esim discussion

xonix

With main telcos still charging for caller ID, I doubt anyone of them will waive esim charges even if it becomes mainstream.

xonix

Physical and eSIM both have their good and bad.

For 1 time usage like travel SIM card, I would prefer eSIM. Use and delete.

The convenient for Physical sim we all know about it nothing much to talk about.
I have a different opinion about travel with esim. Yes, I agree that it is more convenient to just scan the esim.

But let's imagine a scenario if I am super unlucky and the main phone dies on the trip. Normally, I can just take out the physical sim and pop into the backup phone. I have never used travel esim before so not sure will there be a limited number of transfer for the travel esim QR code.

teoma

Hopefully IOS & Android make it free and force telcos to make it a complimentary too.
actually, it is free, at least on iOS, according to my friend in US. he transfer between his iphones on same iCloud account no problem. it's the greedy telcos that limit it

hereiam7788

From iPhone 13 can already use 2 eSIM at the same time if you want I think

difference is one is 'forced' 2 esim, one is 'optional' 2 esims.
the 'forced' 2 esim is also forcing the stubbon 2 telcos to support esims.

hereiam7788

For the Americans with iPhone 14.

so good meh sinktel? dun believe it that they will do that to cater for just americanos.

if they really are so good hearted, they would have already done so since the launch of iphone 14 series last year and not now only.

froztheart

so good meh sinktel? dun believe it that they will do that to cater for just americanos.

if they really are so good hearted, they would have already done so since the launch of iphone 14 series last year and not now only.
Highly likely ST already have info that the upcoming eSIM iPhones are pushed globally in markets that are able to support eSIM.
SG's company will not do things without business profit incentives. 🤭

twosix

A lot of Americans come to SG on business, few are tourists. Businessman will use their own phone numbers. Tourists will get local sim and if they r using ip14 no choice need to get an esim. So Singtel will get these customers since the other telcos don’t offer any. Still this is a very small portion lah. Probably the iPhone announcing tonight maybe force the use of esim.

hereiam7788

A lot of Americans come to SG on business, few are tourists. Businessman will use their own phone numbers. Tourists will get local sim and if they r using ip14 no choice need to get an esim. So Singtel will get these customers since the other telcos don’t offer any. Still this is a very small portion lah. Probably the iPhone announcing tonight maybe force the use of esim.

it will be still good if lion city set remains at 1 physical sim and 1 esim, although i hope tortoise sinktel and star**** can really offer esim for god's sake.

teoma

It looks like Singapore’s iPhone 15 models will still support a pSIM.

It’s also looking more and more that SingTel’s latest support for eSIM prepaid was more to cater to American tourists with eSIM only models. Considering we get more China than America tourists, and China doesn’t use eSIM, I think that’s what these telcos will cater more for.

Until more manufacturers go eSIM only, it’s going to be a slow push to eSIM for our telcos.

froztheart

It looks like Singapore’s iPhone 15 models will still support a pSIM.

It’s also looking more and more that SingTel’s latest support for eSIM prepaid was more to cater to American tourists with eSIM only models. Considering we get more China than America tourists, and China doesn’t use eSIM, I think that’s what these telcos will cater more for.

Until more manufacturers go eSIM only, it’s going to be a slow push to eSIM for our telcos.
Haizzzzz, a sad day for residents...

teoma

I have a different opinion about travel with esim. Yes, I agree that it is more convenient to just scan the esim.

But let's imagine a scenario if I am super unlucky and the main phone dies on the trip. Normally, I can just take out the physical sim and pop into the backup phone. I have never used travel esim before so not sure will there be a limited number of transfer for the travel esim QR code.
Depends on who your service provider is but the ones I’m familiar with, you could install it several times without issue. Travel eSIM seem to have better customers practice and prices than local telcos.

You should also consider the other scenario, you travel and you lose your phone. If you had a pSIM from local provider, can’t do anything until you come back. Even if you get a foreign pSIM, now you need to get another. But if you have eSIM, when you get a spare phone, you just scan QR code or sign back into your account while on WiFi and you have your line back.

sadboy

Most online travel esim don't allow transfer between phone by default. Usually stated in their TNC. Havant never reach out to any support folk to request this so not completely sure. But most likely is either pay for a new plan or esim download.

I guess only a small percentage of people would bring a spare phone during holiday. But I do bring spare when visit nearby country JB 😁 due to work requirements.

The good thing I notice that esim allow you to opt for more provider (when buying).

There are a lot international company or oversea seller (kkday platform) selling cheaper travel esim. If the thing don't work you can just buy another esim from another company.

animeonegai

Which operators are using esim plans? I am looking at around $16 per month ones. Beside myrepublic and circleslife and m1, are there any others?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.