Fresh nursing grads in SG can’t get jobs… so what “shortage” are we talking about? 🤔

BlackWing1977

They hire cheaper ones from overseas already.. I just worry about the authenticity of their qualification... actually I feel they should hire more from China also.. over there their nurse pay very low.. should be quite attractive for them to come to Singapore to work, since here are very friendly towards them, got familiar food, most can speak their language, only problem is when they have to communicate with non-mandarin speakers.

AST781

She's not a "sponsored" nurse / student. When you are sponsored, you are bonded for X number of years to the hospital. As an unsponsored nurse, its not to the hospital's advantage to employ you over a sponsored one coz you can just jump ship with 1 month notice, then all the time and effort to train you for the hospital work all goes to waste.

xcodes

hope they and their family have made the right choice in last May ... if not, don't complain ... :s13:

BlackWing1977

Apply for Emergency.

overworked, underpaid, under appreciated, worst saikang, literal frontline, kena full force from a patient's family, ppl lose control of their bladder and bliterally see people croak in front of you and in national emergency crisis, u literally have to play god and determine who lives and who dies and have to shovel the dead out in truckloads. All in one.

yah, see how many wanna apply full time, night shift, emergency dept nurse.

takes a highly special emotionally tough breed of men and women for this Special Operations level job to work through.
Dun think nurses are required to triage lar... that one falls on doctors not nurses.. what nurses can do is relay what patient said.. or any external observation they see to doctors...

Bam25th

My relative got local nurse diploma. After grad liao the job pay low and no job prospects. Sibei tough life. Wana buy hdb also cpf no enough
Must be cause choosy.
What no job prospect? If go hospital can slowly climb up the ranks

Emperor_Hippo

Dun think nurses are required to triage lar... that one falls on doctors not nurses.. what nurses can do is relay what patient said.. or any external observation they see to doctors...
Ehhhhh..... nurses do triaging in ED one. Not doctors.

when a blood spurting patient comes thru a ambulance with lights on or helicopter, slightly different SOP liao. Got full team waiting, including the MO and a battery of nurses. This one skip triage liao, go straight in.

Philipkee

Nurse DO triage la. In fact they are the ones doing the triage in the ED

u might be talking about polyclinic nurses but even then they are also trained to assess patients

Philipkee

Ehhhhh..... nurses do triaging in ED one. Not doctors.

when a blood spurting patient comes thru a ambulance with lights on or helicopter, slightly different SOP liao. Got full team waiting, including the MO and a battery of nurses. This one skip triage liao, go straight in.
Technically they have already been triaged by the medical team either before boarding the helicopter (like TEKONG) or triaged already by the team on the helicopter (like Search and Rescue from vessels at sea).

I get what u mean. Just saying there has already been a triage, just not in the hospital

Ubi-Warrior

U don’t really need nurses to have degrees

Yes but in order to move up the ladder it will be dictated that you need.

Reality is 90% of jobs dont need degree all can be on the job training, but how to have a system whereby everyone got same chance

hardwriter

nurse salary are not high to begin with
it the doctors and the adminstrative side that is drawing high payt
Bro.

I am quite sure the other countries nurses (pinoy,etc) will be strongly disagreeing with you if you say sg nurses celery not high. No joke - I met some of these people.

johnsonheng

Bro.

I am quite sure the other countries nurses (pinoy,etc) will be strongly disagreeing with you if you say sg nurses celery not high. No joke - I met some of these people.
Not la . Unless you work many years than maybe slightly higher than market rates. So many of my friends quit from being nurse

hardwriter

Not la . Unless you work many years than maybe slightly higher than market rates. So many of my friends quit from being nurse
Your friends are locals - then quit la.

I mean the foreigners leh. Foreigner nurses still say SG nurses pay low? That is surprising.

Ironside

Actually even if no nursing job locally, they are in hot demand else where.

RandomPancake

Got new hospital yet no job openings for fresh nursing grad.
Interesting, I don’t know why mods merge an old thread into a new thread that is created today, but this comment of mine is from a thread so old that I don’t even remember what was the original topic of that thread liao

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.