Engineers pls share your insight on why working overseas is not for you

Min Min

best 20 yrs of my life as EECS grad. Took VLSI and get to hang with Jensen, get to travel the world for work...best gig ever. lifetime frequent flier/hotel...what is there not to like?

maybe me old unker...now this gen need WFH.

anyways semicon is no work life balance lah...must be able to accept it..put in some dues..then go do something else after.

you met Lisa su yet?
angel lai de
love this lady

pcpua84

I talking chipmaker ley bruh
the world all need chips
just look at the gadgets you using
you think mag 7 can survive with no chips ma
I was a field engineer to support end user. I knew the working environment well.

I 'm trying bring you the msg that it will be a challenge to hire local engineering fresh graduate , they already "hiam " the job even they are in R&D department.

dreamcast18

now still in semicon?

trillon dollar chipmaker industry only Singapore lang hiam sia I also dunno why
bonus gao gao somemore
ASML came knocking... i said dun wan..now abit regret..doing same $hitty hours and weekends too...

said dun wan cuz prefer to go Hsinchu to makan and up the mountains drive drive...not deal with PhDs.

So many semicon tai tais in Hsinchu 😅 😅 they even get to fly biz class as work spouses for travels to SG and US.

Min Min

Language barrier is an immense challenge. Imagine reading office documents in Chinese. Omg I will resign on the spot

this bopian 公文都是繁體字
but if you do research can accept english papers

Min Min

I was a field engineer to support end user. I knew the working environment well.

I 'm trying bring you the msg that it will be a challenge to hire local engineering fresh graduate , they already "hiam " the job even they are in R&D department.

that’s why I dunno why trillion dollar industry cannot find suitable Singapore hire even

i dunno how TSMC going to run their plant in SG probably ends up bringing the twnese over instead

pcpua84

that’s why I dunno why trillion dollar industry cannot find suitable Singapore hire even

i dunno how TSMC going to run their plant in SG probably ends up being the twnese over instead

because they are not "hungry" anymore, as some of them came from decent family.
which mean they have 靠山 to support them.

dreamcast18

you met Lisa su yet?
angel lai de
love this lady

nope. but had to facilitate a panel for 郭台銘 & a do special project for his Sharp printer unit in 鴻海. I find 鴻海 easier to deal with than 緯創資通. TBH I think typical SG grads won't survive the intensity of semicon/OEM/ODM sector in TW.

he rejected my offer even
told me 我不想跟我女朋友分開

confirmed idiot.

Tony.Manero

recently i go interview for a role in china MNC
during interview they say maybe require to relocate to china
then ask me ok or not
then i say can consider
then they like want a yes or not answer
but also no details about where in china accomodation all these
how to give answer?
I also try before but is us mnc. At that time they still operate inside. Then want pay me local pay. if accept means paid less than fresh grad here. Mana wu eng unless never want to come back again

Min Min

ASML came knocking... i said dun wan..now abit regret..doing same $hitty hours and weekends too...

said dun wan cuz prefer to go Hsinchu to makan and up the mountains drive drive...not deal with PhDs.

So many semicon tai tais in Hsinchu 😅 😅 they even get to fly biz class as work spouses for travels to SG and US.

you neh noticed second gen all mai take over one meh?
all thrown to “professional” managers in the end

真的富不過三代 tragic

Jedihan

15+ years ago last time hitachi put $2800 sing to work in japan and still need to pay my own rent. I straight away say siao.

If you pay enough, I will switch industry and go. I single and so dont care.

dreamcast18

My 2 cents on this is that moving abroad for work is a big consideration. Whether can adapt to the culture there, cannot speak and read Chinese well, away from family, etc. Maybe better if can bring parents along

Everything provided for also must see what type of accommodation, eat company canteen food? How about transportation? Working hours? Leave?

Scared go there later not what we expect then how? If it is a reputable international MNC then no need so scared, if local family business then ppl will be more wary

if everything worried..then better don't go overseas study or work. Stay in bubble best.

Add to that most in SG with the right Engineering background aren't proficient in Mandarin at the level required to operate in TW. So many people that did Higher Chinese can't even conduct a basic business meeting in Mandarin.

can lah..i C6/D7 for O's and A's also can manage. technical terms i switch back to rojak english + chinese they understand too.

So it's a case of the reward not being sufficient for them to be willing to stay out of their comfort zone in an active discomfort zone.

Correct. stay in comfort zone, then don't expect self made career development.

Min Min

nope. but had to facilitate a panel for 郭台銘 & a do special project for his Sharp printer unit in 鴻海. I find 鴻海 easier to deal with than 緯創資通. TBH I think typical SG grads won't survive the intensity of semicon/OEM/ODM sector in TW.

confirmed idiot.

bruh you must be the first that says foxconn easier to work with
possibly cos you never tio MIA payment or delay until 2 years before since small project nia

you try terry for bigger projects you no kpkb you come back to me lol
ask any tw biz man all scared of him one

dreamcast18

you neh noticed second gen all mai take over one meh?
all thrown to “professional” managers in the end

真的富不過三代 tragic

that's why i love having commandos NSmen in my team. High pain tolerance and perseverance.

u forgot to mention to ur fresh grad candidates : can live without mobile phone with no camera at work? or no camera phone at all during work hours? (But good excuse when GF cannot find him when he's with another girl..lol.. "i'm at work..no mobile phone!")

Min Min

that's why i love having commandos NSmen in my team. High pain tolerance and perseverance.

u forgot to mention to ur fresh grad candidates : can live without mobile phone with no camera at work? or no camera phone at all during work hours? (But good excuse when GF cannot find him when he's with another girl..lol.. "i'm at work..no mobile phone!")

I haven’t even gone to terms 就已經被打槍了

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.