Electric toothbrush

WussRedXLi

But having done 2 deep cleaning sessions with my dentist, I would urge anyone to visit their dentist for regular checks, do not let these fancy toothbrushes make you think your teeth are cleaner than what your dentist can do for you.

Heh...of course not, one also gotta incorporate flossing into their regime.

And even then, surely there would be times in which you'd miss maybe 1 day of flossing due to some circumstances (eg travelling). Though for me i'd bring my Panasonic water flosser overseas as well. Also, it's not 100% anyway. So over time, surely there'd be tartar buildup.

It's a very long story (I think i shared earlier in this thread), but I DIY scale with my own ultrasonic scaler as well. Coffee stains are quite easy to remove, the tough part is tartar. Also use it for my kids, they will never go to the dentist, no way, it's not about the money.

It's not easy to DIY on yourself of course, and for those who are are not so good with their hands/fingers, lagi worse, you might screw up the gums if not careful and get an infection. But so far with these few years of usage, no issue at all. It's not rocket science (check youtube, lots of stuff).

I also DIY my own peridontal probing sometimes (get the probes from Ebay), but seriously that's optional, since you can easily see if there are inflammation visually, aided by dental mirrors with LED.

I am using this brand, and also various additional tips, so that i can access the molars better esp the spaces in between the teeth.

If one has been taking care of their teeth, it isn't difficult, it isn't rocket science, there really is very minimal subgingival build-up, in fact for me there is basically none. That's due to very frequent water flossing (string flossing does not do anything for subgingival).
Actually no need to do any major subgingival cleaning as long as your peridontal pockets are not deep + no inflammation......a wee wee bit of tar tar won't die one lah. :D

WussRedXLi

Any recommendations for a good water flosser? I have been using a Philips airfloss for 2 years. It's working OK but no warning on low battery, straight away stop when using it half way is damn tu lan. Philips product is really lousy in design. Why so difficult to give low battery warning light like oral b electric toothbrush?

Just go for the Panasonic water flosser, AA version. $69 locally. This is a basic model, but it's a workhorse, very difficult to spoil one.
If you also wanna get extra stuff like brush heads, toothbrush, then can check Amazon.co.uk. AMZ UK does refund VAT during checkout, so those prices listed online haven't deducted yet. Amazon uk also sells a Waterpik AA one, the waterpik's advantage is that it also has a pik pocket attachment.

If think you wanna upgrade to a model that can support a special jet tip for deeper access into your periodontal pockets or due to impacted wisdom tooth, can check out h2ofloss and Waterpik.
Basically from studies, normal water flossing accesses till about 4mm depth into your periodontal pockets, this special tip can punch through till around 6-7mm.

elephantscannotfly

Heh...of course not, one also gotta incorporate flossing into their regime.

And even then, surely there would be times in which you'd miss maybe 1 day of flossing due to some circumstances (eg travelling). Though for me i'd bring my Panasonic water flosser overseas as well. Also, it's not 100% anyway. So over time, surely there'd be tartar buildup.

It's a very long story (I think i shared earlier in this thread), but I DIY scale with my own ultrasonic scaler as well. Coffee stains are quite easy to remove, the tough part is tartar. Also use it for my kids, they will never go to the dentist, no way, it's not about the money.

It's not easy to DIY on yourself of course, and for those who are are not so good with their hands/fingers, lagi worse, you might screw up the gums if not careful and get an infection. But so far with these few years of usage, no issue at all. It's not rocket science (check youtube, lots of stuff).

I also DIY my own peridontal probing sometimes (get the probes from Ebay), but seriously that's optional, since you can easily see if there are inflammation visually, aided by dental mirrors with LED.

I trust my dentist to do all that stuff for me.
Just got probed a month back after my last deep clean.
My gums have receded alot because I had not taken care of my teeth.
Now I am trying my very best to maintain what I still have, under the dentist's advisement.
I lost one good tooth because of this already, determined not to lose anymore.
Never realised the damage done earlier because like everyone else, scared to see the dentist, now I have overcome the fear because of the last 3 intense sessions, and made a vow to make my dentist my best partner in oral care.

WussRedXLi

I trust my dentist to do all that stuff for me.
Just got probed a month back after my last deep clean.
My gums have receded alot because I had not taken care of my teeth.
Now I am trying my very best to maintain what I still have, under the dentist's advisement.
I lost one good tooth because of this already, determined not to lose anymore.
Never realised the damage done earlier because like everyone else, scared to see the dentist, now I have overcome the fear because of the last 3 intense sessions, and made a vow to make my dentist my best partner in oral care.

Yeah.....well, i am taking a different route, my belief is that home care is actually > dentist care.....unless if you really have the determination to visit the dentist 3-4 times a year. It's not even twice a year, that's actually the minimum, unless if you really are the hardcore type who water flosses *at least* twice a day, *properly*.

It probably doesn't really make sense at first glance, but i think over 20 years+ of DIY care it's working for me. No dentist checkups, but a few years ago i got some credits to use, so went for a basic checkup, nothing much to clean leh. :s13:

So it's working, at least for my style of care. Though i cannot say for others, everyone is different and others have different problem areas as well. And of coz, DIY ultrasonic scaling, i do admit, is going to be a bit hardcore for the regular folks. :s13: (and it does carry a bit of risks as well if one really is not that good in terms of DIY......just like other stuff in life, some just cannot do/manage some things).

And of coz, it's really useful for my kids as well. Saves time, and also the struggling to get them to go to the dentist to scale. (esp for my smallest one, i think there is absolutely no way at all, he'd let me do it though).

WussRedXLi

Yes, receding gum line is a very good indication that you do not have a good cleaning regime.

WussRedXLi

Sigh....looks like aliexpress does not have h2ofloss anymore. Remember they were selling for usd 25 or so i think, that's inclusive of shipping. The main advantage is that it has the pik pocket style tips for deeper access subgingivally.

It's this basic model, the cheapest one. I think it uses 4 x AA or something, some folks even DIY change it out for 2 x 18650 for more juice, with 18650 carriers etc.

This one.....
https://www.amazon.com/H2ofloss®Travel-Rechargeable-Irrigator-Reservoir-hf-3premium/dp/B010NPLDPW

710ApOY8yCL._SX522_.jpg

The special tips, same style as the waterpik pik pocket ones.

https://www.qoo10.sg/item/H2OFLOSS-...TH-H2OFLOSS-MODEL/438000688?banner_no=1305330

518857766.g_400-w_g.jpg

WussRedXLi

And of course Taobao has h2ofloss, but nowadays a bit tricky to get such stuff over, even though it uses 4 x AA and no battery in the package.

Air sensitive via 3rd party forwarders is not cheap.

Aliexpress no issue with china post airmail registered since it has no batt and the motor is actually super small. Some people have already gotten the units via aliexpress (posted earlier in the thread, or is it in another thread?).

BlueDragon12

Good

Sigh....looks like aliexpress does not have h2ofloss anymore. Remember they were selling for usd 25 or so i think, that's inclusive of shipping. The main advantage is that it has the pik pocket style tips for deeper access subgingivally.

It's this basic model, the cheapest one. I think it uses 4 x AA or something, some folks even DIY change it out for 2 x 18650 for more juice, with 18650 carriers etc.

The special tips, same style as the waterpik pik pocket ones.

Look like Good Value

WussRedXLi

Look like Good Value

Oh......found it on qoo10. SGD 40 + $2 qxpress.

Ok lah......not usd 25 (sgd 34), but still ok.

https://www.qoo10.sg/item/H2OFLOSS-...-CLEANING-MACHINE/549084336?banner_no=1305330

hmm...it actually has NiMH installed inside. But anyway, very easy to mod next time with AA or 18650.

Oh....actually it already has a pik pocket style tip inclusive.

edit - cheaper here
https://www.lazada.sg/products/h2of...o42.searchlist.list.1.167c1df0a1jWKr&search=1

More info about the h2ofloss

https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?s...35569ed55e27b&abbucket=12&skuId=3986158534504

O1CN011XLRp28SUWcq3BM_!!4143592907.jpg

O1CN011XLRp3eRuRk8vDZ_!!4143592907.jpg

WussRedXLi

KNN, found that my Waterpik AA flosser knoked out. :mad: Was still working fine around 11/11 period.

Just under 2 years. I believe it's the electrical switch that's faulty, physical issue. Tried to open the thing out so that i can spray some contact cleaner or something, it's not inaccessible. Cannot open one.

Tried various AA cells, and even a variable output PSU outputting 3-4.5V that i tried, no go.

Just get the Panasonic water flosser, real work horse. 6 years already.

Anyway, i need the periodontal pik pocket tip for my impacted wisdom tooth. Placed an order for the H2oflosser HF-3. Only issue that i have read is that it's on the loud side.
Also, i think i might wanna introduce water flossing to my kids, so maybe this shd be easier to use as the AA portable versions are really too big for them to grasp.

SGD22 only, after 15% discount voucher applied (- SGD 3.88). :eek:
https://shopee.sg/-OralCare-h2oflos...-Teeth-Cleaning-Machine-i.15334894.1416452267

Countertop ver from the same seller
https://shopee.sg/-OralCare-h2oflos...-Teeth-Cleaning-Machine-i.15334894.1416451757

Local reviews of the HF-3. Seems pretty decent.
https://www.lazada.sg/products/i101...o42.cart.0.0.14c57a93e53M4K&urlFlag=true&mp=1

WussRedXLi

Want to know too if XiaoMi electric toothbrush is good and how long it takes to charge? Thanks.

The "problem" is that the induction charger on the Oral Bs are very low in power, 0.3W. Just that. So that's why they'd take a fair bit of time. The 8000/9000 ones take just half that though, about 12 hours. Probably different charger or something.

The Xiaomi is around the same as the Philips sonicare, 31000 cycles oer min, same "up and down" pulsations, around the same frequency.

WussRedXLi

Anyway, as posted before, for those who are interested in the Oral B range, this is the "speed" for Oral B toothbrushes.

Those kids range, non-replaceable heads - 5,600 oscillations / min
The 2D range, ie DB4010K and those Vitality stuff – 7,800 oscillations / min

3D range
Pro 4xx/5xx/6xx/7xx/1000/1500 series – 8,800 oscillations and 20,0000 pulsations / min

Pro 2000 and up – 8,800 oscillations and 40,000 pulsations / min
(depending on mode). These models would start to use Li-ion cells.

Pro 8000/9000 – 10,5000 oscillations and 48,000 pulsations /min
(depending on mode)

So if you are aiming to get some for your family, you can actually get at least 2pcs of Pro 600 or even 2 x Pro 2000. So for the adults, you might want to use 2pcs simultaneously then, which gives you more than enough "power"....either that or you can get the job done in just say 1.5 mins instead of 2. (time savings).

Divide your mouth into mirrored halves, use 1 toothbrush per half.

Or you might want to get 1 single 8000/9000 and share amongst say you and your 2 kids, but then the cost would be higher. See how you wanna do it.

Remember not to press too hard which leads to overbrushing. Pressing hard does not equal to cleaner teeth after a certain extent.

Gondon72

KNN, found that my Waterpik AA flosser knoked out. :mad: Was still working fine around 11/11 period.

Just under 2 years. I believe it's the electrical switch that's faulty, physical issue. Tried to open the thing out so that i can spray some contact cleaner or something, it's not inaccessible. Cannot open one.

Tried various AA cells, and even a variable output PSU outputting 3-4.5V that i tried, no go.

Just get the Panasonic water flosser, real work horse. 6 years already.

Anyway, i need the periodontal pik pocket tip for my impacted wisdom tooth. Placed an order for the H2oflosser HF-3. Only issue that i have read is that it's on the loud side.
Also, i think i might wanna introduce water flossing to my kids, so maybe this shd be easier to use as the AA portable versions are really too big for them to grasp.

SGD22 only, after 15% discount voucher applied (- SGD 3.88). :eek:
https://shopee.sg/-OralCare-h2oflos...-Teeth-Cleaning-Machine-i.15334894.1416452267

Countertop ver from the same seller
https://shopee.sg/-OralCare-h2oflos...-Teeth-Cleaning-Machine-i.15334894.1416451757

Local reviews of the HF-3. Seems pretty decent.
https://www.lazada.sg/products/i101...o42.cart.0.0.14c57a93e53M4K&urlFlag=true&mp=1

Same as you, mine also just almost touching 2 years and spoiled. Now trying to find any water flosser that has pik pocket tip to grab locally and immediately not. Feels very weird not to use it....:s22:

WussRedXLi

Same as you, mine also just almost touching 2 years and spoiled. Now trying to find any water flosser that has pik pocket tip to grab locally and immediately not. Feels very weird not to use it....:s22:

Yeah, prob the electrical switch.

Coz i am using the Panasonic AA for daily use and only occasionally use the Waterpik WF-03 AA with the pik pocket for cleaning the impacted wisdown tooth "peridontal pocket". I put quotes coz i also don't know if it's really just a big gap in the gums or periodontal pocket. But lately i had been slacking off in using the waterpik with pik pocket, so not sure if that contributed to it due to non-usage of the equipment.

Past few months already noticed that the switch wasn't working that well, need to offset a bit in the switch position before the flosser would work.

Anyway, the h2ofloss hf-3 got shipped out from China. Lets see if the seller is good. The flosser is usable if one is not ngeow, from user reviews in this thread and other threads and also online.

Anyway, only SGD 22 everything in and the pik pocket tip is inclusive .....use 2 years also song. :D
Last time, I already spent SGD 10 just to buy the 2 in a pack water pik pik pocket tips.

Gondon72

Coz i am using the Panasonic AA for daily use and only occasionally use the Waterpik WF-03 AA with the pik pocket for cleaning the impacted wisdown tooth "peridontal pocket". I put quotes coz i also don't know if it's really just a big gap in the gums or periodontal pocket. But lately i had been slacking off in using the waterpik with pik pocket, so not sure if that contributed to it due to non-usage of the equipment.

Past few months already noticed that the switch wasn't working that well, need to offset a bit in the switch position before the flosser would work.

Anyway, the h2ofloss hf-3 got shipped out from China. Lets see if the seller is good. The flosser is usable if one is not ngeow, from user reviews in this thread and other threads and also online.

Anyway, only SGD 22 everything in and the pik pocket tip is inclusive .....use 2 years also song. :D
Last time, I already spent SGD 10 just to buy the 2 in a pack water pik pik pocket tips.

Panasonic one is good enough to use? if not wrong can buy immediately from shopping centre right? haha, got to buy one temporarily to use first.

huatkia

Nice. Please do a review of the h2ofloss. Need to dump my Philips airfloss liao. Thanks!

WussRedXLi

Panasonic one is good enough to use? if not wrong can buy immediately from shopping centre right? haha, got to buy one temporarily to use first.

Yes, but do note that the Panasonic AA and Panasonic cordless do not have pik pocket periodontal tip. It's just a basic device, but the AA one is a fuss free workhorse.

WussRedXLi

21st Dec purchased, 26th Dec received. Just nice for the holidays, can do a review. I thought it'll arrive only in 2019. :s13:

Is legit h20floss HF-3.

c5akvEG.jpg

X2pimf8.jpg

otBJllz.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.