First-time ICT help needed!

derrickgoh

If you decide NOT to buy the new uniform now, at least go to SAFRA emart to try out the sizes. DO NOT wait for e-sizing day 'cos they have limited uniforms there and again you do not want to fight with the entire battalion to try on the sizes.

SAFRA emart has changing rooms and the uniforms there. Go try on and see what size fits you. Buy 2 or 3 sets, up to you. Remember what sizes so that on e-sizing day you just need to fill up the form and submit. No need to queue up to try uniforms.

The uniform size is a little weird. The large shirt suits me but the sleeves are too long. The medium shirt sleeves are fine but if I put on any more weight, it'll be too tight. In the end I decided to get large. Sleeves long never mind 'cos its mostly worn as smart 4 anyway.

As for the pants, there are buttons on both sides. So if you get fat you can always loosen one button first and if you get fatter, then loosen the other button. With that in mind, I suggest you try on the pants with both buttons on.

It is now compulsary to move about in camp with head dress. If you have your beret that's fine. If not buy a jockey cap. Yes, the e-sizing includes a cap but again I say, you will not get your uniform or cap during this ICT. It is delivered to you one or two months later or you go to SAFRA one or two months later to collect. So if you have no beret now and don't buy a cap, then what head dress are you gonna wear?

The old gray or brown PT shirts and singlets are apparently banned as well. Depends how strict your unit is. My unit is quite ok provided we don't wear gray or brown with number 4 pants. If its part of PT kit they are okay.

That's my unit lah. If your unit is siao on they may expect you to wear the new PT shirt/singlet which is green.

getsby

Bonafider:

My unit was fine with any PT shoes. Can't speak on behalf of your unit.

As for uniform its up to you. I'm speaking from experience as during my 2011 ICT, those who did not do e-sizing yet were told to do so and told that in 1 to 2 month's time emart will contact them to say collect from Safra unless they had chosen the home delivery option.

There is no way they can size you and give you the new uniforms in the same ICT. Those who can fit into their old uniforms is fine. No hurry. Problem now is you can't fit. So if you don't buy the new uniform as some have suggested, what are you going to wear?

As for how many sets to buy its up to you. If I was in your shoes I'd buy 3. If you are comfortable with 2 that's up to you. But 1 set is definitely nuts 'cos what you are going to wear when you wash it? Unless you are fine with wearing 1 uniform for the whole week.

If you need to buy any emart items like field pack, field pack items, etc I suggest you go to emart at SAFRA Mount Faber before your ICT. That's the largest emart and they open everyday. Not as crowded too.

Some people suggested waiting till you go for ICT and then buy from your camp's emart.
Call me "siao on" if you like but again I'm speaking from experience. 3/4 of your battalion will have the same idea of going emart during ICT and you will have MASSIVE queues at the emart.

Some ppl are slow shoppers. Some don't even know what they want. Some are pain in the arses. It is not fun having to queue up. And that is assuming you have time to queue. I've seen people having to leave after queuing up for half an hour as they were told to fall in.

Which is why I always avoid buying from my camp's emart during ICT unless absolutely necessary e.g. I need something urgently. If its not urgent, I would rather go to SAFRA emart. Much shorter queues and don't have to worry about being told to fall in while you are queuing up. And because that emart is so huge, they have tons of stuff so chances of you being unable to find something is less.

Again I say, its your call. Since you have time now, why not prepare whatever you can rather than in-process and then last minute kan cheong spider because everything not ready and then have to fight with the other kan cheong spiders at your camp's emart?

Can lei.

i got my new no.4 during my 6th ICT,

it is 2weeks ICT, the 1st week, we do the e-sizing, then the 2nd week the thurday they come and distribute to all the nsmen in the ICT unit.....then out-pro fri

derrickgoh

Can lei.

i got my new no.4 during my 6th ICT,

it is 2weeks ICT, the 1st week, we do the e-sizing, then the 2nd week the thurday they come and distribute to all the nsmen in the ICT unit.....then out-pro fri
Depends on unit lah. That time our's didn't. My friend's 2 wk ICT also didn't.

Kiwi8

I also got my new uniforms during the same ICT. If I'm not wrong, it's like 9 days (or 15 days, can't remember clearly), so if your ICT is shorter than that or that they somehow cockup, or somehow change rules to lengthen the preparatory period of uniforms, then perhaps yes, u can't get them in the same ICT.

Other than that, I agree with all of derrickgoh's suggestions. Very detailed. :)

Especially the part about the entire battalion scrambling at the camp emarts almost at the same time and the long queues. :s22:

jq75

Everyone jam emart, if cant get what u want, will kenna punishment?

derrickgoh

Everyone jam emart, if cant get what u want, will kenna punishment?
Depends on your officer. They can always say you know what are the field pack items. Since you know don't have, why you didn't buy earlier? Why wait until in-pro then go and fight with ppl then kena out of stock?

getsby

what's the color of current PT tees?

images

this color.......

Bonafider

So I went ahead and got myself 2 sets of no. 4s. Bought a couple sets of the ugly green admin n singlet tees as well since heard some comments about some units being strict about the grey ones.

Regarding 'standard' items for field pack, anyone familiar with that? The mess tins? Plastic mug? Lol..

TA200

Time to zzzz for your new adventure tomorrow!!

ICT at the wrong time when pple busy with CNY

getsby

So I went ahead and got myself 2 sets of no. 4s. Bought a couple sets of the ugly green admin n singlet tees as well since heard some comments about some units being strict about the grey ones.

Regarding 'standard' items for field pack, anyone familiar with that? The mess tins? Plastic mug? Lol..

just bring the personal necessary item can liao eg:
towel
slipper
soap
some plastic bag
underwear
powder
camo scaft
white sock
green sock
shaver
running shoes
PT kit
no.4
SBO
helmelt
mess tin/mug>>>you can just fucck it man..we dun even use it for 8 ICT liao

Bonafider

just bring the personal necessary item can liao eg:
towel
slipper
soap
some plastic bag
underwear
powder
camo scaft
white sock
green sock
shaver
running shoes
PT kit
no.4
SBO
helmelt
mess tin/mug>>>you can just fucck it man..we dun even use it for 8 ICT liao

Thanks! Pretty much got everything covered on your list except for 'Camo Scaft'. Did you mean scarf? Anyway I don't have also lol~

Toilet paper have bo? Need to bring our own? :s13:

getsby

Thanks! Pretty much got everything covered on your list except for 'Camo Scaft'. Did you mean scarf? Anyway I don't have also lol~

Toilet paper have bo? Need to bring our own? :s13:

toilet paper and wet tissue a must!!!!!

locker + key

toothbrush /tooth paste

vasilli07

toilet paper bring your own lah...outside toilet paper quality no good 1.

derrickgoh

Camo scarf is not standard field pack item. Don't bother unless your unit specifically tells you to get it.

getsby

Camo scarf is not standard field pack item. Don't bother unless your unit specifically tells you to get it.

Camo scarf is for personal use one in outfield to siam dust or to prevent mosquito when use on covering face!!!

anyway the list that i type is not standard item!!

it is only personal item to be bring during ICT...
I also fucck care standard items one....only for MOB manning then need standard item, otherwise only bring the things you need for ICT nia!!!

losthope00

sorry to bring this post up.
i am heading to my ICT next week ...
my helmet too small now ... so i just bring in to sign 1206?? need to pay on the spot? If SBO is oldie type nvm rite...
I actually dont know what to bring also leh...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.