Forett

that_twd

I feel among all the Districts.. D21 (beauty world area) is severely oversupply! all brand new launches coming out simultaneously...

Imagine 5 years from now when people try to flood and sell in the resale market... how to make money like that?

I think people who buys that area are mostly for their own stay for the long term, hence can hold out for a while.

And yes i do believe the capital appreciation for properties around that area will take awhile and in addition I dont think the rental yield for that area is going to be very good considering that those condos along bukit timah/dunearn rd are only doing okay in terms of rental.

For own stay is perfectly fine.

drkcynic

Sure, one street down is bukit timah, so nothing wrong? They're not the first to use this strategy in the region, so nothing really too creative either.

I didn't say anything is wrong. I said it is creative marketing.

1. Address will be Toh Tuck.
2. The condo name must add @bukit timah, i would say that's pretty "creative".
3. It is marketed as "unbelievable price for a freehold new launch in *bukit timah* area!". @18xx it might be if it is further down the bukit timah road, but at that location, nah.

I am simply pointing it out to prevent impressionable individuals for mistaking this as something else. If you think I think too much or if you are too seasoned, no problem let's move on.

Purely my own opinion only.

frigatex

3. It is marketed as "unbelievable price for a freehold new launch in *bukit timah* area!". @18xx it might be if it is further down the bukit timah road, but at that location, nah.

I am simply pointing it out to prevent impressionable individuals for mistaking this as something else. If you think I think too much or if you are too seasoned, no problem let's move on.

Same here, only offering my opinion, that toh tuck can be considered bukit timah (as some others have also pointed out).

Appreciate your efforts in educating others, though if there's anything I realised here, is that there are more opinionated individuals over impressionable ones.

Yeah we should move on. Personally I dont see much prospects for this district either, even for the more prime bukit timah area. The new launches here seems to have overestimated buyer's interest for this district, perhaps stemming from its past prestige.

bolster

Showflat will be in prime area, opposite Maplewood. People visit showflat, they will say, actual site just nearby only.

The map on the main entrance wall will show the actual sites merely ''a few steps'' away, but the scale is.... hmmmm....

that_twd

Can i understand of what you guys think about the upcoming transformation in bukit timah? Beautyworld to be specific, as the D10/11 side of bukit timah attracts a different niche market and seems like all the upcoming projects in D21 hinges on this particular transformation.

For me it doesn't really seems that exciting in terms of offering. Based on my understanding it involves green corridor, potential cross island line station, new bus interchange terminal and the CC is to be relocated to where the market is now. Anything else that i missed out?

griffin jr

Can i understand of what you guys think about the upcoming transformation in bukit timah? Beautyworld to be specific, as the D10/11 side of bukit timah attracts a different niche market and seems like all the upcoming projects in D21 hinges on this particular transformation.

For me it doesn't really seems that exciting in terms of offering. Based on my understanding it involves green corridor, potential cross island line station, new bus interchange terminal and the CC is to be relocated to where the market is now. Anything else that i missed out?

no thats all. dont particularly fancy those selling points as well to be honest

rlskyline

have been staying in upper bukit timah all my life. don't think these transformations will make a big impact on future appreciation

griffin jr

have been staying in upper bukit timah all my life. don't think these transformations will make a big impact on future appreciation

fully agree. have been staying nearby and its a "oh like that lor" kind of thing for ppl there rather than "WA INTEGRATED TRANSPORT HUB".

I think ppl just want the roadworks to faster finish. much better these days compared to few yrs back

that_twd

Thanks for the feedback guys.

I personally do feel the same for the beautyworld area. Lets see how it turns out.

rlskyline

Thanks for the feedback guys.

I personally do feel the same for the beautyworld area. Lets see how it turns out.

yeah and most of the people staying this area have cars. so transport hub, we don't really care actually

LWZ

Been in D21 all my life, and must say Upper Bt Timah hasn't really developed that much despite the DTL. Beauty World and Bukit Timah Plaza are old af.

Sherwood Towers might end up running down its lease without an en bloc.

Passerboy

Been in D21 all my life, and must say Upper Bt Timah hasn't really developed that much despite the DTL. Beauty World and Bukit Timah Plaza are old af.

Sherwood Towers is about 40yo, it’s sale price is about $8xxpsf should have chance to en bloc w the new condos coming up in that precinct gg for $16xxpsf. Maybe in the next en bloc cycle.

LWZ

Sherwood Towers is about 40yo, it’s sale price is about $8xxpsf should have chance to en bloc w the new condos coming up in that precinct gg for $16xxpsf. Maybe in the next en bloc cycle.

Yep, though it is already 30 storeys and kiap between all the roads and expressways, not much room to play with. I think the best way for it to en bloc is to be redeveloped together with Bukit Timah Plaza.

that_twd

I think its not only D21, even D11/10 bukit timah also not seen much rejuvenation as well, at least based on what i see. Maybe these area are mostly dominated by private housing, hence not much the government can do to rejuvenate the area?

koster

Actually I like the old school feel leh. New buildings nowadays are so cramped.

rlskyline

I think its not only D21, even D11/10 bukit timah also not seen much rejuvenation as well, at least based on what i see. Maybe these area are mostly dominated by private housing, hence not much the government can do to rejuvenate the area?

speaking from my own experience living in this area. I don't really need government to rejuvenate the area unlike the typical HDB mentality where they are always looking to estate upgrading

Zetrio2006

unit%2Bmix.jpg

Zetrio2006

In the 2014 edition of the URA Master Plan, the government had plans for a large medical facility on an undeveloped plot of land near Beauty World MRT (marked with ‘H’ in red).

The medical facility was never realised, and URA announced this year that the site will instead be developed into an integrated transport hub. According to the URA, this site will include a community club, a redeveloped market, hawker centre, indoor sports hall, community library and an elderly facility, in addition to a retail and private residential component. On 3 December 2019, URA announced that this site will open for tender next year, with the potential to house 865 condo units.

The integrated transport hub won't be the only mixed-use development in the years to come. Across the road is another ‘light blue’ site, albeit a smaller one, that will offer even more retail and housing options.

A new site @ Jalan Anak Bukit (Mixed Commercial and Residential) will be up for sale in June 2020.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.