Forex/Cryptocurrency General Chit Chat Thread

Mr.Canberra

Mr.Canberra Forex Trading Performance 2018

Let's assume ROI projections are in a consistent linear direction which in 10 years (2026) time the current balance will reach S$3,955,068.26 with S$18,000 being working capital! :eek:

Mr.Canberra will cross the S$1 Million line by the 8th year! The 9th and 10th year will increase annually by 7 figures which eventually leads to S$3,955,068.26! :eek:

Return on Investment

Amount Invested (S$): 18,000
Amount Returned (S$): 3,955,068.26
Investment Period Length: 3650 days

Investment Period: 10 year(s) 0 month(s) and 0 day(s)
Gain or Loss: S$3,937,068.26
Return on Investment (ROI): 21872.6%
Simple Annual ROI: 2187.26%
Compound Annual ROI: 71.47%

awful999

Let's assume ROI projections are in a consistent linear direction which in 10 years (2026) time the current balance will reach S$3,955,068.26 with S$18,000 being working capital! :eek:

Mr.Canberra will cross the S$1 Million line by the 8th year! The 9th and 10th year will increase annually by 7 figures which eventually leads to S$3,955,068.26! :eek:

Return on Investment

Power sia bro

havetheveryfun

Return on Investment

only possible if u keep increase ur lot sizes also

Mr. Wood

Potential prata sessions.
All in SST :D

Mon Jul 16
8:30pm CAD Foreign Securities Purchases
USD Core Retail Sales m/m
USD Retail Sales m/m
USD Empire State Manufacturing Index

Tue Jul 17
6:45am NZD CPI q/q
9:30am AUD Monetary Policy Meeting Minutes
4:00pm GBP BOE Gov Carney Speaks
4:30pm GBP Average Earnings Index 3m/y
GBP Claimant Count Change
GBP Unemployment Rate
8:30pm CAD Manufacturing Sales m/m
9:15pm USD Capacity Utilization Rate
USD Industrial Production m/m
10:00pm USD Fed Chair Powell Testifies

Wed Jul 18
4:30pm GBP CPI y/y
GBP PPI Input m/m
GBP RPI y/y
5:00pm EUR Final CPI y/y
8:30pm USD Building Permits
USD Housing Starts
10:30pm USD Crude Oil Inventories

Thu Jul 19
9:30am AUD Employment Change
AUD Unemployment Rate
4:30pm GBP Retail Sales m/m
8:30pm USD Philly Fed Manufacturing Index
USD Unemployment Claims
9:00pm USD FOMC Member Quarles Speaks

Fri Jul 20
4:30pm GBP Public Sector Net Borrowing
8:30pm CAD CPI m/m
CAD Core Retail Sales m/m
CAD Common CPI y/y
CAD Median CPI y/y
CAD Retail Sales m/m
CAD Trimmed CPI y/y

G20 meeting Jul 20-21

Mr. Wood

Return on Investment

Power sia bro

aim for 3-5% monthly returns average.
jin song!:s12:

Mr.Canberra

Mr.Canberra Forex Trading Performance 2018

Power sia bro

I am also shocked by the figures when I did those calculations! :eek:

Actually my contract values are very consistent for the past 1.5 years. Between US$400,000-600,000 monthly. Even if I do not increase my balance sheet my calculations are based on the past compound annual ROI of 71.47% with current contract size.

I believe the figures will be even crazier once/if I bloat the balance sheet to US$1 Million hahaha! :s13:

I copied this balance sheet inflation trick from the Fed. It is an outright 'ponzi scam'. Printing money out of thin air with almost zero financing costs hahaha!

Boss got a question, why MAS is so zai at investment in terms of forex and others but GIC/Temasek everything see EDMW-ers and sinkies complain their investment returns so sucky?

I believe they have different mandates on risk management. MAS is dealing with the survival of the nation so I believe they only invest on less risky assets.

But the wonders of maintaining a basket of currencies in itself is already a powerful tool. Even a lousy trader like me who copied this model is able to protect my PPP. :s13:

Anyway those who complain about lousy returns better put the money where their mouth is if not it will be similar to the predictable outcome for every GE Election. Sinkies are highly educated but kiasi and kiasu. KNN want to have the best of both worlds but do not want to take calculated risks! It is equivalent to day dream about a SDIC guaranteed Fixed Deposit with 10% p.a. interest. :s8:

Personally I do not believe in the CPF system because the returns are peanuts. I prefer to manage my own money and no regrets hahaha. :D

aim for 3-5% monthly returns average.
jin song!:s12:

Yes the key is consistent ROI on a monthly basis. If you can achieve monthly ROI of 5%, that is a good annualised ROI of 60%!

ACIL for the win! :s13:

ARBITRAGE
CARRY TRADE
INTEREST RATE DIFFERENTIALS
LEVERAGE

rayzzzz82

While I observe quietly in the background, I somewhat find it puzzling and confusing that you widely advocate the use of no stop loss strategy. Not that it is wrong to use this strategy, there are certain information which are hidden from the public viewers if they do not trade fx or is a just beginner in fx.

1. It was not disclosed that you have gotten margin call or the number of time your margin was closed to bursting given the large position you were having

2. How much additional fund do you add to top up the margin? While you mentioned that 18k is your working capital, how much of it was the beginning capital and how much was top up over the period when your margin was close to getting called?

3. The type of positions which you have comprised a mix of different currency, among which were hedging positions which you can balance it over a longer period of time while letting your scalping positions earn in the shorter period. So hedging or balancing both side of the trades, the actual buy/sell position was not that large.

I have nothing against Mr Canberra but it seems that his advocation of "No Stop Loss" strategy is getting abit too loud and might attract someone without any knowledge of what the deeper meaning of FX trading entail. I am not sure why he on and off keep showing off the ROI when in fact when measure against the realised true profit, it was alot smaller.

There might be certain strategy that Mr Canberra is using successfully but generally he is just scalping on short term price retracement vs long term swing movement. The risk involved is very high with a very high drawdown and constant top up of margin is needed to sustain the drawdown.

Perhaps there might be unseem agenda behind this showing of huge profit while hidding certain important details which can truly show the real ROI of the strategy or perhaps the one who is constantly campaigning against the snake oil seller is the true snake oil seller afterall, no one know.

I just post this to highlight that there are certain information which are missing. So until when the person decide to reveal all, the strategy is not as profitable as it seems.

When you hit the peak the only way is down. Just like the record haul in Aug 2017, the Jun 2018 trading performance is down. :s13:

The laws of fibonacci will take it own course. Nothing moves in a straight line. If it does that means the bubble is going to implode!

If you believe in NO STOP LOSS then the laws of fibonacci will aid you. If you do not believe in NO STOP LOSS then it is better you do not adopt this strategy.

Exactly 2 years of historical records for a good reference.

Working Capital: S$18,000
Current Balance: S$52,925.77
Unrealised Loss: -US$19,459.74
Annualized Return (ROI): 71.6005%

~'QE' stimulus target US$1 Million balance sheet. No set deadline and not affected by Fed balance sheet reduction schedule.
~Partial asset rotation from CNY Fixed Income to Forex Trading in 2018 due to consistent increased ROI.

------------------------------------------------------------
PROFIT & LOSS (REALISED) 2018

30/06/16 - 30/06/17: S$4003.67 [2016 ROI 27.61%]
31/07/17: S$1264.09 [Jul ROI 8.42%]
31/08/17: S$5806.60 [Aug ROI 35.69%]
30/09/17: S$4157.42 [Sep ROI 15.94%]
31/10/17: S$1944.68 [Oct ROI 5.85%]
30/11/17: -S$1843.27 [Nov ROI -5.24%] <-Drunk trading. One off folly.
29/12/17: S$1299.92 [Dec ROI 3.90%]
31/01/18: S$1565.13 [Jan ROI 4.52%]
28/02/18: S$1706.80 [Feb ROI 4.72%]
30/03/18: S$1325.68 [MAR ROI 3.50%]
30/04/18: S$3922.76 [APR ROI 10.00%]
31/05/18: S$6448.37 [MAY ROI 14.94%]
29/06/18: S$3323.92 [JUN ROI 6.70%]

LIFETIME PERFORMANCE SINCE JUN 2016 (24 MONTHS)
194.03%

STRATEGY: CARRY TRADE/NO STOP LOSS

Mr.Canberra

Hahaha troll spotted!

All the regular contributors here know who the snake oil sellers are. Please go through the entire thread before any one starts talking cock about me having an agenda.

I do not have the time for point to point rebuttal. Can the regular contributors here tell these fools what course/software have I ever peddled here before haha? :s13:

I have said a million times before that NO STOP LOSS strategy is not for everyone. There is even once one joker who insulted my intelligence and called me delusion when his position went down a lot and started to chua sai hahaha! :D

Anyway once again just take my posts as talking cock only if you do not believe. I already reiterated many times before I am a lousy trader so please do not follow my example. Like that happy or not? :s13:

rayzzzz82

Well, whether I am troll or not left to be seemed. What I can say is that I usually hide in the background, leaving you and the other to argue it out.

The sole reason to why I step out is to highlight about the "NO STOP LOSS" strategy of yours and your constant showing off of the P/L.

Even though you keep saying that you are a "lousy" trader, your action CONTRADICT this.

What I am pointing out is that "Do not take anything at its face value" especially for someone who just start out in trading.

Hahaha troll spotted!

All the regular contributors here know who the snake oil sellers are. Please go through the entire thread before any one starts talking cock about me having an agenda.

I do not have the time for point to point rebuttal. Can the regular contributors here tell these fools what course/software have I ever peddled here before haha? :s13:

I have said a million times before that NO STOP LOSS strategy is not for everyone. There is even once one joker who insulted my intelligence and called me delusion when his position went down a lot and started to chua sai hahaha! :D

Anyway once again just take my posts as talking cock only if you do not believe. I already reiterated many times before I am a lousy trader so please do not follow my example. Like that happy or not? :s13:

havetheveryfun

Well, whether I am troll or not left to be seemed. What I can say is that I usually hide in the background, leaving you and the other to argue it out.

The sole reason to why I step out is to highlight about the "NO STOP LOSS" strategy of yours and your constant showing off of the P/L.

Even though you keep saying that you are a "lousy" trader, your action CONTRADICT this.

What I am pointing out is that "Do not take anything at its face value" especially for someone who just start out in trading.

If you hide in the background and follow the thread regularly the you should already know why it works for him.

-one method that works for Trader A may not work for Trader B. No stop loss doesn't work for everyone, and he also did warn about it a lot of times before.. not everyone can stand seeing their account have a drawdown of 50% and continue on trading. Most would just panic and close their losing positions, especially if new and starting out.

-No stop loss doesn't work for ALL currencies and everything else (e.g. commodities). If you took the time to ask him in a nicer way, he would have replied you because I asked him the same question before. He mainly only trades USD with other major pairs. And if you think about that, it makes sense why no stop loss would work, because USD against major pairs are quite range bound and the movement won't exceed over 2000 pips in the short term (few months to a year at least). USD against SGD is an example he always uses, do you think USD/SGD is going to 1:2 in the next year or so ? or drop to 1:1?

-Now back to the 2000 pips said earlier, this is an important figure. Why? Because in trading, you should not over-leverage. A lot of people have $2k accounts but trade until contract size of over 100k, that is 50x leverage. If you note about his contract values and his account size, it is only around 10-20x leverage. If you do not trade more than 10x leverage on your account, you would require a loss of over 2000 pips to burst your account or get margin called. So if the pairs are range bound within 2000 pips of each other and you do not over-leverage, it is quite hard for you to get margin called. Of course there is a chance you still would if you don't know how to trade the right direction.

-Even though he always say he is a lousy trader, he still has decent knowledge about the fundamentals and have been trading quite long (10-20 over years). For someone that have been trading for so long, his performance can definitely still be considered as "lousy". And regarding his account margin called, he was also open about it, I remembered once he said he is topping up his account around late last year or few months ago.

-Lastly, if someone really had a profitable strategy, they would probably keep it to themselves. Why would they share it openly in the public for free? That is why all the snake oil sellers keep appearing, claiming that they have a way to make monies off the market easily. but no stop loss isn't really a strategy, it can be seen as more of a way to manage your account and trades.

havetheveryfun

honestly speaking though, there isn't much to learn about forex in this thread if you are serious about it. mainly only for some ideas and news update.

can check out reddit forex if you want to really learn forex. snake oil sellers there are banned on sight so do not have to worry about getting scammed :s13:

rayzzzz82

1. He does not advocate the No Stop Loss strategy in this thread alone. He advocate in other thread as well. If he disclose other important info such as max DD and the number of times he top up his margin, I would not step into this thread and happily hide in the background. The fact that he left out some bit and pieces of other info which illustrate how dangerous this strategy while highlighting the amplified profit on a monthly basis cause me a concern.

2. The fact is that he have topped up his account margin and the fact is that he overleverage. In forex, no one can accurately predict the movement of the pairs and range can also break its own range as well, especially considering the current volatility climate. If he does not increase his capital, he would have burst his account and this strategy would not work for anyone who work with a fixed capital.

3. He exaggerates his earning without considering the unrealised losses. To someone who is news to FX and have no idea about the unrealised part of the account, he would have happily accept that the annual return is 70% when the actual return is much lesser than that. Based on the past post, he does not only top up his account once and I reckon it was way more than once when his account got into serious drawdown. Again, this is dangerous to someone who does not know about this actual drawdown that the account is undergoing.

4. If you have visited other forex forum such as forexfactory, there are many who claims that they have over 10 years of experiences but when they were asked to provide their record in the form of a simple trade explorer or myfxbook, the record couldn't last for even half a year. There are various form of signal provider or MAM manager who promote their strategy via forum, hoping that novices would catch sight of their "profitable" strategy and contact them via PM to sign up for their services. This of course is not caught in public sight.

5. It's up to individual to deem how profitable is this strategy. But there are so many info hiding away where it is being pitched across the different threads in the moneymind board is what I cannot really stand. Maybe to you and other, what I am highlighting is pure nonsense but I already say my pieces to some of the beginner who want to learn more about the unseen dangers of such strategy. So I think I have said enough, and I am not replying anymore.

If you hide in the background and follow the thread regularly the you should already know why it works for him.

-one method that works for Trader A may not work for Trader B. No stop loss doesn't work for everyone, and he also did warn about it a lot of times before.. not everyone can stand seeing their account have a drawdown of 50% and continue on trading. Most would just panic and close their losing positions, especially if new and starting out.

-No stop loss doesn't work for ALL currencies and everything else (e.g. commodities). If you took the time to ask him in a nicer way, he would have replied you because I asked him the same question before. He mainly only trades USD with other major pairs. And if you think about that, it makes sense why no stop loss would work, because USD against major pairs are quite range bound and the movement won't exceed over 2000 pips in the short term (few months to a year at least). USD against SGD is an example he always uses, do you think USD/SGD is going to 1:2 in the next year or so ? or drop to 1:1?

-Now back to the 2000 pips said earlier, this is an important figure. Why? Because in trading, you should not over-leverage. A lot of people have $2k accounts but trade until contract size of over 100k, that is 50x leverage. If you note about his contract values and his account size, it is only around 10-20x leverage. If you do not trade more than 10x leverage on your account, you would require a loss of over 2000 pips to burst your account or get margin called. So if the pairs are range bound within 2000 pips of each other and you do not over-leverage, it is quite hard for you to get margin called. Of course there is a chance you still would if you don't know how to trade the right direction.

-Even though he always say he is a lousy trader, he still has decent knowledge about the fundamentals and have been trading quite long (10-20 over years). For someone that have been trading for so long, his performance can definitely still be considered as "lousy". And regarding his account margin called, he was also open about it, I remembered once he said he is topping up his account around late last year or few months ago.

-Lastly, if someone really had a profitable strategy, they would probably keep it to themselves. Why would they share it openly in the public for free? That is why all the snake oil sellers keep appearing, claiming that they have a way to make monies off the market easily. but no stop loss isn't really a strategy, it can be seen as more of a way to manage your account and trades.

Mr.Canberra

If you took the time to ask him in a nicer way, he would have replied you because I asked him the same question before.

Cannot be bothered to reply to trolls. Could be just one of those snake oil sellers that appears on and off. Just leave it to Mod to sort it out. :s13:

Good feeling he might be the same person as 3dfxplayer which I chak on a Forex thread in Money Mind folder. Not happy then come here use clone to disturb. Both also talk obnoxiously! :D

commach

I read the replies from members participating in the thread.

rayzzzz82 replies are cautious reminder, not trolling.

Cheer, have a nice day. :)

havetheveryfun

Cannot be bothered to reply to trolls. Could be just one of those snake oil sellers that appears on and off. Just leave it to Mod to sort it out. :s13:

Good feeling he might be the same person as 3dfxplayer which I chak on a Forex thread in Money Mind folder. Not happy then come here use clone to disturb. Both also talk obnoxiously! :D

he not really troll la.. check his post history, he also called out the snake oil seller last time and ask him to verify his results ..just wan to warn newbies

havetheveryfun

1. He does not advocate the No Stop Loss strategy in this thread alone. He advocate in other thread as well. If he disclose other important info such as max DD and the number of times he top up his margin, I would not step into this thread and happily hide in the background. The fact that he left out some bit and pieces of other info which illustrate how dangerous this strategy while highlighting the amplified profit on a monthly basis cause me a concern.

2. The fact is that he have topped up his account margin and the fact is that he overleverage. In forex, no one can accurately predict the movement of the pairs and range can also break its own range as well, especially considering the current volatility climate. If he does not increase his capital, he would have burst his account and this strategy would not work for anyone who work with a fixed capital.

3. He exaggerates his earning without considering the unrealised losses. To someone who is news to FX and have no idea about the unrealised part of the account, he would have happily accept that the annual return is 70% when the actual return is much lesser than that. Based on the past post, he does not only top up his account once and I reckon it was way more than once when his account got into serious drawdown. Again, this is dangerous to someone who does not know about this actual drawdown that the account is undergoing.

4. If you have visited other forex forum such as forexfactory, there are many who claims that they have over 10 years of experiences but when they were asked to provide their record in the form of a simple trade explorer or myfxbook, the record couldn't last for even half a year. There are various form of signal provider or MAM manager who promote their strategy via forum, hoping that novices would catch sight of their "profitable" strategy and contact them via PM to sign up for their services. This of course is not caught in public sight.

5. It's up to individual to deem how profitable is this strategy. But there are so many info hiding away where it is being pitched across the different threads in the moneymind board is what I cannot really stand. Maybe to you and other, what I am highlighting is pure nonsense but I already say my pieces to some of the beginner who want to learn more about the unseen dangers of such strategy. So I think I have said enough, and I am not replying anymore.

aiya.. if u want to talk about threads, almost 90% of the other ppl advocates newbies not to trade FX, its gambling, your account sure burst in long term, your strategy may work now but it doesn't work cos you can't apply it to a million dollar account, etc and so on.. so just listen to them lah and dont trade FX at all, why bother.

Mr.Canberra

Potential prata sessions.
All in SST :D

Tue Jul 17
6:45am NZD CPI q/q
9:30am AUD Monetary Policy Meeting Minutes
4:00pm GBP BOE Gov Carney Speaks
4:30pm GBP Average Earnings Index 3m/y
GBP Claimant Count Change
GBP Unemployment Rate
8:30pm CAD Manufacturing Sales m/m
9:15pm USD Capacity Utilization Rate
USD Industrial Production m/m

Wed Jul 18
4:30pm GBP CPI y/y
GBP PPI Input m/m
GBP RPI y/y
5:00pm EUR Final CPI y/y
8:30pm USD Building Permits
USD Housing Starts
10:30pm USD Crude Oil Inventories

Stop loss orders better remove when Uncle Powell talks hahaha. :s13:

Opps did I say NO STOP LOSS? :s8:

Mr.Canberra

he not really troll la.. check his post history, he also called out the snake oil seller last time and ask him to verify his results ..just wan to warn newbies

Yes he did call out that usual snake oil seller keverus which I give him credit for.

But look through his past postings you can see he start a lot of boh liao conversations. Just few months back he is talking about converting SGD to TRY to 'hedge'! Look at the depreciation of TRY now. :s13:

Act like know a lot about Forex then come out from the wood works to give his 2 cents and accused me as snake oil seller without providing hard evidence. That I cannot accept. :s13:

Cannot be bothered to reply to him as it will be wasting my time. And like what you said previously if anyone wants to have a constructive and non confrontational discussion I can communicate nicely too. :s13:

aiya.. if u want to talk about threads, almost 90% of the other ppl advocates newbies not to trade FX, its gambling, your account sure burst in long term, your strategy may work now but it doesn't work cos you can't apply it to a million dollar account, etc and so on.. so just listen to them lah and dont trade FX at all, why bother.

He is like one of those friends that you have that likes to interrupt in the middle of your conversations and start giving his 2 cents without knowing the head and tail of the details.

All along I suggested to those who wants to start Forex trading not to because most retail traders will lose money. You need to have a strategy and conviction to see it through. Just so happens NO STOP LOSS strategy works for me. You may not call that a strategy but I stand by my views. We can agree to disagree on this.

If I want to sabo newbies I would have already push them into the frying pan by telling them to use a foreign based broker and load up minimum on the margin balance and whack 1 standard lot on any GBP pairs especially GBP/USD. And gloat over their accounts auto explode during FOMC policy releases because they do not even get a chance to top up account unless you use a local broker. Next day broker will call or email you if margin falls short. T+2. :D

Nothing informative or entertaining to say just shut up so don't waste people's time. :D

rayzzzz82

1. I had planned to be quiet till you start to spout your boasting words again. If you look at that specific thread, I am asking for advice about the feasibility of having high interest foreign currency term deposit as way to mitigate the risk from other high risk investment. I did not advocate people to try it out nor did I advise people to do it.

2. I did not say I am a pro when it come to trading forex, neither did I pitch a specifc high risk investment strategy across the board. It is a fact that you are interrupting individual thread with your no stop loss strategy across the board and it is also a fact that you are regularly posting your exaggerated profits without indicating the hidden risk.

3. About half of your postings related to your own boasting of daily profits without specifying the intricate details in between. This have enticed people to believe that the specific strategy does provide a regular stream of income when in fact it is not. When people try to point out the fallacy of this strategy, you resort to calling people names and threaten to get the mod to ban them without providing any substantial reason to back that your strategy is indeed workable

4. There are people who have follow your strategy across the board and although they may not be novices and it is a fact that more are posting their non-stop loss position in the thread. If there does not stop, more and more people will take up this strategy without understanding the risk behind it.

5. About the use of foreign based broker, I would not say that they are all bad. In fact, MAS regulated broker does not insure any traders against the risk of broker insolvency when FCA or FINMA do provide a sum guarantee. SG broker have the highest spread when it come to trading cost and most of them are market makers who count against the traders for their trades.

6. About me, I will not share much about myself and my strategy since I do not advocate any strategy here. Why I speak up here is to prevent people from losing money due to a misinfo of a specific strategy without knowing the inherent risk involved.

Yes he did call out that usual snake oil seller keverus which I give him credit for.

But look through his past postings you can see he start a lot of boh liao conversations. Just few months back he is talking about converting SGD to TRY to 'hedge'! Look at the depreciation of TRY now. :s13:

Act like know a lot about Forex then come out from the wood works to give his 2 cents and accused me as snake oil seller without providing hard evidence. That I cannot accept. :s13:

Cannot be bothered to reply to him as it will be wasting my time. And like what you said previously if anyone wants to have a constructive and non confrontational discussion I can communicate nicely too. :s13:

He is like one of those friends that you have that likes to interrupt in the middle of your conversations and start giving his 2 cents without knowing the head and tail of the details.

All along I suggested to those who wants to start Forex trading not to because most retail traders will lose money. You need to have a strategy and conviction to see it through. Just so happens NO STOP LOSS strategy works for me. You may not call that a strategy but I stand by my views. We can agree to disagree on this.

If I want to sabo newbies I would have already push them into the frying pan by telling them to use a foreign based broker and load up minimum on the margin balance and whack 1 standard lot on any GBP pairs especially GBP/USD. And gloat over their accounts auto explode during FOMC policy releases because they do not even get a chance to top up account unless you use a local broker. Next day broker will call or email you if margin falls short. T+2. :D

Nothing informative or entertaining to say just shut up so don't waste people's time. :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.