Forex/Cryptocurrency General Chit Chat Thread

Calpha K

So if it is just "increasing rates" on its own, USD would increase? Disregarding all other factors?

revhappy

So if it is just "increasing rates" on its own, USD would increase? Disregarding all other factors?
Yes. But some of it is already in the price. So if market is expecting 2 hikes, but fed delivers only 1 hike, then there will be a repricing and USD will fall.

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 4 using GAGT

Mr.Canberra

USD/SGD

Using USD/SGD as an example so non FX punters can relate to easier. Current 1.37X rate is already priced in for Fed's Sep and Dec 2018 rate hike.

I will not be surprised if rate drops to 1.33X again in Jan 2019. Reason being will Fed put the money where the mouth is by hiking twice in 2019.

Anyway it is all rigged. Each major central bank will take turns to weaken their currency. This is why you can make money by playing NO STOP LOSS on major pairs. :s13:

Mr.Canberra

USD/JPY

Good chance of closing my stucked USD/JPY long position by the end of trading day.

Uncle Powell speaking at 10:00pm SST. Hope can make some peanuts money before market closes for the week! Dry spell whole week. :D

Mr.Canberra

USD

Many will scratch their heads why DXY is down even with hawkish comments by Uncle Powell. Big boys manipulation as usual! :s13:

Besides USD/JPY I like to monitor USD/SGD for unbiased USD trend direction. Big boys humji to play with MAS's arsenal of undisclosed basket of currencies. MAS confirm every year will make money. A matter of more or less profit only. :s13:

My basket of currencies (non leverage):

CAD
CHF
CNY
JPY
SGD
USD

Mr. Wood

Many will scratch their heads why DXY is down even with hawkish comments by Uncle Powell. Big boys manipulation as usual! :s13:

inside latest issue of insideinvest pg17

Other points worthy of mention. Who invented these indicators? Who allowed these indicators to be learnt all for the price of near to nothing? There exists another glaring point here: John, Mary and Paul are all probably going to set very similar Stop Loss levels, which are thoroughly visible to the Big Boys!!! In short: Trap Laid, Game Snared.

Furthering the script to this Big Boy’s Conspiracy, there are co-conspirators abound fondly known by the name of…. “MEDIA”. We have often seen the Media reporting one thing but the market moves out of sync instead. Let’s take one recent global event to showcase this: The 2016 U.S. Presidential Elections. The Media painted doomsday outcome of the great nation if
Donald Trump was to win while Hillary Clinton would be the new savior if elected instead. Investors were so bought by the reports that a selling frenzy ensued. The market, as we all now know, went on a huge rally instead. Seemingly suffering from instant memory loss, the media flipped, coined a new term and exalted what is now knows as the great Trump Rally.

Mr.Canberra

inside latest issue of insideinvest pg17

Well said! Why people keep forgetting big boys can see all the stops and order volume on their ECN terminals hahaha! If I have ECN terminal surely huat until blc! :s13:

Whenever possible remove your stops and place order manually on the spot. NO STOP LOSS helps too. :s13:

revhappy

Will USD be up or down this coming week? :s13:
I wouldn't want to bet either way. But the positioning seem cautious on the USD. If USD had run up before Powell's speech there would have been chances of it falling. Now it is hard to say.

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 4 using GAGT

Mr. Wood

Boring week ahead

Mon Aug 27
4:00pm EUR German Ifo Business Climate

Tue Aug 28
10:00pm USD ** Consumer Confidence

Wed Aug 29
8:30pm CAD Current Account
USD Prelim GDP q/q
10:30pm USD Crude Oil Inventories

Thu Aug 30
9:00am NZD ANZ Business Confidence
9:30am AUD Private Capital Expenditure q/q
AUD Building Approvals m/m
3:00pm CHF KOF Economic Barometer
EUR Spanish Flash CPI y/y
8:30pm CAD GDP m/m
USD Core PCE Price Index m/m
USD Personal Spending m/m

Fri Aug 31
1:30am EUR German Buba President Weidmann Speaks
2:00pm EUR German Retail Sales m/m
5:00pm EUR CPI Flash Estimate y/y
EUR Core CPI Flash Estimate y/y
8:30pm CAD RMPI m/m
9:45pm USD Chicago PMI

Mr.Canberra

I wouldn't want to bet either way. But the positioning seem cautious on the USD. If USD had run up before Powell's speech there would have been chances of it falling. Now it is hard to say.

USD is stronger historically in August. However we are approaching end of the month already.

your turn take over one liner?

All priced in. :s13:

Mr.Canberra

Stubbornly Strong Singapore Dollar Signals New Inflation Battle

https://sg.yahoo.com/finance/news/s...r-signals-new-inflation-battle-034901754.html

Next GE is coming in few years time so I believe the government will not want higher inflation. Everyone is already complaining the high cost of living.

This is why you must hold USD to hedge and protect your purchasing power as Fed normalises interest rate.

SGD is a very stable currency as the monetary policy is gradual appreciation. Just look at AUD and CAD reaching permanent parity is a matter of time. Downside of holding SGD is that the yield sucks so you must use USD to do carry trade with EUR and JPY to earn decent swaps. The braver ones will long TRY but prepare for epic fail. I am a good example. :s13:

havetheveryfun

https://sg.yahoo.com/finance/news/s...r-signals-new-inflation-battle-034901754.html

Next GE is coming in few years time so I believe the government will not want higher inflation. Everyone is already complaining the high cost of living.

This is why you must hold USD to hedge and protect your purchasing power as Fed normalises interest rate.

SGD is a very stable currency as the monetary policy is gradual appreciation. Just look at AUD and CAD reaching permanent parity is a matter of time. Downside of holding SGD is that the yield sucks so you must use USD to do carry trade with EUR and JPY to earn decent swaps. The braver ones will long TRY but prepare for epic fail. I am a good example. :s13:

not few years. next late year GE

Mr.Canberra

USD

USD starts to flip south liao. I believe today is the start of the next near term bearish phase.

My unrealised loss dropped below chua sai physcological barrier of -US$20,000. NO STOP LOSS warriors ai zai lah. :s13:

Non leverage USD dip buying in small batches can begin. Offloaded C$3000 for USD at 1.295.

awful999

USD starts to flip south liao. I believe today is the start of the next near term bearish phase.

My unrealised loss dropped below chua sai physcological barrier of -US$20,000. NO STOP LOSS warriors ai zai lah. :s13:

Non leverage USD dip buying in small batches can begin. Offloaded C$3000 for USD at 1.295.

hope NZ can see light :s13:, meanwhile continue with scalp long EJ with care for daily rebate earning

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.