Frozen bak chang

jeff79

Not frozen.
Decent,ate multiple times already.
The source was from bedok factory according to the plastic paper address.
$3 pricing 2-3 weeks from dumpling festival can only be frozen thawed. Bedok factory is probably xiangye.

jeff79

Bought those non frozen vacuum packed 3 Pcs for 13.50 at NTUC.
The rice inside is rock hard and not cooked at all! Puii
It is the brand that sells yam cake, Chee Cheong Fun. With Chen Su Chen as brand ambassador..
Is it this brand? It is smaller size than regular rice dumplings. Last year actual day of festival discount. This year not sold at the shengsiong near my place.

The vaccum sealed very long shelf life at room temperature yam and radish cake more expensive than the short shelf chilled section. Not as nice tasting too.

just-nanyang-rice-dumplings-2025.avif

Skoda29

$3 pricing 2-3 weeks from dumpling festival can only be frozen thawed. Bedok factory is probably xiangye.
Think you are right.The brand is xiangye.
Is it the same price $3 for nonya and hokkien bak Zhang and eggyolk at $4 you bought at other outlets?

Kiaokarhio

Bought those non frozen vacuum packed 3 Pcs for 13.50 at NTUC.
The rice inside is rock hard and not cooked at all! Puii
It is the brand that sells yam cake, Chee Cheong Fun. With Chen Su Chen as brand ambassador..
I find those ntuc bak chang ok leh.
Btw need steam for at least 30 mins de, from the moment water start boiling.
If want extra soft then need unwrap the bak chang to steam for 30 mins

PiKa

Is it this brand? It is smaller size than regular rice dumplings. Last year actual day of festival discount. This year not sold at the shengsiong near my place.

The vaccum sealed very long shelf life at room temperature yam and radish cake more expensive than the short shelf chilled section. Not as nice tasting too.

just-nanyang-rice-dumplings-2025.avif
Yup this is the brand. The 3 Pcs salted egg is 13.50 this year.
It is uncooked in the middle.
No amount of steaming can resolve it as it is not well cooked during the boiling.
So sad, all 3 pieces are like that.

PiKa

I find those ntuc bak chang ok leh.
Btw need steam for at least 30 mins de, from the moment water start boiling.
If want extra soft then need unwrap the bak chang to steam for 30 mins
Yup. Mine is soft soft in the outside. Inside has dry uncooked rice.

:(

I used to make my own zhang. It is alot of effort.
Mass produced Zhang can be hit or miss.
But 3 out of the 3 I bought had this issue.. so it was rather bad or bad luck!

Langrisser999

Ntuc have meh? Like in frozen section

not cheap leh. I was hoping buy frozen one cheaper mah
I saw these just now at my giant, kill people put fire lor.

1ULRxXK.png

HTsZXOf.png

Lucky my mom bought 6 for me last Friday each cost from $2.50 to $3.00 max only.

Squeezer

My wife also froze dumplings and take them out weeks or months later... still can eat and taste still good

Langrisser999

nowadays even youtiao got frozen version
expensive though
fresh one better big and nice after air fry even nicer. I have to break it into 2 in order to squeeze into my air fryer and each cost only $1.00 and after 10% discount only cost $0.90 with ntuc app.

QT3QJuP.png

Bad kids

I only know frozen... let it go.... I dunno frozen got bak chang....

MizunoVolley

All bak Zhang are frozen lah. You want fresh BZ is not those price you current see around loh

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.