Failed marriages :- why?

pikafunk3

In general
Majority of divorces are initiated by women.

Women tend to leave when they already found something better.

eboy

Times have changed. Divorce is no longer a stigma and women have become more independent

Thoreldan

Accept the person and don't expect them to change.
Having a habit for 20ish-30ish yrs and you expect him/her to change quickly for you ? possibility is close to 0

XuishX

But can be bored before marriage mah so should run before getting married

Can’t compromise meh?

What kind of sick people ?

can share some examples of ego? Not many are egoistic leh .. at least not among my friends

but lust at first sight wont tahan until marriage (which usually is after knowing the person for a period of time)

All the divorces I’ve seen are divorced due to egoism.

Very easy to tell that is due to egoism - each of them will always blame the other party for all the mistakes done which led to divorce. If one can step down and just 认错 and the other reciprocate, they will realise that the marriage issnt so bad and can be rebuilt.

dushensiao

marry for bto and other subsidies la, never see uni students apply for bto meh? Haven go workforce and yet planned to settle down w current gf liao

Loratadine10mg

Divorce rate is quite high these days.
Why do married couples (definitely they were in love with each other once upon a time) fall out and divorce?
Can share your own experience / factors causing the divorce
@Lolile What makes u want to write this topic. Share your profile first?

Married?

Single?
Age?
Sex?
Got gf?
How are I looking at this topic?

Will u marry a foreign wife?

Lolile

Do u have a lasting relationship with every single person u meet?
Do you have difference in opinions with them?

Chances are you will have. And if there is a difference in opinions, then the issue is whether you two work it out.

A long lasting marriage is a testament that both of them has good conflict resolution with most ppl.
I’m generally an easy going person. Will usually agree to disagree on opinions which are immaterial.

I think there are more reasons why couples chose to divorce than not being able to manage their conflicts

I think not seeing eye to eye and unwilling to compromise. And the grand total of accumulated frustration when it breaks.
This type of trait can already know before marriage.
My guess is ppl are too desperate to get hitched that cause them to make the wrong decision despite all the warning signs

You already answered your own question. "...once upon of time". Marriage is not sustained with love that was once upon a time.
That's what shocked young couples the moment they start living 24/7 together.
what kind of shocks that are only discovered after marriage ?

In general
Majority of divorces are initiated by women.
is this true? I’ve read a few similar comments. Tbh kind of surprised me cos I tot most women are more dependent on their life partner

Women tend to leave when they already found something better.
Huh ? Sure anot? You mean find a better man? Then this kind of women dun want also sua; no loss.

Cmonster

It takes two hands to clap.

One sided enduring probably won't last long.
You will be surprised

Due to kids or whatever reasons, people can endure for a long time

Last time when divorce is not common, that is how it is in many marriages

fs_lim

I’m generally an easy going person. Will usually agree to disagree on opinions which are immaterial.

I think there are more reasons why couples chose to divorce than not being able to manage their conflicts

My guess is ppl are too desperate to get hitched that cause them to make the wrong decision despite all the warning signs

is this true? I’ve read a few similar comments. Tbh kind of surprised me cos I tot most women are more dependent on their life partner

Huh ? Sure anot? You mean find a better man? Then this kind of women dun want also sua; no loss.
The shock of needing to constantly give, put effort, work hard to maintain and grow the relation.

pikafunk3

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/two-third-singapore-civil-divorces-in-2021-initiated-wives-124641116.html

Lolile

@Lolile What makes u want to write this topic. Share your profile first?

Married?

Single?
Age?
Sex?
Got gf?
How are I looking at this topic?

Will u marry a foreign wife?
SF, still considered young but not too young 🤫
Just curious why people who love each other can decide to divorce. What happened ?

yokine3a

I don't have any divorced couples in my buddhist friends circle, don't think they are all happily married, but buddhists somehow don't divorce de.

mxkxmx

All the divorces I’ve seen are divorced due to egoism.

Very easy to tell that is due to egoism - each of them will always blame the other party for all the mistakes done which led to divorce. If one can step down and just 认错 and the other reciprocate, they will realise that the marriage issnt so bad and can be rebuilt.
You mean the guy 认错 lah.

Where to see the wife 认错??.

BennyQ

Love and marriage are obsolete. What do u do when your software is obsolete? Do you look for older software? No right? You don't say 1000s of years we use this software liao... u will instead rethink and develop new software.

Ec7171

Quarrel is a form of communication to tell the other partner what u need.

If u r able to resolve that, then the rs can continue. Because after that you understand the person more.

What is immaterial to you might be material to your partner. It can be a problem as well.

Feeling of love is at the present moment. Marriage is an attachment that require more understanding than just satisfying the needs.

Ec7171

You will be surprised

Due to kids or whatever reasons, people can endure for a long time

Last time when divorce is not common, that is how it is in many marriages
I'm not surprised but it is not the best way forward.

When u endure for something long term, u r paying the price eventually.

Last time men go make money while women stay home stay care of kids. It is what it should be thus lesser divorce I believe.

Because it is natural that way.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.