fitness first

monk..

But how client know they are freelance or not? What about full time older trainer? Gotta adhere to standards too

actually the profile of all the trainers are shown on the board at each branch.
there are 3 levels of trainers - silver, gold and platinum.
If i'm not wrong, the silver are the newer ones while the gold and platinum are the freelance ones.
If you are freelance, i dont think need to adhere to "standards" and you works the hours you want.

galapogos

But I give them credit for trying new things and progressing. After all we bitch about them using machines and performing half-fvcked squats, if we bitch about them b@stardising other stuff, then it's kinda no-win for them.

I'm not as forgiving as you. I see it as them taking something and trying to re-invent the wheel, dumb it down to some cutesy standard that totally defeats the whole point so that they can market these new "tools" to people who don't wanna work hard.

Here's an idea - if they wish to progress, learn the proper way of performing these movements, master them, and then teach them to their clients once they have a clue.

BradLee

actually the profile of all the trainers are shown on the board at each branch.
there are 3 levels of trainers - silver, gold and platinum.
If i'm not wrong, the silver are the newer ones while the gold and platinum are the freelance ones.
If you are freelance, i dont think need to adhere to "standards" and you works the hours you want.
Vurto is a FF member, r u aware that gold and platinum r freelance?

monk..

Vurto is a FF member, r u aware that gold and platinum r freelance?

brad...are you a FF member?
if you are, you can approach the trainers and ask.
or if you are, you can observe that those silver level trainers need to work shifts and walk the floor assisting any members who ask for them.
those that are gold and platinum dont work shifts and they work the hours that they have appts with clients....so technically...if you dont have many clients...you are actually quite free.

monk..

I am not yet, but i have been there a few times like when they got promo, u can try for a day and good thing about FF is they dun hardsell, if u say u need time to think about it they let u go. But u need to go thru the sales talk lah which is quite sian also. and i got to know from the sales consultant that they are going to open one more at what marina financial centre.

the sale talks is norm lah....all global gyms will have that....but at least they are not hard-selling or pushy...and you leave stress-free...
yes, one more coming up in jun at MBFC...

Cryptrus

Don't you just hate it when people take legitimate training tools, b@stardize them, and then give them a bad name? It's "functional training" all over again. In fact, I bet that's what gave squats and deadlifts a bad name with the orthos and sports doctors. Get a bunch of "personal trainers" who don't know the difference between their triceps and triceptosaurus, get them to teach unsuspecting aunties how to squat/deadlift, and BOOM! Instant disc hernia and torn meniscus.

i saw one very bad deadlifts 2 weeks ago. that poor fellow obviously cannot handle the weights and the trainer juz stand there ask him do, the form was totally out and positioning is all wrong... i pity him:s13:

bhkpop

How east is your east?

True Fitness - Parkway Parade, Tampines NTUC
FF - Tampines
Bedok Reservior - Can't remember, on top of a carpark?
Ziklag - Siglap, Kembangan (opening in Jun/Jul).
Genesis - Old airport road
SWF - Opposite leisure dome

My route pratically is expo tampines punggol daily.
Actually I've joined FF already, thinking of switching to TF but the review is not that nice.. Previously the gym above the sushi place at tampines. Nevertheless I'm going to try the free trial if there is any one of these days..

Anyone played with the machine what prints out your information? Eg weight, body fat
Got one at FF. You can try if you wanted it. They will do it if you come for free trial the first time. But to make it accurate, don't eat or exercise before you use the machine. Sometimes can be error.

TRX, Viper (???), I even see a tyre lying around.
TRX and Viper got. But tire? That is new. Never see this at FF Tamp.

Does FF give overnight lockers?
Yes they do. You have to rent it monthly. I think 20$ if not mistaken.

vurtomatic

I'm not as forgiving as you. I see it as them taking something and trying to re-invent the wheel, dumb it down to some cutesy standard that totally defeats the whole point so that they can market these new "tools" to people who don't wanna work hard.

Here's an idea - if they wish to progress, learn the proper way of performing these movements, master them, and then teach them to their clients once they have a clue.

I get your point, and I understand they're jumping on the bandwagon. After all functional training was bandied about 2yrs ago and people in the know hardly make a point of it anymore.

But as with the masses, these things take a while and this is still a step towards bringing such ideas to the mass consciousness.

We ARE a very very niche subset of the fitness community compared to the masses.

bhkpop

the sale talks is norm lah....all global gyms will have that....but at least they are not hard-selling or pushy...and you leave stress-free...
yes, one more coming up in jun at MBFC...
You mean FF going to open at MBFC?

i saw one very bad deadlifts 2 weeks ago. that poor fellow obviously cannot handle the weights and the trainer juz stand there ask him do, the form was totally out and positioning is all wrong... i pity him:s13:
yes, it is. i saw some PT that just playing with the phone while the client do the moves and moreover they do squat >.<
alamak.. the client will be injured in long term if they do in that kind of form

monk..

You mean FF going to open at MBFC?

Yes.

yes, it is. i saw some PT that just playing with the phone while the client do the moves and moreover they do squat >.<
alamak.. the client will be injured in long term if they do in that kind of form

yes...unfortunately...such trainers do exist....

Soul77

Their latest toy in AMK is some kind of bar with one end attached to some kind of rubber string. looks interesting, but don't know the name.

Cryptrus

Their latest toy in AMK is some kind of bar with one end attached to some kind of rubber string. looks interesting, but don't know the name.

they pull and pull.. wave like baseball bat.. seriously a waste of time to ask their client to do that

Soul77

That's the Viper lor. One of the trainers told me.

No. that's not viper. This is viper. I seen before during the morning CNA exercise segment, when the FF "Master Trainer" show his stuffs

1a68c84a0c5f20fc388b2da712279c24.jpg

ketua

Yes this is the Viper I saw at TF. Comes in 10kg and 20kg.

Besides those functional movement, PTs have their clients 'flip tyre' using the 10kg one. :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.