Engine Light on

Yin2008

Hi everyone,

My engine light lights up & went to ws to diagnose... Found following error;

a) # 4 misfire
b) Error code 0172 (tink it got to do with O2 sensor)

Any ws to recommend? Is it worth to do the repair as ride left abt 9mths nia...

TIA.

tk

if u dun repair car die halfway on road then how? :vijayadmin:

jury_pack

Spark plug not firing properly in cylinder 4 plus o2 sensor failing. Dont change o2 sensor can, just your ride will drink fuel like mad.

SBS2716G

My car engine light also on n off alway. Error code gotten is p0506.

Yin2008

Hi all,

I really appreciate all ur valuable feedback...

But e funniest part is i dun feel any power lost when accl le... i tink e worst case will be covertor kaput (touch wood) which of coz will then head to scrapyard liao... hence, am lookg for realiable ws, hopefully they can do a thorough check instead of juz pinpointing to the sensor juz b/c e scanner display this error code...

Anyway, do keep sugg/advice coming in so that i had more options.

Thank you all!

scsim002

Your misfiring may cause O2 sensor reading error also. Check your plugs and your coil. Is your FC ok? If FC and idling OK + starting ok. Then just ignore it.

scsim002

Hi all,

I really appreciate all ur valuable feedback...

But e funniest part is i dun feel any power lost when accl le... i tink e worst case will be covertor kaput (touch wood) which of coz will then head to scrapyard liao... hence, am lookg for realiable ws, hopefully they can do a thorough check instead of juz pinpointing to the sensor juz b/c e scanner display this error code...

Anyway, do keep sugg/advice coming in so that i had more options.

Thank you all!

Cat converter kaput? Who cares.... It only affects your emission.....

scsim002

He say throttle body dirty. Say because I pump Malaysia petrol. Haha v

That is UTTER BS........

Throttle body dirty has nothing to do with petrol. Its due to your engine oil.

If you look at your valve cover, there is a vent tube to vent blowby gas back into your air intake. This is what is causing the problem. Oil vapour coats onto the TB and dirt from the air is trapped by the oil. So you get super dirty TB over time.

Only solution is to vent it out (not environmental friendly though). But if you do that you will find your TB nice and clean all the time.

jury_pack

That is UTTER BS........

Throttle body dirty has nothing to do with petrol. Its due to your engine oil.

If you look at your valve cover, there is a vent tube to vent blowby gas back into your air intake. This is what is causing the problem. Oil vapour coats onto the TB and dirt from the air is trapped by the oil. So you get super dirty TB over time.

Only solution is to vent it out (not environmental friendly though). But if you do that you will find your TB nice and clean all the time.
Thorttle body is because of air la... That part also dont have any oil one. If you always behind lorry or Malaysia Lorry that emit black smoke, your throttle body very fast dirty. Also depends how frequently change air filter.

scsim002

Thorttle body is because of air la... That part also dont have any oil one. If you always behind lorry or Malaysia Lorry that emit black smoke, your throttle body very fast dirty. Also depends how frequently change air filter.

The oil comes from the valve cover vent tube and its your engine oil.

Yin2008

So can it also be the other way, ie; O2 sensor causing misifiring (tink i heard e mech say) ?

So far, fc ok... so if i ignore it, e engine light will always on ah... somehw, will feel 'uneasy' ... haha...

Your misfiring may cause O2 sensor reading error also. Check your plugs and your coil. Is your FC ok? If FC and idling OK + starting ok. Then just ignore it.

Yin2008

Spark plug not firing properly in cylinder 4 plus o2 sensor failing. Dont change o2 sensor can, just your ride will drink fuel like mad.

So far, FC not really compromised... Sian, now everyday driving will see the engine light there... Want to brg to reliable ws which any bro/sis can recommend here... Like I said, at least check for what causing the problem b4 pinpointing to the sensor, juz b/c e scanner say so.

LameEntertainer

So far, FC not really compromised... Sian, now everyday driving will see the engine light there... Want to brg to reliable ws which any bro/sis can recommend here... Like I said, at least check for what causing the problem b4 pinpointing to the sensor, juz b/c e scanner say so.

Got try reset the code and see whether it comes up again?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.