Engine Light on

Yin2008

Your misfiring may cause O2 sensor reading error also. Check your plugs and your coil. Is your FC ok? If FC and idling OK + starting ok. Then just ignore it.

Possible to diy check? Any special tools needed & things to look for?

iamverybuaysong

Better send back to agent to check.

My car had the light on too. Sent back to agent to diagnose, camshaft sensor error. Reset but came back after 1 day. Tried to reset again, drove for a while before car went into limp mode.

So I diy reset by disconnecting the batt. Already ordered the parts will send to agent to repair.

Yin2008

Better send back to agent to check.

My car had the light on too. Sent back to agent to diagnose, camshaft sensor error. Reset but came back after 1 day. Tried to reset again, drove for a while before car went into limp mode.

So I diy reset by disconnecting the batt. Already ordered the parts will send to agent to repair.

Care to share ur cost of repair? What's the error code of the problem? I bet your ride will have at least 1.5-2yrs of lifespan ya....

yanbros

A code P0172 may mean that one or more of the following has happened: The MAF (Mass Air Flow) Sensor is dirty or faulty. Note: The use of "oiled" air filters can cause the MAF to become dirty if the filter is over-oiled. There is also an issue with some vehicles where the MAF sensors leak the silicone potting material used to protect the circuitry. There could be a vacuum leak. There could be a fuel pressure or delivery problem Possible Solutions Possible solutions include: Inspect all vacuum and PCV hoses, replace if necessary Cleanthe MAF sensor. Consult your service manual for it's location if you need help. I find it's best to take it off and spray it with electronics cleaner or brake cleaner. Make sure you are careful not to damage the MAF sensor, and make sure it's dry before reinstalling Inspect fuel lines for cracks, leaks, or pinches Check the fuel pressure at the fuel rail Check the fuel injectors, they may be dirty. Use fuel injector cleaner or get them professionally cleaned/replaced. Check for an exhaust leak before the first oxygen sensor (this is unlikely to cause the problem, but it is possible)

Read more at: OBD-II Trouble Code: P0172 System Too Rich (Bank 1)
Copyright © OBD-Codes.com

Yin2008

A code P0172 may mean that one or more of the following has happened: The MAF (Mass Air Flow) Sensor is dirty or faulty. Note: The use of "oiled" air filters can cause the MAF to become dirty if the filter is over-oiled. There is also an issue with some vehicles where the MAF sensors leak the silicone potting material used to protect the circuitry. There could be a vacuum leak. There could be a fuel pressure or delivery problem Possible Solutions Possible solutions include: Inspect all vacuum and PCV hoses, replace if necessary Cleanthe MAF sensor. Consult your service manual for it's location if you need help. I find it's best to take it off and spray it with electronics cleaner or brake cleaner. Make sure you are careful not to damage the MAF sensor, and make sure it's dry before reinstalling Inspect fuel lines for cracks, leaks, or pinches Check the fuel pressure at the fuel rail Check the fuel injectors, they may be dirty. Use fuel injector cleaner or get them professionally cleaned/replaced. Check for an exhaust leak before the first oxygen sensor (this is unlikely to cause the problem, but it is possible)

Read more at: OBD-II Trouble Code: P0172 System Too Rich (Bank 1)
Copyright © OBD-Codes.com

Thanks bro,

In fact, I've changed new set of sparks & also cleaned the MAF sensor.... Same thing, after 1 day, light came back again... Like I've said, currently not experiencing much drastic FC, acceleration also ok leh.... Think now the only thing is the O2 sensor which probably will leave it alone for now... Juz tt hv to deal with the engine light on while driving (drivn for 2weeks le.. Lol...) now all I can is probably juz do the resetting myself lor.... until my ride RIP.... Meanwhile, maybe take this opportunity to 'service' myself by taking out parts; throttle body, to clean it...

yanbros

I'm driving Mazda 2. Also think my o2 is gone. Either that or cat. For parts o2 front is $400, rear $200. Cat $1400. I understand why you just wait till your car end. Mine have 1 year 7 months more. How?

iamverybuaysong

I'm driving Mazda 2. Also think my o2 is gone. Either that or cat. For parts o2 front is $400, rear $200. Cat $1400. I understand why you just wait till your car end. Mine have 1 year 7 months more. How?

If your cat fail, or o2 sensor fail, your exhaust will be abnormal right? Like that how to pass inspection?

Maybe you can find a recon one or one from a scrapped model.

Yin2008

Haha.. I got kaki ah ( not for so good cause though).... Wah, yours both spoil?! Cannot be right? 'Lucky' , mine left <1yr... Btw, did they inspect what causes the O2 malfunction, i hate it when they say 'oh, its sensor got problem'...juz b/c the code say so, if at least they check first & found no other issues lead up to the sensor fault, then no choice, have to change. Think now u got 2 options, change ur ride or change your sensor (b/c I tink u still hv another inspection to go since ur ride still has >1 yr)

So now u oso driving with CEL on huh?

iamverybuaysong

Care to share ur cost of repair? What's the error code of the problem? I bet your ride will have at least 1.5-2yrs of lifespan ya....

Bought used, around 1.5 years left when bought.

Since buying, have done around 1.1k worth of parts change.

Originally I did in Singapore, at outside workshop. Changed quite a few items like thermostat housing, thermostat, radiator hoses, plugs, seals, valve gasket, bushings and alignment for around $800 inclusive of labour.

Then the camshaft sensor failed causing engine light to appear. This time round I went direct to the AD in JB to do. Changed camshaft sensor, alternator belt, side mirror, brake fluid. Cost around $250 converted inclusive of labour. If done in SG, would have cost at least $400 and its not even by the AD.

No repair cannot drive. So just do lor

Yin2008

Bought used, around 1.5 years left when bought.

Since buying, have done around 1.1k worth of parts change.

Originally I did in Singapore, at outside workshop. Changed quite a few items like thermostat housing, thermostat, radiator hoses, plugs, seals, valve gasket, bushings and alignment for around $800 inclusive of labour.

Then the camshaft sensor failed causing engine light to appear. This time round I went direct to the AD in JB to do. Changed camshaft sensor, alternator belt, side mirror, brake fluid. Cost around $250 converted inclusive of labour. If done in SG, would have cost at least $400 and its not even by the AD.

No repair cannot drive. So just do lor

Wah sei, like overhaul like that... Bo bian, unless we really know honest & reliable ws, else, there is nothing we can do but at their mercy.... Just like me, I went to 1 ws for my CEL, he wana charge me $40 for resetting, I ask him go fly kite... Daylight robbery sia....

iamverybuaysong

Looking back, these replacement are just part and parcel of buying a used car.

My previous car, left around 6 months, changed rear absorbers, rotors and engine gasket. Too dangerous to drive without changing as already kaput and I don't want to scrap so early.

End of coe, luckily get some body value and car was exported to Africa.

I think if you wanna drive to the endz a few hundreds is still OK. Otherwise the constant paranoia when it will kaput and leave you stranded. Worse come to worse, replace it, then take out and sell when coe ends lor.

I heard got people replace the cat 2 months before coe ends for few hundreds. But scrap that time got some value back also lah

iamverybuaysong

Wah sei, like overhaul like that... Bo bian, unless we really know honest & reliable ws, else, there is nothing we can do but at their mercy.... Just like me, I went to 1 ws for my CEL, he wana charge me $40 for resetting, I ask him go fly kite... Daylight robbery sia....

I go AD diagnose and reset, cost me $12 when converted back. This is AD not outside workshop lol

yanbros

If your cat fail, or o2 sensor fail, your exhaust will be abnormal right? Like that how to pass inspection?

Maybe you can find a recon one or one from a scrapped model.
They won't test for emissions. Usually they go by smell or visually check if cat still in place.

yanbros

Haha.. I got kaki ah ( not for so good cause though).... Wah, yours both spoil?! Cannot be right? 'Lucky' , mine left <1yr... Btw, did they inspect what causes the O2 malfunction, i hate it when they say 'oh, its sensor got problem'...juz b/c the code say so, if at least they check first & found no other issues lead up to the sensor fault, then no choice, have to change. Think now u got 2 options, change ur ride or change your sensor (b/c I tink u still hv another inspection to go since ur ride still has >1 yr)

So now u oso driving with CEL on huh?
I'm unsure if its o2 or cat spoil . I'm getting an infrared thermometer to check the cat. Resetted the cel about a month back. So far, its not showing but my obd2 Bluetooth still picking up the error code.

Yin2008

They won't test for emissions. Usually they go by smell or visually check if cat still in place.

Oh... I tot they will put a pipe inside ur exhaust to test emission (or am I seeing wrongly.. Lol...)

Hmmm.... Now seems that my misfire code has gone when i did my last scan, however, the P0172 still there though... Hopefully no major issue till the day I scrape it.... :s22:

Yin2008

Looking back, these replacement are just part and parcel of buying a used car.

My previous car, left around 6 months, changed rear absorbers, rotors and engine gasket. Too dangerous to drive without changing as already kaput and I don't want to scrap so early.

End of coe, luckily get some body value and car was exported to Africa.

I think if you wanna drive to the endz a few hundreds is still OK. Otherwise the constant paranoia when it will kaput and leave you stranded. Worse come to worse, replace it, then take out and sell when coe ends lor.

I heard got people replace the cat 2 months before coe ends for few hundreds. But scrap that time got some value back also lah

'Luck' do play a part too when buying an used car, sometimes even new car also got problem. I remember when I first got my ride, there was some issue with the electrical board, lucky still under warranty, else would have easily cost thousands of dollars just to replace it....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.