Foodelicious!

carey

u can opt to meet us at slug directly...

Parking: Entrance is at Telok Kurau Road
Parking fee: Payment by CashCard
• $1.00 per hour or part thereof (from 8am-5pm)
• $1.80 per entry (after 5pm, and on Sundays and Public Holidays)

Jin expensive woah...

Whole day will cost me >S$10 - me peasant :(

kunoichi

Jin expensive woah...

Whole day will cost me >S$10 - me peasant :(
take mrt then, got raven and kahlan staying west oso... wun be lonely de (plus u can play ur games on the mrt to entertain urself oso mah) :s12:

or u see who staying in the area can let u park ur cab in their premises for free loh....???

carey

take mrt then, got raven and kahlan staying west oso... wun be lonely de (plus u can play ur games on the mrt to entertain urself oso mah) :s12:

or u see who staying in the area can let u park ur cab in their premises for free loh....???

Will take MRT then :s13:

So where are we meeting on Sat and what time? heheh

swatchie

Even if his findings are all backed by scientific studies? :s22:

Or read this...

http://www.drbriffa.com/2011/07/12/...ntake-does-not-prevent-disease-or-save-lives/

Even if you have been lied to?

http://livinlavidalowcarb.com/blog/...ic-basis-for-the-u-s-dietary-guidelines/10986

And Gary Taubes is by no means a relatively unknown writer hor...

(From your wiki link)
Taubes has won the Science in Society Journalism Award of the National Association of Science Writers three times and was awarded an MIT Knight Science Journalism Fellowship for 1996-97. He is a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation independent investigator in health policy.

Taubes studied applied physics at Harvard University and aerospace engineering at Stanford University (MS, 1978). After receiving a master's degree in journalism at Columbia University in 1981, Taubes joined Discover magazine as a staff reporter in 1982.

To each his own bah...

In the meantime, I will happily eat my eggs and pork bellies :s13:

Honestly to me, scientific studies are like statistics. Both can be fine tuned to show what the author wants to show, which is a form of biasness. I've had my fair share while majoring in acturial science. Please don't get be wrong. I'm not insinuating that Taubes did anything of that sort but just highlighting that fact. If you realise, all his awards are journalism related. This is a medical issue, no?

I hope you do realise that the blogpost you shared only tells you the story from 1 person's perspective? With sentences like "But according to my source who was in attendance to hear her speech, you could tell she had an obvious discontent with the nutritional recommendations that are now being thrust upon Americans" Now, how is that a credible source?

carey

Honestly to me, scientific studies are like statistics. Both can be fine tuned to show what the author wants to show, which is a form of biasness. I've had my fair share while majoring in acturial science. Please don't get be wrong. I'm not insinuating that Taubes did anything of that sort but just highlighting that fact. If you realise, all his awards are journalism related. This is a medical issue, no?

No worries, it's always good to get another opinion...hahah

Well, he got his award because he was rigorous i.e. his pieces were very well researched...

So if he's writing about nutrition, then I assumed that he has done the same rigorous research and after reading his book, I think he has...

I hope you do realise that the blogpost you shared only tells you the story from 1 person's perspective? With sentences like "But according to my source who was in attendance to hear her speech, you could tell she had an obvious discontent with the nutritional recommendations that are now being thrust upon Americans" Now, how is that a credible source?

Yup, but new research are showing that the recommendations are not based on science...

Anyway, based on my n=1 experiment, it's working very well for me :s13:

carey

You can park along the road side just before the place or at other lorongs. It's a private housing estate so FOC.

Provided they don't draw the silly single white line along the road...hahah

Or the residents don't complain and come out to express their displeasure on my car :s13:

kunoichi

Or the residents don't complain and come out to express their displeasure on my car :s13:
someone i know kena a letter stuck on his wiper before.... very heartfelt message filled with lots and lots of love :love:

i dun mean the love in a good way :s12:

or carey's car kena stomp'd "chow elite stingy to pay for parking kena block my roadside...."

kyma

How about carey going to do a health check-up now and maybe a year or 2 later as a reference for us to compare? :) The check-up should include results as such HDL, LDL, VLDL, visceral fat, total body fat, BMR, biological age, etc.

Toons

How about carey going to do a health check-up now and maybe a year or 2 later as a reference for us to compare? :) The check-up should include results as such HDL, LDL, VLDL, visceral fat, total body fat, BMR, biological age, etc.

Lol, he is not selling you a diet plan ler. You believe or not, its up to you.

wackykid

he'll tell u forget about the amount of HDL/LDL/VLDL.... afterall cholesterol is not bad.... so is pointless for those health checks to measure all that cholesterol..

regards,
wacky

twtan14

To each his own, whether one chose to believe or not. Lets not start arguing, OK?

kyma

This is just a discussion. Isn't this online forums are for? BTW, this is off-topic anyway. :o

BigMonkey

Senior Citizens Katong Excursion (Closed)
乐邻边走边吃, 加东游
Makan and visit President's house

Date: 23rd July 2011 (Saturday)
Time: t.b.c

Quote:

Agenda
Lunch@ Garden slugs
Tea-time: durian (maybe ALAT?)
Snack: song he tao (joo chiat)
Sight-see: President's house (see from outside only)
Dinner: deep-fried pork knuckle (zi char place)
Dessert: ice cream?
Supper: ???
who's going?
1. kunoichi
2. Carey
3. Kahlan
4. Lovejade
5. Twtan
6. dennyz
7. wacky
8. BM (TBC)
10. raven1019

Can out TBC first? cos my boss just told me he might change schedule.

kunoichi

Can't go liao (need to work[server migration, cable organisation]) see some of the peeps on sunday. :)
okay, gambatte with ur work :s12:

Senior Citizens Katong Excursion (Closed)
乐邻边走边吃, 加东游
Makan and visit President's house

Date: 23rd July 2011 (Saturday)
Time: t.b.c

Quote:

Agenda
Brunch @ Garden slugs
Snack: song he tao (joo chiat)
Sight-see: President's house (see from outside only)
Dinner: deep-fried pork knuckle (zi char place)
Dessert: durian (maybe ALAT?)

who's going?
1. kunoichi
2. Carey
3. Kahlan
4. Lovejade
5. Twtan
6. dennyz
7. wacky
8. raven1019

carey

he'll tell u forget about the amount of HDL/LDL/VLDL.... afterall cholesterol is not bad.... so is pointless for those health checks to measure all that cholesterol..

regards,
wacky

Nope - I am saying that the numbers by themselves don't mean anything - it is the ratios that are more important...

High total cholesterol is not a good gauge of health - if you have high HDLs, then it's only logic that total cholesterol will go up

And LDLs is just an estimation and is very dependent on your triglycerides - but if you have very good (low) triglycerides, then the formula wrongly estimates your LDLs

However as long as your triglycerides are very low, chances are your LDLs are the large fluffy stuff

As for Kyma's query, I measure my cholesterol levels every 6 months

Whether you believe it's good or not, not my business lol

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.