Friend passed away of cardiac arrest

shodan99

Sad case.....this week , a friend passed away.
Only 43 , married with 3 kids.
Got to know that deceased was diagnosed with leaking valve in heart. But refused to go for operation as he worried complications of operation. After sending all kids to school, not long after he just collapsed and passed on.

I read up more about valve leaking. This would lead to cardiac arrest.
A heart replacement treatment is a very well established medical technology and very safe. In fact, it is the standard of care. There is really very low risk.

There is no need to worry about any complications unless patient has other compounding factors like low white cell counts that make surgery dangerous.

MajiMax

cT is very clear cut. Can see well. Dr always do ECG can know heart condition meh??? I don trust ECG. I transferred my mum to mount E for medical follow up but operation usually I will do at sgh. Private always performs echo during each visits. Can see heart pumping, clogs , valve opening abnormalities and so on.....
CT got radiation wor.

National Heart Centre used to perform Echocardiogram when they reviewing me for valve prolapse.

KPO_SAHM

CT got radiation wor.

National Heart Centre used to perform Echocardiogram when they reviewing me for valve prolapse.

Tats why 5 years cannot perform CT. Have to drink lots of water to remove the diode

shodan99

cT is very clear cut. Can see well. Dr always do ECG can know heart condition meh??? I don trust ECG. I transferred my mum to mount E for medical follow up but operation usually I will do at sgh. Private always performs echo during each visits. Can see heart pumping, clogs , valve opening abnormalities and so on.....
ECG is always the first screening tool as its the most non invasive. Ct scan uses high doses of x ray which is considerably more invasive.

Foetid

Every operation have a risk.
Patient refuses to do.
Like my mum, Drs ask her to go for neck operation cause she has severe blockage . If stroke hits her, it would be immediately fatal. She just refuses to do. Counting down for her time
u cannot listen to everything the doctors said, need other opinions.

SGH doctor ask my father to operate on end stage cancer, who passed away 2 weeks later. When he's in hospital dying, the nutrition who is doing her job said my father who has diabetes cannot take sugary stuffs. Com'on, its really no common sense, during that i pretty much got feeling my father's end is near as i had experience with relatives with cancer.

yokine3a

Official name is 心脏瓣膜关闭不全 or 二尖瓣反流?

KPO_SAHM

I'm preempting about such idiots, not talking about vaccine in general to this case.

Actual media should have a report or documentary about the type of heart conditions that lead to cardiac arrest so that it could bring awareness to the public.

MajiMax

Tats why 5 years cannot perform CT. Have to drink lots of water to remove the diode
I done a CT scan on my lung in preparing for my lung operation.

Doctor mentioned to me that he cannot fully/clearly see my lung condition (the leakages) even with the CT scan, eventually still have to cut open my body via keyhole operation to really see the leakages.

fortunecat

If anyone experience symptoms, better do CT scan for heart . Sometimes ECG can't check much. I myself knew I have mild issue in my valve issue but ECG always showed reading ok. But chest always feel tight whenever i run . Last time during school days, couldn complete 2.4km as chest in tight n breathless. pE teach always forced me to run and my chest felt even tighter. Now I knew the reason why after consulting a cardiologist
Umm, everyone feels chest tight and breathless when running 2.4km? Unless you're a regular longer distance jogger

buffybuffy

If have symptoms then consult cardiologist+ CT scan but everything looks healthy, cardiologist say all ok but end up misdiagnosis and up lorry how?

Means what?
Always the case when owner sent their cars to workshop. Battery ok. Then as soon as drive out the battery kong. So very difficult to argue one.

Mountainnodew

Moi guess the deceased worried what if his surgery become complicated and need to be in coma or ICU. The cost will be very hefty and the financial burden will fall on his wife’s shoulders. Plus his job will be jeopardised if his treatment prolonged. He also wouldn’t want to keep resting and see his wife need to shoulder everything plus being his caregiver.

Calis_Yoda

I didn't mention about ecg.

I mean do CT liao can't find any issues but still feel heart symptoms like breathlessness, chest pains but cardiologist say everything ok how?
Go for a 2nd opinion by a different cardiologist. If need be, in a different hospital because the ECG and CT scans will be done by different teams of technicians.

dambio

Sad case.....this week , a friend passed away.
Only 43 , married with 3 kids.
Got to know that deceased was diagnosed with leaking valve in heart. But refused to go for operation as he worried complications of operation. After sending all kids to school, not long after he just collapsed and passed on.

I read up more about valve leaking. This would lead to cardiac arrest.
Ur friend shld hv listened to d docs advice. It's really sad for tis to happen.

tokong

If anyone experience symptoms, better do CT scan for heart . Sometimes ECG can't check much. I myself knew I have mild issue in my valve issue but ECG always showed reading ok. But chest always feel tight whenever i run . Last time during school days, couldn complete 2.4km as chest in tight n breathless. pE teach always forced me to run and my chest felt even tighter. Now I knew the reason why after consulting a cardiologist

Good that you found out. Take care of health. People with heart problems (i.e. valve, hole, chamber, ventricular) cannot overwork. Feeling tired easily is a symptom. I used to have a good friend who was in the clerk vocation (while I was in combat vocation) during my NSF days. When my platoon went for BBQ at East Coast Park we invited him because his personality's quite cool and funny. When we took off our shirts to go into the water, we were shocked to see that he had a big surgery scar on his chest - a vertical line down the centre. I said, "Wtf... What happened to you?" All of us were stunned. "We swim later", I said, and we sat down and ate and drank and listened to his story. The surgery was to patch a hole in his heart (found out during poly time because he kept feeling tired and breathless while running). The doc told him in layman terms, we are going to stop your heart, put you on the artificial heart machine, then we take out the heart, patch the hole, and put it back. After hearing that he couldn't sleep well for days. Imagine a 17 year old boy having to go through this. If anything bad happened he could die on the surgery bed. Therefore after the surgery and he got well again, his mindset and personality changed. I have not contacted him for a while now, same age as me 52yo, last saw him in Bugis when he was shopping with his wife and kids. We went for coffee at Sim Lim Sq basement, wow found out he's an architect. Then I recalled he studied architecture diploma back then. So after NSF he went to Scotland to get an architecture degree. Then drove me to the MRT station in his large BMW and before I got down he passed me his namecard - now a boss already.

Well sometimes in life there is a certain aspect of luck in it. After you go through a large barrier in life, you won't know, a new prosperous life awaits you. You have to see positive.

virtualape

Many may not know they have valve issues n never checked and live with it. Then collapse and tio cardiac arrest
Yes, this I agree. Some think is because very long never exercise, starting to exercise will experience panting, some chest pains when exerting. And will get better once the body gets conditioned.

But actually it's not...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.