Fans Installation HELP

Teng Zai

Sup guys, done it all good. Instead of using O Ring before fan, I use it between the case and the head of the rubber thing(the ball thing), cos it seem quite loose and easy to go through the case, so I kinda thought it is used to 'enforce' it. I'll leave it as it is for now unless I have issues with noise and stuff.

My next question anyone can answer?

Also another qn. NZXT Sentry 2 have a 3 pin male, but my JetFlo's have 4 pin female. And cannot fit since the 3pin male is like this

(see the left one)
2pinto3pintophuge.jpg

So the 4pin female cannot go in cos too big.

Do I need a 3pin to 3pin or 4pin to 3pin? Or both also can?

WOULD LIKE TO THANK ROYFROSTY BRO X5000 TIMES AND KISS U MANY MANY FOR TAKING EFFORT TO TAKE PHOTO PROPERLY AND ADJUST AND EDIT AND DRAW DIAGRAM IN PEEKTURE JUST TO HALP ME. LOVE U DIP DIP!!!

HONORABLE MENTION TO HOVEN AND THE OTHERS ALSO WHO REPLY AND TRY THEIR BEST EXPLAINING!

Reason why I love HWZ over blue forum. People there too serious and assume everyone should be pro and know everything liao. (Mostly la...generalizing. I know a lot nice nice bro there too!)

tony_ong

In my experience, the back exhaust is the WORST. The mobo will mostly block access to one side of the fan holes, and with rubber screws you have to use a plier to remove it from the inside. I don't know but you have to have a pretty agile fingers to dismount the rubber screw with the mobo still in place.

i see. so far i only used normal screws since none of the fans i bought came with the rubber screws.

Teng Zai

The O ring is for the screws. It's to reduce vibrations.

Screw head -> your casing -> O ring -> fan

Yes, it can be screwed in. You just need a hellua force to turn the screwdriver. Some fans are easy to screw, some fans make you think they forget about the threading is it :s22: All about the QC of the fan. I prefer screwing in to rubber screws. Rubber screws look flimsy.

As for your Sentry 2 connector, you need to get a adapter. 3pin -> 4pin adapter that looks like this:

Wholesale 3pin Female to 3pin 4pin Male PC Fan Power Extension Lengthen Wire | eBay

$T2eC16V,!y0E9s2S646tBRvEvhftt!~~60_3.JPG

OR you can just resolder to the other type of 3pin:

Connector_mb_fan_3pin.jpg

Which is what I did last time.

OR just use a cutter to chop off away the walls of your closed 3pin connector from the Sentry. Frankly I have no idea why they chose a closed 3pin connector instead of a open one.

Just read your edited post. Will think about chopping that wall away. Will void warranty one? And hor, can I use a splitter to connect 1 of the nzxt connector to 2 or 3 fan, and able to control all 3 fan together? Or not enough juice power?

And does 3pin to 4pin (3-way split) even exist? LOL

Where to buy these adapter ah? DONT WANT GO DOWN SIMLIM AGAIN THIS WEEK GO 4 TIME LIAO !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ChandlerBing

Like what Mythmaster mentioned, you need a 3-pin to 4 pin adaptor/converter. It's a common problem. I don't understand why manufacturers can't make standardized fan connectors and headers. I encountered this problem on my recent build as well.

In any case, you can get the adaptors/converters from SLS easily. Go to either Chamoxa or any of the 5th or 6th floor shops where they sell odds and ends and cables etc (Worldwide or something like that), should be able to find.

Looks like another inevitable trip down to SLS for you again bro. :) No choice.

Edit: Yes you can get splitters too. Shouldn't reduce the juice to the fans I think. Chopping off the plastic obstruction on your fan connector or case connector shouldn't void the warranty I think.

Teng Zai

Like what Mythmaster mentioned, you need a 3-pin to 4 pin adaptor/converter. It's a common problem. I don't understand why manufacturers can't make standardized fan connectors and headers. I encountered this problem on my recent build as well.

In any case, you can get the adaptors/converters from SLS easily. Go to either Chamoxa or any of the 5th or 6th floor shops where they sell odds and ends and cables etc (Worldwide or something like that), should be able to find.

Looks like another inevitable trip down to SLS for you again bro. :)

My girlfriend getting sick of walking down the elevator with me in sls :s22:
L4 and L1 elevator going downward not functioning for some time.

Anyway thanks for info on places to get them. Haiz my switch 810 also not big enough to manage cable.. behind the case cover tight fit and can see bulging out abit sia.. I thought I manage quite well already.

Whats the max splitter you advice to get? 3 way can? Or shouldnt go higher than 2?

royfrosty

Sup guys, done it all good. Instead of using O Ring before fan, I use it between the case and the head of the rubber thing(the ball thing), cos it seem quite loose and easy to go through the case, so I kinda thought it is used to 'enforce' it. I'll leave it as it is for now unless I have issues with noise and stuff.

WOULD LIKE TO THANK ROYFROSTY BRO X5000 TIMES AND KISS U MANY MANY FOR TAKING EFFORT TO TAKE PHOTO PROPERLY AND ADJUST AND EDIT AND DRAW DIAGRAM IN PEEKTURE JUST TO HALP ME. LOVE U DIP DIP!!!

HONORABLE MENTION TO HOVEN AND THE OTHERS ALSO WHO REPLY AND TRY THEIR BEST EXPLAINING!

Reason why I love HWZ over blue forum. People there too serious and assume everyone should be pro and know everything liao. (Mostly la...generalizing. I know a lot nice nice bro there too!)

No prob bro. Erm yeah. There is a converter for it. But for me i couldnt care less. I just either cut the wall like you mentioned. Or if i have time since i have extra connector head i cut the connector away. Replaced it with a new connector. But it requires soldering though.

ChandlerBing

Anyway thanks for info on places to get them. Haiz my switch 810 also not big enough to manage cable.. behind the case cover tight fit and can see bulging out abit sia.. I thought I manage quite well already.

Whats the max splitter you advice to get? 3 way can? Or shouldnt go higher than 2?

Hahaha ok. If your gf complains, tell her that you don't complain when she makes you follow her into shops when she tries on shoes/dresses/bags etc hahahaha

Your case should have more than sufficient space behind for cable management. Mine is the real headache to work with. Lucky I've got small hands so still not so bad. Try to hitch your main thick cables (especially the 24 pin) flat against the back of your case and cable tie the other cables to it using it as the 'main artery', so to speak. Basically, try to flatten you cables as much as possible and not bunch any area up. Those that you can maybe hide in the spare ODD drive bay you try to hide.

Relook your cable management again, and do a little planning before making one more trip to SLS to get all the things you may need. Make it your last trip there!

2-3 way splitter should be fine I guess. I've never worked with multiple splitters before (never seen more than 2 in fact), so I can't comment. How many case fans are you planning on installing?

Mythmaker

Just read your edited post. Will think about chopping that wall away. Will void warranty one? And hor, can I use a splitter to connect 1 of the nzxt connector to 2 or 3 fan, and able to control all 3 fan together? Or not enough juice power?

And does 3pin to 4pin (3-way split) even exist? LOL

Where to buy these adapter ah? DONT WANT GO DOWN SIMLIM AGAIN THIS WEEK GO 4 TIME LIAO !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Chopping it away will void warranty.

Yes you can use a splitter and just put 1 fan.

If you want to control all 3, make the combined ampere is within the ampere cap of the Sentry. IIRC, Sentry have pretty crap ampere ratings.

EDIT:
Sentry 2 have a maximum of 10W per channel. That's 0.83A per channel. You need to make sure two things:

1) The combined ampere of all the fans should not exceed 0.83A.

2) The STARTUP ampere of all the fans should not exceed 0.83A. Some fans need some serious jolt in order to startup. Using a FC like Sentry 2 might not make it (would blow when you boot from cold boot when required startup ampere is too high).

Teng Zai

Hahaha ok. If your gf complains, tell her that you don't complain when she makes you follow her into shops when she tries on shoes/dresses/bags etc hahahaha

Your case should have more than sufficient space behind for cable management. Mine is the real headache to work with. Lucky I've got small hands so still not so bad. Try to hitch your main thick cables (especially the 24 pin) flat against the back of your case and cable tie the other cables to it using it as the 'main artery', so to speak. Basically, try to flatten you cables as much as possible and not bunch any area up. Those that you can maybe hide in the spare ODD drive bay you try to hide.

Relook your cable management again, and do a little planning before making one more trip to SLS to get all the things you may need. Make it your last trip there!

2-3 way splitter should be fine I guess. I've never worked with multiple splitters before (never seen more than 2 in fact), so I can't comment. How many case fans are you planning on installing?

Can fit, just damn annoying cos tight. Mainly is the
w%20cable.jpg

That head that I cannot flatten down causing my case to cannot close leh. I manage very well liao and cable tie a lot. I scared it will be hard to work with fans later. Currently, I got 2 intake fans working, 2 corsair stock h100i fans working, and bitfenix spectre led working. Got like 3 jetflo's waiting for me to install at the top leh for pushpull and fill the last hole as an exhaust. Then want to replace h100i fans also.

Aft that still want to add 2 diagonal fan from hdd cage to blow into GPU :s22:
The fans I bought are a pain to work with, so short cables!! Luckily sentry 2 quite long...

Teng Zai

Chopping it away will void warranty.

Yes you can use a splitter and just put 1 fan.

If you want to control all 3, make the combined ampere is within the ampere cap of the Sentry. IIRC, Sentry have pretty crap ampere ratings.

EDIT:
Sentry 2 have a maximum of 10W per channel. That's 0.83A per channel. You need to make sure two things:

1) The combined ampere of all the fans should not exceed 0.83A.

2) The STARTUP ampere of all the fans should not exceed 0.83A. Some fans need some serious jolt in order to startup. Using a FC like Sentry 2 might not make it (would blow when you boot from cold boot when required startup ampere is too high).

Nice info there. Seems like I cant bundle my Jetflo and use together, cos they are 0.4a each

Grr.. Is it a good Idea to use 4x Jetflo for push pull setup, and then plug them all into CPU fan header? They are PWM fans if I'm correct.
Plug in CPU header straight will run? and Run at PWM setting? Then use my FC to control other fans?

Mythmaker

Nice info there. Seems like I cant bundle my Jetflo and use together, cos they are 0.4a each

Grr.. Is it a good Idea to use 4x Jetflo for push pull setup, and then plug them all into CPU fan header? They are PWM fans if I'm correct.
Plug in CPU header straight will run? and Run at PWM setting? Then use my FC to control other fans?

You better check the maximum ampere for the CPU fan header in the motherboard manual. I think they are 0.5A-0.7A or something.

Ark Law

Never really liked rubber mounting since they're troublesome to remove from the case for cleaning. I just force-screw my Antec Truequiet fans and didn't bother with the rubber stuff

Teng Zai

You better check the maximum ampere for the CPU fan header in the motherboard manual. I think they are 0.5A-0.7A or something.

If so little, I just use 1 fan for 1 CPU header(total 4 for push pull), will they all work the same?
(more headache on cable management though)

Also, on the stock h100i fans, I connect the 3 or 4 pin connector of the fan to the h100i itself using the included adapter. Is this necessary if I using other fans instead? Cos really ugly the cable drop down there. I plan to route the cable out to the back and then directly to cpu fan headers. Do-able?
(simply put I dont connect fan to h100i and directly to another cpu fan header instead)

Never really liked rubber mounting since they're troublesome to remove from the case for cleaning. I just force-screw my Antec Truequiet fans and didn't bother with the rubber stuff

Bro is quite easy just abit of force to pull and it will tug in place. Taking out even easier wor.

Mythmaker

One reason why I love Gentle Typhoons so much, is that it only requires 0.08A. Can connect as many as you like and the performance and build quality is still pretty much second to none.

Yes, you can connect to 4 different headers. Just messy.

I'm not sure what the H100i connector is. Too lazy to google either :s13:

Teng Zai

One reason why I love Gentle Typhoons so much, is that it only requires 0.08A. Can connect as many as you like and the performance and build quality is still pretty much second to none.

Yes, you can connect to 4 different headers. Just messy.

I'm not sure what the H100i connector is. Too lazy to google either :s13:

I didn't know got such things haha i thought connect as much as you want all will work LOL.

IMG_1843.jpg

This one, the 2nd and 3rd one is the splitter and the connector to h100i from 4pin.

cyberwave

:eek: S810 not enough space???
i have 13 fans in my S810 still have a lot of space :s13: didnt even bother much to cable manage and the back still can close without problem

Mythmaker

You connect the fans to the H100i because you want the H100i to control the fan speed right? If you don't need it to control the speed, you can connect the fans somewhere else.

Teng Zai

:eek: S810 not enough space???
i have 13 fans in my S810 still have a lot of space :s13: didnt even bother much to cable manage and the back still can close without problem

I noob mah, 1st DIY, and some I really duno how to turn so i just use many cable more than I need instead of reusing :(
Like the hdd and ssd.

You connect the fans to the H100i because you want the H100i to control the fan speed right? If you don't need it to control the speed, you can connect the fans somewhere else.

Ohh, so If I connect it to mobo it will be auto pwm? Or must set in mobo?
Then like this I just need extensions liao lor for all the fans I plan to PWM(Push pull rad), then everything else put to the FC so can make less noisy if I have to.

Mythmaker

I noob mah, 1st DIY, and some I really duno how to turn so i just use many cable more than I need instead of reusing :(
Like the hdd and ssd.

Ohh, so If I connect it to mobo it will be auto pwm? Or must set in mobo?
Then like this I just need extensions liao lor for all the fans I plan to PWM(Push pull rad), then everything else put to the FC so can make less noisy if I have to.

Get another FC lo in addition to the Sentry 2 lo. Get one heavy duty de for all these kinda fans. I'm a more traditional kind of person, so no touch screen for me lol. I like Lamptron FC5v2. Knobs :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.