maxx Third on my Android

Was waiting out for ZYM to port-in after 1 year, so port my 2nd line also to Eight. Topup $28 for both Eight. Regret big time.

Port out my Maxx to Vivifi for 3 months free and bring it to my iPhone instead to tank until later.

Now ZYM no need to wait 12 months. Both Eight and Maxx are portin and topup during the May period.

Now thinking if the 5G forever $10 plan will be available in end of the year or not.
the maxx $10 plan looks really good with 5G. There are alternatives, so the plan should be still around.

If one is travelling soon, they can simply upgrade their plans to $12 before travelling to china / india. Get the most out of the 600GB data

JAYSCS

the maxx $10 plan looks really good with 5G. There are alternatives, so the plan should be still around.

If one is travelling soon, they can simply upgrade their plans to $12 before travelling to china / india. Get the most out of the 600GB data
I still reckon roaming data (except roaming at neighbouring countries) is really gimmicky. Not many people travel regularly. But if one happen to be in that category, the amount of expenditure one has to splurge on vs. the savings from roaming data is vastly not proportional, is it really worth the effort to save that amount when the $ needed to travel is already so high? 🤔

It is more of a feel-good bonus offer. But again, to each his own lah. 😀

sango65

I still reckon roaming data (except roaming at neighbouring countries) is really gimmicky. Not many people travel regularly. But if one happen to be in that category, the amount of expenditure one has to splurge on vs. the savings from roaming data is vastly not proportional, is it really worth the effort to save that amount when the $ needed to travel is already so high? 🤔

I would say $12 / $10 maxx is quite a good deal, especially for those frequent travelers (business trips / family trips, etc). Anyway, if you dont top up in the next month, it will fall back to base plan. Just send 1 sms every month to maintain the line, nothing to lose. Next time need to go overseas, just top up again and enjoy the roaming data.

JAYSCS

I would say $12 / $10 maxx is quite a good deal, especially for those frequent travelers (business trips / family trips, etc). Anyway, if you dont top up in the next month, it will fall back to base plan. Just send 1 sms every month to maintain the line, nothing to lose. Next time need to go overseas, just top up again and enjoy the roaming data.
Indeed, the unique free $5 base plan is the star of Maxx.

wongminmin

after change to eight.... i received like 3 malaysia numbers..... didn't pick up. felt scamm-ish.

At home.....90% only 4G
Near window.... can get 5G
Can watch video without lag......
no issue at shopping mall.
Mrt speed isn't great but still usable.

actually why people want to port out? decent enough as mnvo.

Top 4g
btm 5g
vGoXpnc.png

twosix

The only thing that excites me will be lowering of the prices. Too much data and talk times for me.

CPTMiller

after change to eight.... i received like 3 malaysia numbers..... didn't pick up. felt scamm-ish.

At home.....90% only 4G

Top 4g
btm 5g
vGoXpnc.png
Eight ia good enough to use normally either local and overseas.
Provided one don't keep speedtest everytimes and feel sad. :)

sibeiTrolled

their experience might not be like yours

Eight ia good enough to use normally either local and overseas.
or some may feel that good enough is not enough

But then, it's their money and they have the last say in this.
Either way, this thread can provide some good laugh at times but at times it also highlights potential problems that maybe we have yet to face.

ZhuTou!

At home.....90% only 4G

Top 4g
btm 5g
vGoXpnc.png
Bcoz u haven kena the "not usable" stage yet. Pointing at 4g only as mine is 4g plan previously. Weekdays evening peak hr, my zym work as per normal, my eight cant even load properly. Went to test download speed, my eight is 5mbps or below if not wrong. Happen almost daily on weekdays evening peak hr till 9-10pm.

hereiam7788

At home.....90% only 4G

Top 4g
btm 5g
vGoXpnc.png
I already signed 6.75 years contract with eight.

so far so good. Happy with it.

mosmos

15mbps (download)
30mbps (upload)
HDB low floors always got good speed

You stay at private estate?

habibali

HDB low floors always got good speed

You stay at private estate?

Thanks... maybe they heard me. LOL suddenly i am getting 230mbps download and 36mbps upload... in all speed test websites... and i am staying in HDB low floor as well...

mikecmy

Anyone on 5G value plan? I seem to have signals dropping to 4G and doesn’t move back for the whole day. But if I turn on and off airplane mode the 5G gets back and after 15 mins to half an hour it drops back to 4G. I’m on S25 Ultra.

yhw22

At home.....90% only 4G

Top 4g
btm 5g
vGoXpnc.png
you can always disable overseas call or/and sms.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.