Fiat maintenance?

aaur4man

How is fiat's spare part pricing compared to korean cars?

from small stuffs like brakepads, air filters, gaskets, timing belts etc to bigger things like gearbox, clutch

also how is a fiat panda fuel consumption? above or below 12km/h? are fiat cars known to be fuel savers/drinkers?

thx.

lattesurf

No idea on the Panda, but i'm driving a Bravo. FC-wise not too bad, able to hit ~12km/L for light-normal foot driving, and around 10km/L for heavy-footed (4~5k shifts).

Parts are easy to get, some major distributors like Tanly should have almost whatever you need for most Fiat models. Prices as compared to Jap/Kor, definitely slightly higher, but it is not everyday that you change such parts, so yeah.

aaur4man

wah even more ex than Honda parts?

Im not sure abt Fiat's reliability.

Is it Conti car?

prefer signaling on the right hand side lol.

tmfwy

Best i got was 16.7km/l using small roads during peak hours, from Kranji Camp to Katong area on my Grande Punto. Average was between 15-7 - 16.3km/l. Expected is at least 15km/l coz i'm using 16" wheels.

Fiat parts are generally 1.5 - 2x more expensive than Jap parts. But when you get them, you will realise the reason they are expensive. However, uncommon parts, you will have to wait.... The price savingsof a used Conti car will more than make up for difference in price compared to their jap/kor equivalent. ;)

Except for the Dualogic gearbox, parts are generally affordable, and maintenance can be done by most workshops. For the more complicated ones, you will have to go back to AC / AS. Not the cheapest, but definitely cheaper than the AD. Expendables like Tutela Gear Oil and Selenia oils can also be bought there. I think general servicing is under $100 for an oil change using Selenia 5W-40 Oil. Around 10-15k km intervals.

lattesurf

i was told by TTS that servicing is every 20K :s31:

Yes, but many people would rather at least change the EO every 10-15k. Been almost 7k since my last 40k servicing, and the EO is starting to turning brown.

aaur4man

wah 1.5 to 2x Jap parts. my colleague driving honda told me parts more ex than hyundai/kia. then fiat how lol.

i do hope if i get it , the parts work as long as they are supposed to cost.

cos was initially looking for hyundai.

then saw fiat price not too bad.

think tml test drive first.

aaur4man

anyway thanks for the comments.

have gotten a fiat panda. not good for 5 seater but comfort and safety is there. more sturdy than korean same price range.

aaur4man

paging for tmfwy !!!

where do u go to service / repair your Fiat? any recommendations.

also i did some research and the Panda 1.2M dynamic doesnt look like it is using Dualogic G/B, just their normal ones. Would you know about it?

lastly, how reliable is TTS in providing warranty for parts?

thx.

lattesurf

TTS warranty? :s13: don't count on it.
You will really need to be very firm and bang the table really hard in order to get warranty from them. Any small mods here and there, they will try to use it to escape warranty.

aaur4man

wah sian.

cos supposedly the sales guy gonna get certain stuff fixed under warranty which wont be cheap.

now just have to wait and see.

dont wanna end up bang table cos their table is quite wobbly :)

tk

also i did some research and the Panda 1.2M dynamic doesnt look like it is using Dualogic G/B, just their normal ones.

1.2M is the manual version mah.. dualogic is the auto version..

aaur4man

oic.

thats good to hear. lower costs :)

another stupid question: how to open the fuel cap?

me and dealer couldnt get it out. surprisingly dealer knows less abt the car than i do.

lattesurf

HAHA! i faced the same problem when i first went to the petrol station.
Just slot the key in, hold the cap still, turn the key right, and turn the cap left.
To lock it, slot the key in, hold the cap still, turn the key right, and turn the cap right.

aaur4man

Ya I found out ytd but can only try on collection liao. lol sian. cant wait to get it.

lattesurf

ops.. i think should be turn the key left for opening or closing the cap. Just went to fill up gas early this morning, and it's left, not right. :s13: but open/close the cap, as normal.

lattesurf

ya.. the pump attendant snapped the rubber strap attaching the cap to the car a few months back. cos he didn't know need key to lock and thought it was the normal twist and close. turn and turn til the strap broke.. grrr...

aaur4man

e car i getting oso same. i told the dealer get it fixed lol. any complaint abt your car? :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.