esim discussion

animeonegai

Try MR with 5g? I not sure if that supports esim as it's under starhub.... but I hate MR as existing customer. They are very good at losing existing customers.

Hardware4455

Is MyRepublic offering the only esim solution in SG if we don’t consider using TPG and M1 network

weelit

Hi all, I inted to go for M1 esim on my iPhone since i travel frequently to Malaysia, feels very troublesome everytime need to swap sim card. My Malaysia Hotlink sim card is prepaid, and there is no esim for prepaid there.

I went to M1 website and saw "Within the My M1+ App, click More > select SIM Management > request for a 5G eSIM." But I couldn't find the "SIM Management" option in M1+ app. Die die must go M1 shop? Activation fees is 37.80 right?

Jurong640

Hi all, I inted to go for M1 esim on my iPhone since i travel frequently to Malaysia, feels very troublesome everytime need to swap sim card. My Malaysia Hotlink sim card is prepaid, and there is no esim for prepaid there.

I went to M1 website and saw "Within the My M1+ App, click More > select SIM Management > request for a 5G eSIM." But I couldn't find the "SIM Management" option in M1+ app. Die die must go M1 shop? Activation fees is 37.80 right?
i suggest you get Malaysia ICC eSIM instead for ad-hoc trip to malaysia. I previously tried before, buy from shopee the esim and activate it before going in.

firesong

There is eSIM prepaid in Malaysia.

I got my Digi card the last time I went. You need to get it from a Digi store, not a reseller.

xonix

Kiwi8

I'm so sure it won't work with SG carriers. :LOL:
Yah lor, the caveat is that they dun work on all carriers, indeed our SG carriers cannot let go of the opportunity to charge people $30++ to transfer the esim. :sad:

Really, seeing the state of things, better for the sinkie customer to retain the use of the physical sim and also buy phones that support physical sim. :sad:

froztheart

Yah lor, the caveat is that they dun work on all carriers, indeed our SG carriers cannot let go of the opportunity to charge people $30++ to transfer the esim. :sad:

Really, seeing the state of things, better for the sinkie customer to retain the use of the physical sim and also buy phones that support physical sim. :sad:
Why not start the assault and everyone start writing in to flood the telcos and IMDA for eSIM.
SInce as we all know nothing's done until complains come in, moreover we are supposed to be a "smart nation". 🤡

Kiwi8

Why not start the assault and everyone start writing in to flood the telcos and IMDA for eSIM.
SInce as we all know nothing's done until complains come in, moreover we are supposed to be a "smart nation". 🤡
No point one lah, I'm sure there are many complaints to the telcos liao, u think they really bother to deal with it? There is a reason why they are considered oligopoly mah.

They will only bring in proper implementation of esim after a long long time, after they have milked enough esim transfer fees.

crystalnox

No need, it will eventually come when Apple phases out SIMs for this region. Just like VoLTE will come next year for all.

xonix

I cannot imagine what would the reaction be if esim only iPhone comes as requested and users ends up still need to pay Telco admin fee for esim transfer. 🤣 I'm sticking with my physical nano SIM until esim transfer is free. Just like when they eventually abolished number retention fee.😏

twosix

I cannot imagine what would the reaction be if esim only iPhone comes as requested and users ends up still need to pay Telco admin fee for esim transfer. 🤣 I'm sticking with my physical nano SIM until esim transfer is free. Just like when they eventually abolished number retention fee.😏
You can always reject the telcos that wants exorbitant price for an esim.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.