Fresh nursing grads in SG can’t get jobs… so what “shortage” are we talking about? 🤔

CCCustom

Srsly.

If you have the nursing qualifications, why still lamenting lack of jobs here? AMDK countries would love to have you … don’t need to go UK US, even Australia would love to have you … can take the opportunity to move.

NiNao

Do yourself a favour and visit a few of our hospitals and get better informed.

The vast majority of our nurses are not from India. Your ignorance is very embarrassing...for you.
what rubbish! i work in healthcare and i can tell you that many doctors and nurses do indeed come from the great motherland of yeeeeendia!

wwenze

Srsly.

If you have the nursing qualifications, why still lamenting lack of jobs here? AMDK countries would love to have you … don’t need to go UK US, even Australia would love to have you … can take the opportunity to move.
Ya but what nursing qualification does he have? Nursing degree from Singapore? Lol, even Singapore don't hire nursing degree from Singapore.

Zinna

Eh run poll in telegram and conclude there are issues in the hiring? Seriously? Even the gradaute employment survey more reliable than this

Like running polls in EDMW, and telling moi PAP will lose all their contested seats

titusilvering

Fresh nursing grads in SG can’t get jobs… so what “shortage” are we talking about? 🤔

I’m a recent local nursing degree graduate who is unsponsored. Been applying for jobs since March.
Public hospitals say they need nurses. Job postings everywhere.
But interviews? Almost none. Offers? Zero.

And it’s not just me.
the.unconventional.nurse on IG did a straw poll ([see here](https://www.instagram.com/p/DM1bpnIBeS2/)), a *lot* of fresh grads are also jobless months after graduation.

So what’s happening?

* Are hospitals freezing hiring?
* Is there no budget to train locals?
* Or is “shortage” just a nice word to justify something else?

Feels like a huge disconnect between what’s being said publicly and what’s happening on the ground.

If you’re in nursing, HR, or know someone who’s been through this, please share your experience.
Because if even local grads from "#8 nursing school in the world" can’t get hired, this is concerning.

https://www.reddit.com/r/SGExams/s/TzxUU0CJuW

The HR system flooded with their own people lah so obviously. Bring their own people come over maybe under table earn agent fees

LocalRider

I’m a recent local nursing degree graduate who is unsponsored. Been applying for jobs since March.
Public hospitals say they need nurses. Job postings everywhere.
But interviews? Almost none. Offers? Zero.

And it’s not just me.
the.unconventional.nurse on IG did a straw poll ([see here](https://www.instagram.com/p/DM1bpnIBeS2/)), a *lot* of fresh grads are also jobless months after graduation.

So what’s happening?

* Are hospitals freezing hiring?
* Is there no budget to train locals?
* Or is “shortage” just a nice word to justify something else?

Feels like a huge disconnect between what’s being said publicly and what’s happening on the ground.

If you’re in nursing, HR, or know someone who’s been through this, please share your experience.
Because if even local grads from "#8 nursing school in the world" can’t get hired, this is concerning.

https://www.reddit.com/r/SGExams/s/TzxUU0CJuW

would be similar to EDB or other organizations giving out special visas in new areas e.g., “AI talent”, but our fresh grads cannot find employment…

and yet, who is the biggest local consumer for tech or even healthcare? Isn’t it state-related enterprises?

titusilvering

Ya but what nursing qualification does he have? Nursing degree from Singapore? Lol, even Singapore don't hire nursing degree from Singapore.
My relative got local nurse diploma. After grad liao the job pay low and no job prospects. Sibei tough life. Wana buy hdb also cpf no enough

LocalRider

The HR system flooded with their own people lah so obviously. Bring their own people come over maybe under table earn agent fees

I had to visit a relative multiple times last year at the TTSH hospital and ICH , noticed a lot of the nurses had changed from majority Filipinos to majority another big country. I am fine with it, but v surprised to hear local nurses cannot find jobs. Why ah?

bombshell

Well all he/she needs to do is to publish his job rejection letters from our public healthcare institutes and the news will blow up on its own.
Then we will know the other side of the story why he was not hired.
So easy to say i can't get job when there is no proof.

tessss

zun bo. i always though medical staff including nurses are in tight shortage sia

Milodrink

zun bo. i always though medical staff including nurses are in tight shortage sia

U go click the IG survey.

Cos to 200 or 150 ppl did.

Cannot be all fake got money meh.

Really got job liao those nurse shd be too tired to stir sheet

Milodrink

I had to visit a relative multiple times last year at the hospital, noticed a lot of the nurses had changed from majority Filipinos to majority another big country. I am fine with it, but v surprised to hear local nurses cannot find jobs. Why ah?

Simple lor

If u boss

Person A salary 2k or 1.5k

Person B salary 4k or 3k

U choose which

titusilvering

I had to visit a relative multiple times last year at the hospital, noticed a lot of the nurses had changed from majority Filipinos to majority another big country. I am fine with it, but v surprised to hear local nurses cannot find jobs. Why ah?
Whether nurse or IT or whatever. It all depends on HR sincere to hire locals or not. They follow guidelines put up ads. Say only sg n pr applicable.

But once they already ads long enough and say no suitable candidates for hire they start playing games to hire FTs liao.

What other BIG country is them from ah?

Milodrink

Whether nurse or IT or whatever. It all depends on HR sincere to hire locals or not. They follow guidelines put up ads. Say only sg n pr applicable.

But once they already ads long enough and say no suitable candidates for hire they start playing games to hire FTs liao.

What other BIG country is them from ah?

U say until HR is the board of director team self design policies self chop.

HR just coordinator nia follow SOP with 5k salary nia.

Not convenient to spell everything out.
U shd ownself analyse and research about organisational structure.

OddEye

Not about the lack of jobs but the lack of cheap labour

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.