Everyone should know basic electricity stuff..... its common sense....

KusitoriBuro

Everyone should know basic electricity stuff..... At least know basic things like fuse, 3 colour coded wires, ampere, circuit breaker, types of plugs etc.....

This is not rocket science and super duper easy one leh.... Can save your life one day.

Me surprised that so many in this forum don't even know basic things like what is earth wire for, why water heaters should not use a standard 13A 3pin plug and why need different wire, why aircon plug is different from the usual one.
i dont know leh. can teach me? my heater installed by **** idk what it plugged into but yeah i turn it on/off with a double pole switch. so what should i look out for if i dont want 3 dead bodies in my bathroom? should get an electrician to do routine check?

BlackCube

same thing can be said for many other things

in the end, everything is common sense?

KnyghtRyder

No need to talk so much.

Just tell me which shop to buy in Singapore (not online) the following item

ABB F202 A-40/0.03 RCCB
Producit ID: 2CSF202101R1400

or its equivalent?
Hardwarecity, they have a few outlets, mostly in the west.
RS online alo sells, but you say cannot be online. (why cannot be online?)

DragonFire

No need to talk so much.

Just tell me which shop to buy in Singapore (not online) the following item

ABB F202 A-40/0.03 RCCB
Producit ID: 2CSF202101R1400

or its equivalent?
Maybe fengshan has it? They entertain walk in sales afaik. I got my MK IP67 outdoor switches from them a few years ago.

Apparatus

DragonFire

It looks like an ordinary dual pole elcb, 40A/30ma rating

This is a class A device which means it will trip on DC leakage as well.

If you have no need for DC leakage detection, you can use a AC rated equivalent.

Schneider’s Acti9 range is a drop in equivalent pn A9R21240

Everyone should know basic electricity stuff..... At least know basic things like fuse, 3 colour coded wires, ampere, circuit breaker, types of plugs etc.....

This is not rocket science and super duper easy one leh.... Can save your life one day.

Me surprised that so many in this forum don't even know basic things like what is earth wire for, why water heaters should not use a standard 13A 3pin plug and why need different wire, why aircon plug is different from the usual one.
You sure? We have many 1000 years series keyboard general phd warriors. Don’t say 3 colours, they can even handle 4 phase while power is on.

WheelThatFails

yes basic

Electric-Power-Formulas-in-AC-and-DC-Circuits..png

Clearnfc

i dont know leh. can teach me? my heater installed by **** idk what it plugged into but yeah i turn it on/off with a double pole switch. so what should i look out for if i dont want 3 dead bodies in my bathroom? should get an electrician to do routine check?

Most important thing?? Grounding. Make sure your grounding is not faulty.

Clearnfc

thank you! yes, you are very right. am helping my in laws as they are planning to buy an ev and would like to set up a charging point in their home. someone (c0ntractor) told us need to have 3 phase, minimally 15kw for fast charging setup. very expensive cos they need to also run extension to the garage area where they will place the isolator and stand alone charger or something. a lot of things man, and very expensive... :(

For your case, you definitely a certified electrical company to install for you. I wouldn't call it common sense for your case No normal homes uses 3 phase and definitely no 15KW.

Apparatus

It looks like an ordinary dual pole elcb, 40A/30ma rating

This is a class A device which means it will trip on DC leakage as well.

If you have no need for DC leakage detection, you can use a AC rated equivalent.

Schneider’s Acti9 range is a drop in equivalent pn A9R21240
I have UPS at home so I need the Type A RCCB

Apparatus

Anyone know where to buy locally the

HAGER 40KA (or 60KA) Type 2 SPD for my new circuit breaker box? Electrician only supplies the HAGER 20KA model

Cannot find at RS online, Hardwarecity etc

Thanks again

DragonFire

Apparatus

Crap you bring up a good point. I didn't specify Type A on my UPS AC DB. Siao liao if they kitted it all out with Type AC. Using a full set of RCBOs...
Yup, the correct term is RCBO because the RCCB comes together with a MCB (blue toggle switch)

Apparatus

Why limit to Hager? An SPD is an SPD. These buggers get expensive boy...
I see Phoenix Contact and Schenider Electric brands more expensive ah

Since I'll be using HAGER ** box, mcb etc I was hoping to get the RCBO and SPD to be same brand lah. ABB also can leh

So what brands are you using for your SPD and RCBO? Can give the exact model so I can consider also?

DragonFire

I see Phoenix Contact and Schenider Electric brands more expensive ah

Since I'll be using HAGER ** box, mcb etc I was hoping to get the RCBO and SPD to be same brand lah. ABB also can leh

So what brands are you using for your SPD and RCBO? Can give the exact model so I can consider also?
Using Chtaike 40kA SPD in TPN config. RCBOs are Eaton. The RCBOs were a special order and took 3 weeks to come in. Using them on my pond UPS DB to prevent single earth fault from tripping everything.

Chtaike's a Chinese OEM label. Planning on switching out for a 60 or 100kA when I put in solar PV (eventually)

I have a big type one in the main meter box. I'll update if I get around to looking at that.

Hafi

Anyone know where to buy locally the

HAGER 40KA (or 60KA) Type 2 SPD for my new circuit breaker box? Electrician only supplies the HAGER 20KA model

Cannot find at RS online, Hardwarecity etc

Thanks again
hah... finally decided to incorporate surge protection in your DB?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.