Foreign riders confronted on video for making illegal deliveries in S'pore: 'This mission cannot be stopped'

orpisia

If not PR? means illegal?
Legally only PRs and Singaporeans

Not PR...

You go to page 1, click on the Stomp link

Scroll the pictures to 6/33

You'll see the screenshot of the email sent by Danny to some MP

Danny was talking about Grab subcontracting out to other company which hire foreigners

michael_thm

good, now can wait 3hours for your food deliveries
EDWMers always kpkb about foreigners competing for their 20K jobs... but think it is okay for foreigners competing illegally against low SES SG delivery riders...

3hrs? Pay decent delivery fee you get your food delivered in 30mins. Either that or walk downstair buy your own food?

siaoliaolor

Becuase jhk will make noise only when we go over pump Ron 95
Buy thier bread
Buy thier groceries

Meanwhile they Wan to drive thier starex in
They Wan all your finance job
They Wan to come in faster .

Please give them everything

focus1974

I said tis a few times. From economic pov, all tis money flowing out of an economy. Is it considered healthy? Plus all tis illegal workers in sg doing work illegally.

Do they pay tax? Our gov dun like more money?

tax? most likely these people wont hit the taxable bracket. hehe
But we voted for it. So just ensure people dont steal your lunch can liao

these type of thigns is like that.. .. if the people who are affected by it cant even stand up for themselves, we should just let them be. Unless the people are the weak and vulnerable.

dambio

tax? most likely these people wont hit the taxable bracket. hehe
But we voted for it. So just ensure people dont steal your lunch can liao

these type of thigns is like that.. .. if the people who are affected by it cant even stand up for themselves, we should just let them be. Unless the people are the weak and vulnerable.
I did not voted for tis hor😂

To me simply is upholding d law, morals n ethics la.

orpisia

Exactly but gov dun care as long as got somebody to do d job. Generate tax dollars for them. Morals n ethics r dead in sg.
Another loophole is what

Like I just now told focus1974

These illegal Malaysians go bike shop and rent Singapore-registered motorbikes to do food delivery, to escape detection

It's stated in one of the screenshots of Danny's email to the MP

In the pictures section of the Stomp link

Kiwi8

Minister of Manpower = Minister of Monitoring

verynormalguy

decentralise cannot catch meh.. catch littering.. catch smoking contraband cigarettes they very good at catching mah. catch littering put officers at orchard.. catch smoking contraband station officers at boon lay mrt... they know... knn.. this one station officers at popular pick up points they duno? talk cock la

dambio

Another loophole is what

Like I just now told focus1974

These illegal Malaysians go bike shop and rent Singapore-registered motorbikes to do food delivery, to escape detection

It's stated in one of the screenshots of Danny's email to the MP

In the pictures section of the Stomp link
Taking advantage of legal grey areas

orpisia

Taking advantage of legal grey areas
This type even harder to catch

Because people will think

"Oh, this one Singapore-registered bike, surely is Singaporean or pr lah, no problem"

Actually illegal Malaysian

fortunehunter

EDWMers always kpkb about foreigners competing for their 20K jobs... but think it is okay for foreigners competing illegally against low SES SG delivery riders...

3hrs? Pay decent delivery fee you get your food delivered in 30mins. Either that or walk downstair buy your own food?

Yes we need more delivery job for sinkie while FT can get management job.

likehotbutter

MOM only dare to pwn sinkies and protect FDWs

anything need them to go out do enforcement better not bah, stay aircon enjoy iron rice bowl

jq75

https://stomp.straitstimes.com/sing...o-for-making-illegal-deliveries-in-spore-this

"A question about illegal foreign delivery riders was raised in Parliament in November 2023.

The Manpower Minister said in a written answer: "The nature of food delivery work is decentralised and mobile. Hence, the Ministry of Manpower (MOM) relies mainly on complaints to detect possible instances of foreigners working illegally as food delivery riders, in order to carry out enforcement actions.

"From 2018 till Oct 18, 2023, MOM received a total of 163 complaints on suspected illegal foreign delivery riders."

Kudos to Danny n friends.

So tis issue has been ard for yrs n even raised in parliament in 2023. Wat changed?

N dun say Singaporeans like to complain. Mom minister say they rely on complaints to take action. So no complaints they dun work😂
they are constantly monitoring

weng0202

Yes, nothing changed

These illegal nonsense has been going on for years and still is until today this very moment

So in other words, need to rely on people to complain first

So as the authority, they're saying "it's decentralised, bo pian, we don't know how to catch them ourselves, can't do anything about it"

Smh

Like that on a daily basis, more and more lunches are being illegally stolen from the sinkie riders and the authority says, "we rely on public to complain then can take enforcement action"

Smh

Useless
I believe the complaint is to help them locate these illegal riders so that they can catch them in action. Cannot be send ppl to random places to catch them right? Singapore also not that small with so many buildings.

weng0202

is like tourists come SG do deliveries. 🤣
really land of wonders....PRs, work permit holders and even tourists working. 🤣
It's not uncommon. Many countries also have foreigners secretly working at the country where they are supposed to be tourist. Not easy to enforce.

orpisia

I believe the complaint is to help them locate these illegal riders so that they can catch them in action. Cannot be send ppl to random places to catch them right? Singapore also not that small with so many buildings.
Cannot locate illegal riders one la

If I snap a picture of a Malaysian bike, the Malaysian rider took a grabfood order

If I report send the picture to MOM and ICA, how you expect the authorities to locate and catch him. He's on a bike, always mobile. You don't know what time he works etc

Obviously the proper better way is to station officers at malls, wait at areas where the riders park their bikes and catch them

dhlnsz

So should enforce a law that requires the food delivery to show and scan IC and facial scanning for every delivery.
Customers must ask delivery riders for NRIC, if not no payment will be made.

Comage

decentralise cannot catch meh.. catch littering.. catch smoking contraband cigarettes they very good at catching mah. catch littering put officers at orchard.. catch smoking contraband station officers at boon lay mrt... they know... knn.. this one station officers at popular pick up points they duno? talk cock la
Not that I work in any govt department - but the argument is that it will "take a lot of effort and resources" to catch each illegal guy.

You can station enforcement officers from 8AM - 5PM (1 FTE for 1 business day) - stand there and watch.
Of the 100 guys passing by, he stop/scan/check/enforce all of them in 1 day, maybe only get 2 or 3 guys in a day.

Sometimes none.

Of that 2-3 guys each day, haul them up to court. Some hire lawyers - some, evidence is lacking. Case is dismissed after 3-6 months. End up only a handful gets incriminated in a 3-6 months period.

Taxpayer's money pay towards putting that 1 enforcement officer ($2k+/mth, maybe lesser) to catch that handful of guys that "successfully" gets charged at the end of 6 months.

And we know 1 enforcement officer ain't gonna cut it. You need a team - at least a dozen in one single location to even get 2-3 guys in a single day at least.

Is this the best use of taxpayer's money? Think about it...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.