Fixed Deposit has been gradually dropping...

Multiversal

From last year onwards, it has been dropping to a low of 2 5%...
When will it rises?
It will rise if the conditions which caused it to rise last time happen again.

It's like boomers whining about how good the 1970s and 1980s were. Singapore was receiving a lot FDIs, but those were low tech industries, now considered sunset, and we were booming, while China only opened up in 1978 and up till the 1980s was still fragile, and not quite able to "steal" our factory jobs. If you want back the good old days of the 1970s, turn the clock back lorh...

The conditions today are a China which dares to show Trump a middle finger. India is a new economic powerhouse that Sinkies ignore at their own loss. Russia is economically not quite there but it invested a lot of its money on weapons, and if the law of the jungle rules, it will do what it will do (if it can get away with it).

Iran is threatening to hit US bases, and Trump had despatched hundreds of fighter jets to the Middle East. China is supplying Iran with weapons, Trump is supplying Ukraine with the same. Turkey, Iraq and Syria look set to join Iran to annihilate Israel from the map of the world.

You tell me, which company dares to expand its operations by opening more branches within the country and setting up more subsidiary companies around the world? When there is no plan for expansion, it goes to say that there's no demand for capital, and banks don't need so much of your savings in FD lorh. You should be grateful if they still pay you 2 to 2.5% and not charge you 2 to 2.5% to let you keep your money with them.

hachi

Open high interest account and do the shifting for max interest

herzberg

I opened BOC app and see their time deposit interest rate is below 1.9% leh
Boc got this current acct promo, tiered interest rate, though. I asked chatgpt count for me and it said ish 2.6% per annum, dunno zhun or not

Lchlch

They said US index is the future indicator, when it’s going all time high, means a lot liquidity in the market (means interest is low or going to be low). So same for the other way round.
Okok noted.
I will see if us index drop, them got hope.
What is the current us index now?

Lchlch

My interest income fell from $40,000 per annum to $20,000 per annum. Better to buy gold and bank shares now
Wow, it drop by half.
40k interest, u park more than $2 mio plus in fd?

Visor9999

It’s not possible for interest to go up now as private property owners want low interest rates to finance their loans

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.