Flying to Hangzhou!

carey

I prefer Shanghai over Beijing.

Beijing transport infrastructure too oldish

The metro stations many no escalator, staircase up down up down up down up down

Then underground walking paths to transfer station very looooonnggg

Just when you thought reach liao you see staircase then up down up down again.

I read that because Beijing ancient city so there are limitations to what can be done underground so all the funny twist and turn come out

The local food also not my taste what 卤煮 炒干 豆汁
Maybe cos I like cycling around the city - can't do as much in Shanghai

We stayed near Longmen Temple in Beijing, so it's pretty much in the hutong

Got a local market, got lots of small shops and walkable to Wangfujing

carey

I never go Beijing before!!
But ok to go. I wanna see 紫禁城, 故宫
Maybe next year I will go back to Beijing; but I also want to visit other cities like Chongqing, Chengdu and X'ian hahah

Last time my business trips were usually to Fujian and Henan - touch and go type, never get to see anything

Spike

A lot of aunties wearing bridal gowns and taking photos here sia.

Half of the staff here are quite chio! 😲

Bam25th

I usually ask Deepseek to plan an itinerary for me

Just tell it what you want to do for your trip and it will plan and adjust until it suits you hahah
Deepseek is outdated sometimes though.

I just went Hangzhou too. They recommended Lingyin temple, and said need pay ticket entry.

End up is free, but need reserve through the WeChat mini-app at least a day before.….

Lucky I was googling about the temple and found out, but too late to reserve for the day I originally planned to visit the temple….

NTB2DO

A lot of aunties wearing bridal gowns and taking photos here sia.

Half of the staff here are quite chio! 😲

Didn't see such groups when we were there, but then it was winter time they wear like that sure will 冻坏 :s13:. Bumped into few fellow Singaporean families though. The place was quite empty then, we need not queue for any of the (virtual) rides there.

Anyway the 千古情was highly recommended by our local guide because he felt that it was way nicer than HZ's '印象西湖' (which we specifically went to watch). I find both OK.

Monstruo^

Maybe next year I will go back to Beijing; but I also want to visit other cities like Chongqing, Chengdu and X'ian hahah

Last time my business trips were usually to Fujian and Henan - touch and go type, never get to see anything
You mean do Beijing, Chongqing, Chengdu, and Xi’an together? Wouldn’t these be too packed for one trip?

carey

Deepseek is outdated sometimes though.

I just went Hangzhou too. They recommended Lingyin temple, and said need pay ticket entry.

End up is free, but need reserve through the WeChat mini-app at least a day before.….

Lucky I was googling about the temple and found out, but too late to reserve for the day I originally planned to visit the temple….
Yes, sometimes need to correct Deepseek or ask it to check again

carey

You mean do Beijing, Chongqing, Chengdu, and Xi’an together? Wouldn’t these be too packed for one trip?
No lah, too packed for 1 trip

I don't mind going back to Beijing; but I want to do other cities as well

Probably do Chongqing and Chengdu together; pair X'ian with Beijing etc

Spike

No lah, too packed for 1 trip

I don't mind going back to Beijing; but I want to do other cities as well

Probably do Chongqing and Chengdu together; pair X'ian with Beijing etc
Chongqing is a relatively boring place.. I would say two days are good enough. Can spend most days in Chengdu. Would recommend you watch Chong Qing 1949. It was an impressive show.

Can avoid the panda enclosure. Singapore River Safari is much better.

carey

Chongqing is a relatively boring place.. I would say two days are good enough. Can spend most days in Chengdu. Would recommend you watch Chong Qing 1949. It was an impressive show.

Can avoid the panda enclosure. Singapore River Safari is much better.

Hmm, my friend came back from Chengdu and he was quite impressed by the pandas

I, on the other hand, went to Beijing zoo and came away underwhelmed hahah

PSA - please avoid Beijing Zoo, it's really pathetic

Spike

Hmm, my friend came back from Chengdu and he was quite impressed by the pandas

I, on the other hand, went to Beijing zoo and came away underwhelmed hahah

PSA - please avoid Beijing Zoo, it's really pathetic
The last time I was there, queued like 1 hour to see some celebrity **** of a panda.. and they only have several pandas there.

I don't visit any other countries' zoos as a practice..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.