EndowUs Roboadvisor: investing using CPF

Okenba

Just signed up endowus, pending UOB account setup.

Question: are we allowed to have cpf OA and cash funding both turn on ?
You will have to set up different portfolios, but they can be under the same account.
You can have multiple portfolios funded in different ways (cash, srs, CPF OA) under the same account.

demoforce1

invest for 1m 10d with default general investing - core Equities 40: Fixed Income 60, red 0.99%
Can / should I shift to Equities 100%?

Okenba

Saw an Endowus ad on FB which mentioned that they came in top in this Seedly article.
https://seedly.sg/opinions/robo-war-experiment-rwe-update-december-2021
What I really liked was that, despite "winning", they immediately played down the fact that they won by including this statement in their FB post.

"Investment involves risk. Past performance is not an indicator nor a guarantee for future performance. Projected performance is not guaranteed."

dappermen

Sorry but isnt that an obvious sttm to all??
Do we need to keep stating the obvious and waste advertising space, hated reading the obvious!

If past performance is an indicator or guarantee to future ? Poor Ark, will still b the “winner” into 2022 2023 …. And into future

Nothing is guarantee in this world… nothing

The only constant is ? (Very obvious everyone knew that)

Shoot endowus pls

Sam (fr u knw where is) in - Active v Passive invesmts! hi growth out ? value is in???

twinklingstars

Hi guys, im buying into vwra and qqqm, im thinking of investing my cpf OA as well using endowus, but will their portfolio overlap too much with vwra and qqqm, how do you guys feel?

sohguanh

Hi guys, im buying into vwra and qqqm, im thinking of investing my cpf OA as well using endowus, but will their portfolio overlap too much with vwra and qqqm, how do you guys feel?
A good question. I started off with unit trust so when I know of ETF and take a look they do overlap with my funds top holdings. If I buy that ETF I will be overlapping. I can sell off my funds and invest in ETF but that means I sell all the effort that I have invested for 20+ years.

If you are just starting I think ETF low expense ratio is a very attractive option but take note some newer ETF are becoming more like unit trust as in actively managed so expense ratio slowly moving up.

twinklingstars

A good question. I started off with unit trust so when I know of ETF and take a look they do overlap with my funds top holdings. If I buy that ETF I will be overlapping. I can sell off my funds and invest in ETF but that means I sell all the effort that I have invested for 20+ years.

If you are just starting I think ETF low expense ratio is a very attractive option but take note some newer ETF are becoming more like unit trust as in actively managed so expense ratio slowly moving up.

I see.. Thanks for your reply.. In that case, how would you suggest investing my CPF OA? I'm not very keen in STI.. But options look pretty limited..

sohguanh

I see.. Thanks for your reply.. In that case, how would you suggest investing my CPF OA? I'm not very keen in STI.. But options look pretty limited..
Use CPF for ETF has much fewer options I do agree. If you don't want to overlap you can go for more sector,thematic funds but those are higher risk which don't take CPF monies too.

You can go FSM fund selector select and see funds top holdings that don't overlap with your ETF but yet can take CPF investment. FSM CPF funds no platform fee but Endowus some got trailer fee rebate. Choose whichever fit your preference.

Just to share for me, Asian Smaller Companies funds (got at least one fund take CPFOA) their top holdings don't overlap much with those mainstream ETF I have but higher risk of cuz as in the word "smaller companies" with much smaller cap.

Okenba

Why is it a problem if they overlap?
One of your holdings is VWRA, globally diversified ETF. Almost anything you buy would 'overlap' with that.

People who worry about overlap are looking to diversify because they feel that their holdings are too concentrated. VWRA is not concentrated. It is globally diversified according to market cap. It is as diversified as you can possibly be (according to market cap)

Even your qqqm is actually causing your holdings to be more concentrated into Nasdaq. Not more diversified.

If you're looking to concentrate your holdings more into a certain sector or geographical location, by all means think about what to buy. If you just want global diversified, then do that and find globally diversified funds for cash, cpf and srs holdings and don't worry about overlap.

aeng

You will have to set up different portfolios, but they can be under the same account.
You can have multiple portfolios funded in different ways (cash, srs, CPF OA) under the same account.

You can kinda use multiple funding methods for the same portfolio.
They're just used to buy slightly diff funds based on the funding source.

Andrew833

If you buy sp500, siao liao the rest of the fund likely to overlap, don't worry.

dappermen

Edwus raised the referral bonus to $28 (fr 20)for you and your friends and loved ones when you refer them to invest!!

sansanjikikut

No Endowus US fund for now in current market shorting climate. My invested cpf $$ likely to go negative

sohguanh

No Endowus US fund for now in current market shorting climate. My invested cpf $$ likely to go negative
All investment come with risk and if this is the first time you experience market correction it is understandable. Look at those long term investors who have gone through so many e.g 2008 Lehman Brother crisis and a few other minor correction along the way. The old saying when everyone pull out is the time you went in have some truth (which I don't believe last time when I started in stock)

As for shortists you thought they have a good life? They confirm can make profits for every short trade? Let's be realistic if it is that profitable and confirm 100% all trade succeeds, everyone can quit full-time job and be full-time shortist. What you read are the shortist who wins but do they share when they lose? Heard of the phrase naked short? Know why exchange ending hour price shoot up? Becuz shortist need to cover up.

So if you feel such is not your cup of tea yes you can stay away. For me since CPF is dead monies (until I reach age 55) I continue to DCA every month once salary come in. For me CPF investment is in UT so the lowest is $100 each fund cannot go even lower so far.

Okenba

No point jumping at market news if you're investing CPF.

Every transaction you make incurs bank fees as well. Which is why people don't really DCA into CPF IS every month.

Maybe once or twice a year is fine to look. The rest of the time, just don't look. You should not be investing in anything too volatile anyways with CPF.

sohguanh

No point jumping at market news if you're investing CPF.

Every transaction you make incurs bank fees as well. Which is why people don't really DCA into CPF IS every month.

Maybe once or twice a year is fine to look. The rest of the time, just don't look. You should not be investing in anything too volatile anyways with CPF.

Sorry I use DCA with CPF every month to get the best average NAV price of UT over a year. You just need to make sure the CPF OA DCA are all same day investment so bank charge one time fee only (at most $3 each time so total is at most $36 each year). CPF SA no charge. And I do not use all. Say my monthly CPF OA contribution is X, I use X/2 take and invest, the other X/2 go back into CPF. Key is the UT you selected must be good to have > 2.5% and also cover the $36 else rugi. So far I use this strategy for many years and for an e.g despite China equities decimation last year, my year 2000 bought Greater China UT fund is still green color and > 2.5%

athletic91

use the fund smart only add lion global snp500.... i guess its my way to DCA cpf money into snp500 monthly

sohguanh

use the fund smart only add lion global snp500.... i guess its my way to DCA cpf money into snp500 monthly

Assume you are using CPF for snp500 it is trailer fee rebate 0.28%. Then the quarter fee is 0.30% for fund smart which means the returns need to be better than 2.5 + 0.02 = 2.52%. But what I don't like is the rebate is monies go back to your CPF instead of reinvest. Then if you take the rebate from CPF and invest other UT you incur the bank fee of ~$2.XX but the rebate comes from your earlier investment which you already pay for now come back CPF and go out pay again?

Not saying Endowus approach is wrong but for CPF trailer fee rebate it should give investor the option to be reinvested instead of go back into our CPF. I know for FSM, CPF investment for UT that got dividends are defaulted to reinvest instead of go back into our CPF which is logical at least to me.

But from history snp500 should be ok returns will cover all those small fees over the long run. Just to inform I am also vested but with cash instead of CPF.

twosix

if just buying sp500 using cash, why not just buy the etf from the market? saves all the fees. sp500 got difference between etf and ut?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.