Fresh nursing grads in SG can’t get jobs… so what “shortage” are we talking about? 🤔

DulanMax

ive heard rumours that moh allegedly overhired foreign staff after a record number of them quit to go home permanently during covid, hence the manpower imbalance rn. not sure how true it is, but whatever it is i hope it sorts itself out by the time my friends and i graduate...
One of the reddit replies

:eek:

Philipkee

Aiya, one look and so obvious why she cannot get a nursing job.

Because she is a local grad
Nothing to do with local grad la

another possibility. Someone who graduated in march this year joined nursing in early 2021 or 2022 (degree or diploma).

This was at the height of Covid where jobs were at risk but nursing was an exception plus of cos news of shortage and such plus new bonuses for nurses. So there could be a higher than usual
number of recruits who join nursing then and hospitals need to manage the manpower.

Don’t forget they might have beefed up manpower during that same period and now the beefed up strength “ain’t quitting cos there is now the ANGEL AWARD” where u get bonuses starting from 2028 if u stay on

In a way, nursing is like the “fad” career during Covid, something like tech. But nursing will always have jobs as long as u not picky on shift and where u wanna work

Philipkee

One of the reddit replies

:eek:
Not impossible cos hiring is forward looking.

Let’s say u need to hire 100 nurses cos shortage

You expect 10 to resign every hiring cycle. So you hire 110

What if the 10 never resign? U can say oh then u should have just hired 100. But then u still have a shortage if they resigned and u r trying to cut the shortage - this is for public sector. Private will really don’t care if short as long as still functioning but that’s another story

After a few rounds u have to stop the hiring.

coolmyth

Nursing in SG mostly ish through poly, then tiagong got those traineeship and stuff.

Tiagong it's similar like teachers, chiu cannot break off halfway or need to pay compensation. Do correct me on this point if I'm wrong.

So now, TS is one of those who is not on this path. Hospitals in general do lack nurses, but not nurses like TS where TS can go anytime.

TS is out of the norm, so you're ghosted because there's no protocol for people like you.

sukukia

Jobs reserved for them.

Who wants to hire a sinkie? Must pay employer CPF. For same celery can get one with many years experience, not a fresh grad.
do we have that many sinkie nurses to take up those jobs in the first place…

volarth

Can fresh grad nurses apply to overseas or do they need to clock in some time before able to take local certification?

Whole world says they are lacking of nurses.. but SG locals can't find jobs in their own country?

chaiscool

Nursing need degree meh? Likely lesser than other fields so if this is the case for ite / poly ones cannot find job then moi worry, uni grads one can just go work gov office jobs then.

Botakkid

ITE already got nursing course and "low level" nurses are probably what the hospitals are lacking, the ones with degrees are mostly all sponsored by the hospital and bonded already.

why would hospitals need more of the degree ones in management level when what they need are those that requires helping to clean up patients kind:unsure:

yesman2978

Not impossible cos hiring is forward looking.

Let’s say u need to hire 100 nurses cos shortage

You expect 10 to resign every hiring cycle. So you hire 110

What if the 10 never resign? U can say oh then u should have just hired 100. But then u still have a shortage if they resigned and u r trying to cut the shortage - this is for public sector. Private will really don’t care if short as long as still functioning but that’s another story

After a few rounds u have to stop the hiring.
With ageing population, building of additional hospitals, hospices, polyclinics, old folks homes, there can only be higher and higher demands for additional nurses to staff these new facilities

iirc the current supply of nurses from our polytechnics and universities are barely enough to replace those who are retiring or leaving nursing.

The new public hospital in Bedok, where are they going to find the doctors and nurses to staff it?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.