Foodelicious!

Kahlan

It's deepfried pork lard :s13:

I was rendering oil but was lazy to cut the lard into smaller pieces...so end up didn't get much oil :s22:

Yes, eggs are fine - they are one of the best sources of protein :)

Eggs DO NOT raise cholesterol and by the way, it's a myth that high cholesterol can cause heart diseases

http://www.healthdiaries.com/eatthis/10-health-benefits-of-eggs.html

Thanks Carey, i love fried eggs and soft boiled eggs. So now i can eat happily.

a day spent nomming... lunch at Hokkaido fair at taka, no pics... ate a bento (so delicious) then went to the Hokkaido fair at Isetan Scotts, nothing special....

then dinner @ Medz

wah kunoichi mei mei go Hokkaido fair again? WHich bento set you ate. Why no pics?

swatchie

It's deepfried pork lard :s13:

Eggs DO NOT raise cholesterol and by the way, it's a myth that high cholesterol can cause heart diseases

http://www.healthdiaries.com/eatthis/10-health-benefits-of-eggs.html

It's not exactly a myth.

Taken from http://www.patientlinx.com/highcholesterol/highcholesterosymptoms.cfm

When there is too much cholesterol (a fat-like substance) in your blood, it builds up in the walls of your arteries. Over time, this buildup causes "hardening of the arteries" so that arteries become narrowed and blood flow to the heart is slowed down or blocked. The blood carries oxygen to the heart, and if enough blood and oxygen cannot reach your heart, you may suffer chest pain. If the blood supply to a portion of the heart is completely cut off by a blockage, the result is a heart attack.

"High blood cholesterol itself does not cause symptoms, so many people are unaware that their cholesterol level is too high. It is important to find out what your cholesterol numbers are because lowering cholesterol levels that are too high lessens the risk for developing heart disease and reduces the chance of a heart attack or dying of heart disease, even if you already have it. Cholesterol lowering is important for everyone--younger, middle age, and older adults; women and men; and people with or without heart disease

Source: National Heart, Lung, and Blood InstituteNIH Publication No. 01-3290"

carey

This is old stuff

There are tons of newer research out that have debunked that :s13:

It's not exactly a myth.

Taken from http://www.patientlinx.com/highcholesterol/highcholesterosymptoms.cfm

When there is too much cholesterol (a fat-like substance) in your blood, it builds up in the walls of your arteries. Over time, this buildup causes "hardening of the arteries" so that arteries become narrowed and blood flow to the heart is slowed down or blocked. The blood carries oxygen to the heart, and if enough blood and oxygen cannot reach your heart, you may suffer chest pain. If the blood supply to a portion of the heart is completely cut off by a blockage, the result is a heart attack.

"High blood cholesterol itself does not cause symptoms, so many people are unaware that their cholesterol level is too high. It is important to find out what your cholesterol numbers are because lowering cholesterol levels that are too high lessens the risk for developing heart disease and reduces the chance of a heart attack or dying of heart disease, even if you already have it. Cholesterol lowering is important for everyone--younger, middle age, and older adults; women and men; and people with or without heart disease

Source: National Heart, Lung, and Blood InstituteNIH Publication No. 01-3290"

kyma

There are 2 types of people in this world. One type that treasures physical appearance more than their health, aka "爱靓唔爱命" type. The other type are those that treasures their life and health more. ;)

kyma

But then again, for eggs, it is somewhat controversial and/or ambiguous. Some articles do state that although eggs have high cholesterol but they are actually good for health too, in moderation, of course. No matter what, moderation is the key.

carey

You might want to hold on to that thought.

http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/dci/Diseases/Hbc/HBC_WhatIs.html

Revised July 2011

http://trusted.md/blog/vreni_gurd/2...ol_does_not_cause_heart_disease#axzz1SOxiKkJQ

High cholesterol is a "disease" because the drug companies want to sell us statins...

Mainstream health authorities are still toeing that line because of what Ancel Keys "found" in the 1970s (I think) - he was the one responsible for drive to eradicate high cholesterol but his actual finding was flawed from the start...

Just google for Gary Taubes and see how he has debunked Keys' assertation with actual scientific studies done quite recently...

carey

There are 2 types of people in this world. One type that treasures physical appearance more than their health, aka "爱靓唔爱命" type. The other type are those that treasures their life and health more. ;)

Actually, there's another type...people who treasure both their physical appearances and their health...hahah

And it's achieved by low-carbing :s13:

writetodonkey

Senior Citizens Katong Excursion (Closed)
乐邻边走边吃, 加东游
Makan and visit President's house

Date: 23rd July 2011 (Saturday)
Time: t.b.c

Quote:

Agenda
Lunch@ Garden slugs
Tea-time: durian (maybe ALAT?)
Snack: song he tao (joo chiat)
Sight-see: President's house (see from outside only)
Dinner: deep-fried pork knuckle (zi char place)
Dessert: ice cream?
Supper: ???

who's going?

1. kunoichi
2. Carey
3. Kahlan
4. Lovejade
5. Twtan
6. dennyz
7. wacky
9. BigMonkey
10. raven1019

Sorry, i can't attend on that day.
Giving up the space to anyone who can attend the whole makan trip.

swatchie

http://trusted.md/blog/vreni_gurd/2...ol_does_not_cause_heart_disease#axzz1SOxiKkJQ

High cholesterol is a "disease" because the drug companies want to sell us statins...

Mainstream health authorities are still toeing that line because of what Ancel Keys "found" in the 1970s (I think) - he was the one responsible for drive to eradicate high cholesterol but his actual finding was flawed from the start...

Just google for Gary Taubes and see how he has debunked Keys' assertation with actual scientific studies done quite recently...

The works of Gary Taubes seem rather controversial and personally I would take what he says with a huge pinch of salt.:o
When it comes down to the line, I would rather believe what mainstream authorities say than what a relatively unknown writer says. :o

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gary_Taubes

But having said that, it's really up to individuals to believe. As Kyma mentioned, moderation is key.

kunoichi

i want to eat uni...
yeap yeap the uni is delicious, but it's cooked (steamed)... still delicious :lick:
乐邻边走边吃, 加东游

Quote:

Agenda
Lunch@ Garden slugs
Tea-time: durian (maybe ALAT?)
Dessert: ice cream?
Supper: ???

who's going?

1. kunoichi
2. Carey
3. Kahlan
4. Lovejade
5. Twtan
6. dennyz
7. wacky
9. BigMonkey
10. raven1019

Sorry, i can't attend on that day.
Giving up the space to anyone who can attend the whole makan trip.
hor... but if u want can give the guys a call around dinnertime (if u're free by then) when we go for the deep-fried pork knuckle :s12:

kunoichi

changing the sequence coz i realise if we eat durians too early we will not taste anything else after that:

乐邻边走边吃, 加东游

Quote:

Agenda
Brunch @ Garden slugs
Dessert: durian (maybe ALAT?)
any comments and opnions, please voice out by end of today so i can pm the participants with more details (except for song he tao and president's house) of the agenda tomorrow.

wackykid

changing the sequence coz i realise if we eat durians too early we will not taste anything else after that:

hey that's better too... for those who wan to dabao durians home... if last stop den no need to chug along packets of durian whole day... :D

regards,
wacky

kunoichi

hey that's better too... for those who wan to dabao durians home... if last stop den no need to chug along packets of durian whole day... :D

regards,
wacky
if lug packets of durian the whole day in this weather, by the time reach home.... the durian chao-sng liao :s22:
i think most of them wun be tar-pauing coz they going JB for durians the next day...:s12:

carey

The works of Gary Taubes seem rather controversial and personally I would take what he says with a huge pinch of salt.:o

Even if his findings are all backed by scientific studies? :s22:

Or read this...

http://www.drbriffa.com/2011/07/12/...ntake-does-not-prevent-disease-or-save-lives/

When it comes down to the line, I would rather believe what mainstream authorities say than what a relatively unknown writer says. :o
Even if you have been lied to?

http://livinlavidalowcarb.com/blog/...ic-basis-for-the-u-s-dietary-guidelines/10986

And Gary Taubes is by no means a relatively unknown writer hor...

(From your wiki link)
Taubes has won the Science in Society Journalism Award of the National Association of Science Writers three times and was awarded an MIT Knight Science Journalism Fellowship for 1996-97. He is a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation independent investigator in health policy.

Taubes studied applied physics at Harvard University and aerospace engineering at Stanford University (MS, 1978). After receiving a master's degree in journalism at Columbia University in 1981, Taubes joined Discover magazine as a staff reporter in 1982.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gary_Taubes

But having said that, it's really up to individuals to believe. As Kyma mentioned, moderation is key.

To each his own bah...

In the meantime, I will happily eat my eggs and pork bellies :s13:

carey

any comments and opnions, please voice out by end of today so i can pm the participants with more details (except for song he tao and president's house) of the agenda tomorrow.

Sounds good...

Just a minor question - where can I park that is cheap (free is best) for the whole day? Hahah

kunoichi

Sounds good...

Just a minor question - where can I park that is cheap (free is best) for the whole day? Hahah
u can opt to meet us at slug directly...

Parking: Entrance is at Telok Kurau Road
Parking fee: Payment by CashCard
• $1.00 per hour or part thereof (from 8am-5pm)
• $1.80 per entry (after 5pm, and on Sundays and Public Holidays)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.