Exchange Rate

hclee01

Currently, the rate is going at 22.17 at one of the moneychangers in Acrade in Raffles Place.

By the way, you can avoid paying the S$5 service for cash withdrawal in Taiwan by using your DBS/POSB ATM Card at DBS ATM in Taiwan.

Renestar

my fren n i have been monitoring the rates for quite awhile. this week is really low getting from 22 - 22.2. parkway had 22.5 on sat, but by the time i got there, it was close -_-"

anybody gt spare NT to sell? I'm buying A LOT of it. >.<

MeO

Anybody knows the rate at Taiwan Airport now?

I'm leaving tomorrow thus any updates will be of great help.

Thanks!

taediumv

Changed some at Arcade on 10 June 2010 - 22.16

Took forumers' advice and changed some more at Taoyuan airport on 12 June 2010 - 22.52!! :s12:

gundam9

Anybody knows the rate at Taiwan Airport now?

I'm leaving tomorrow thus any updates will be of great help.

Thanks!

before i went taiwan i read about the higher rates there.

but i still changed some in singapore. because typical kiasee mentality.

but the rate is really much better there. singapore money changers are just shortchanging us.

imagine my credit card rate was exactly the same as singapore money changer rate.

sinner1974

Changed at taoyuan airport last night, 22.52!
hehe i take the risk change all my nt at taoyuan.

Using their unlimited data plan sim Card to surf now! Very useful using it on my iphone with google map!!

Cheers!

se7enseas

Changed at taoyuan airport last night, 22.52!
hehe i take the risk change all my nt at taoyuan.

Using their unlimited data plan sim Card to surf now! Very useful using it on my iphone with google map!!

Cheers!

i believe there is limited wifi for me to surf on my iphone in hotel. dissapointing.

may i know which sim did you get, how much and where to get? im new to getting overseas sim card....thks!

pacetone

I read that there is a admin fee of NT$30/- for changing notes at Taoyuan airport. Is this a fixed fee or different amount applies to different admin fee? Also, I read that someone mentioned not to change money at Taoyuan airport on weekends. Why? very crowded, insufficient notes? I'm arriving Taoyuan airport on Saturday, possible to change money there?

Thank you.

fireworks79

I read that there is a admin fee of NT$30/- for changing notes at Taoyuan airport. Is this a fixed fee or different amount applies to different admin fee? Also, I read that someone mentioned not to change money at Taoyuan airport on weekends. Why? very crowded, insufficient notes? I'm arriving Taoyuan airport on Saturday, possible to change money there?

Thank you.
there will b a sub-charge of $30NT.....
there r a couple of money changer inside the airport,be4 n after the immgation counters, go for the shortest Q if u scared of insufficient notes

sinner1974

i believe there is limited wifi for me to surf on my iphone in hotel. dissapointing.

may i know which sim did you get, how much and where to get? im new to getting overseas sim card....thks!

Got the da ge da sim card at taoyuan airport T1. arrival hall turn right. NT645 unlimited data for 5 days plus voice. U may want to get the cheaper one with less value stored if u dun call much.

Hope it helps.

se7enseas

hey thks, im leaving for taipei on 1st jul, but have not book hotel as well as plan itinerary. now starting to panic...

i dunno where exactly should i go, hence dun dare to book hotel first.

Renestar

my fren who just came back last week said it was about 22.3-22.4?

i changed sgd$7K at the arcade, people's corner yesterday at 22.3 :D

going next tuesday, weeeee!

Renestar

Got the da ge da sim card at taoyuan airport T1. arrival hall turn right. NT645 unlimited data for 5 days plus voice. U may want to get the cheaper one with less value stored if u dun call much.

Hope it helps.

oooh so i can use this sim card in my iphone for unlimited data usage? so can msn! :D is there any packages that can call back home using my own phone too?

fireworks79

hey thks, im leaving for taipei on 1st jul, but have not book hotel as well as plan itinerary. now starting to panic...

i dunno where exactly should i go, hence dun dare to book hotel first.
settle ur hotel 1st,summer time,hotels can b quite hard to book wan
itinerary can settle later
no hotels...u gonna slp on the streets

macklow

my fren who just came back last week said it was about 22.3-22.4?

i changed sgd$7K at the arcade, people's corner yesterday at 22.3 :D

going next tuesday, weeeee!

I am also going taipei next tues till sunday, on china airline.

What airline are u taking?

Have not change any money yet.

I have some old taiwan notes ( 5 x 1000), does anyone know where to change to new notes?

cheers

sinner1974

oooh so i can use this sim card in my iphone for unlimited data usage? so can msn! :D is there any packages that can call back home using my own phone too?

Ya with voice too for the unlimited data plan.
Wow 7k sia. U should have change it at taoyuan. The rate there is so much better.
22.52!

Renestar

I am also going taipei next tues till sunday, on china airline.

What airline are u taking?

Have not change any money yet.

I have some old taiwan notes ( 5 x 1000), does anyone know where to change to new notes?

cheers

i will be on my company trip, on Singapore Airlines. :s7: regarding the new notes, i don think anybody will take in old notes already? becos my colleague who went earlier received an old note and was unable to use or exchange it.

Ya with voice too for the unlimited data plan.
Wow 7k sia. U should have change it at taoyuan. The rate there is so much better.
22.52!

ya lor. but don rlly wan to risk it, becos my colleagues who went earlier also said don't have much time to walk around as i was afraid cannot find money changer at the airport. :(

this sim card is sold at wad kind of shops? like those 7-11? :D

sinner1974

i will be on my company trip, on Singapore Airlines. :s7: regarding the new notes, i don think anybody will take in old notes already? becos my colleague who went earlier received an old note and was unable to use or exchange it.

ya lor. but don rlly wan to risk it, becos my colleagues who went earlier also said don't have much time to walk around as i was afraid cannot find money changer at the airport. :(

this sim card is sold at wad kind of shops? like those 7-11? :D

There are a few $ changer in taoyuan so not to worry lah. Not shop, got three booth from 3 different companies side by side. Go ask them, very friendly. I m on my way from taichung to taipei now. Taking bus is so much cheaper than taking hsr. Of cos lah taking longer time to reach. Hsr nt700, bus nt210 :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.